We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oh the horror!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Madras Hotel Ashoka

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Chennai (Madras)
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Madras Hotel Ashoka
Save
You added Madras Hotel Ashoka to your Saves list
47, Pantheon Road | Egmore, Chennai (Madras) 600 008, India (Nungambakkam)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #113 of 341 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Oh the horror!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

Never stay in this hotel even if you are offered a free stay. The bathrooms are HORRIBLY maintained. The staff treat you with grim faces and are extremely rude.

Save your money and the horror, and please find another hotel!!

Room Tip: Any room with a good mattress, clean floors and at least a decent bathroom would be a blessing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    13
    15
    6
    12
See reviews for
20
9
5
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
vellore
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2011

I had earlier reviewed my second worst stay in hotel EVP Capitol promising to write about my worst.Well here it is.

This hotel tops the chart when it comes to hiring the most rude and crazy old men.Think a lineage is created since we find a similarity in the behavior starting with his highness, the Manager himself.One expects atleast the manager to be a tad courteous assuming that he of all would have had some educational background but sigh. So its like the blind leading the blind and there you have the staff of this hotel perfectly handpicked to spoil everyones moods and holidays.

Dont wanna bore you with my experiences since there are too many to begin with.So lets leave it at that.I completely agree with the previous reviewer in saying that the bunch is rude and definitely not of the same league as the staff of other hotels.

Dont think they even know how the world and other hotels have progressed and how the staff everywhere is courteous.They are still happily living in their own well.In addition to the rude behaviour,the staff is also lazy as the rooms are old and smelly and you have to make a minimum of 3-4 calls to the housekeeping and then a call to the reception (since housekeeping never arrives) to get a small thing done.

I am surprised that such a disastrous hotel has sustained itself in a metropolitan like Chennai.

Taking a room here was the biggest mistake i made.

My two cents:Go somewhere else unless you have an impulse to fight with someone as the staff here will definitely give you an opportunity for that.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Subang Jaya, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

The hotel has run down. The building and the rooms are very old. It needs renovation. The rooms doesn't look like how it is presented in their website. The bathroom were very dirty and stink. The bedspread has stains and the rooms is quite smelly as well. The equipment in the room is very old as well.

The staff are very rude. We arrived late nite and the booking has been made prior to my arrival. To my surprise ,the front desk person informed that he was unaware about my reservation even after showing email confirmation from the front desk manager. It took an hour for me to settle the booking .by the time my family checked in it was nearly 2am. To add on, luggage attendees were very rude as well. They were demanding for high tips and was rude when we gave them Rs300 each.The next day those boys offered to help us to carry our luggage again when we checked out. Upon completing the task they demanded for tips and when we gave them tips they returned to us the money and asked us to keep it just because the amount was not big as they expected.


The location of the hotel was right in the heart of the city.Hence, we could not sleep to whole night as it was noisy. We could hear the auto's honking in the middle of the night.

In a nutshell, this is not the best choice of hotel in Egmore, Chennai.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2011

very old yet very good .good location to both the egmore and central station ....clean basic rooms helpful staff.,nice homely atmosphere and most of all best south indian food in the egmore area.
close proximity to the iconic shopping malls and mount road which has vti a must visit for hady crafts.The museum is on the same road ....overall good location ...very good food ...value for money.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

The Hotel is well located in the heart of the city and near to Egmore Railway station. Comuting form this place to other places in Chenaai is very convenient.

The dining hall is very decent , neat and clean. A spacious dining hall with proper lighting gives a good relief and enjoyable. The service is very good. Selection of items of one's choice is ample.

The servers are very courteous takes proud in explaining the menu for the day.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hyderabad
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2011

Hotel Ashoka doesnt have any great interiors or anything great about it. Its location is central and one can go to Mount Road for shopping. Thier south indian breakfast is really good but lunch is not so good. Services was really bad & the language also was an issue as their understanding of Hindi was really poor. Please do enjoy the awesome Pongal vada offered by thier restaurant

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2011

I visited this Hotel to stay along with my Mother as we had gone to Chennai for her medical checkup. This is a no frills hotel but one of the finest. We took a cottage and believe me it reminded me of the old world charm. Huge room with a seating area and a huge bath with a dressing room. Neat and clean. The restaurant serves veg food but good food, hygienic. Great place to stay!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Madras Hotel Ashoka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madras Hotel Ashoka

Address: 47, Pantheon Road | Egmore, Chennai (Madras) 600 008, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai (Madras) > Nungambakkam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #113 of 341 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 109

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Madras Hotel Ashoka, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.