We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what it used to be...but still worth a shot” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Don Pepes

Don Pepes
Cathedral Road, Chennai (Madras), India
+91-44-2822 1461
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,040 of 2,481 Restaurants in Chennai (Madras)
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Chennai (Madras), India
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Not what it used to be...but still worth a shot”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Tex Mex as it used to be called, was as they say the first Speciality Restaurant in Chennai serving Mex chow. The place has nostalgic value to me but that said it has been a sad decline in terms of gastronomical value.

Ambience - Its almost painfully cozy, after all a mezzanine floor can only lend itself to so much flexibilty. The dated photo's and artifacts are still true to the mex cause and add to it the Poncho and Somberero donning usher (who I missed seeing the last time I was there), and you have to admit they tried. One major upside for me is the fact that u can silently gaze onto the Flyover that almost grazes the window pane with the Chola/Maris backdrop.

Food - As another fellow reviewer has rightly noted, stick to the specific dishes that appeal to your palate, For me they happen to be the Chicken Nachos, The Country Fried Chicken (no longer on the menu, but made on request) and their refried beans. What I love the most is the authenticity of the dishes in which they serve you. Finish it with a Chocolate Mousse' (yes it isnt mexican, but u will not regret what Hotbreads below serves 'up' - Pun intended

Value for Money - Not cheap not expensive - but what used to be great VFM once thanks to an equal taste, just falls flat.

Overall - I am nostalgic about the place, so I will keep up the bi-annual trips. In its defense, the title for the worst mexican in town is well deserved by certain other joints. With a massive overhaul in the Kitchen department and generally some 'wake up and smell the coffee' attitude, I am optimistic Tex Mex / Don Pepe can find its game.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    1
    5
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chennai, India
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Not authentic but passable TexMex food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

The food is good but not great because of the compromises the chef made. Nachos, Burritos, Tacos, Chimichangas are all compromised with ingredients to probably appease the locals. The restaurant is small and cozy and the service is ok. It would really be great if they serve true TexMex food. I am sure the Chennai clientele would love it. After all mos Indians love TexMex in the US.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Mexican - not so sure”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We went to Don Pepe on a weekday night, many kids in tow. Food was quite disappointing. Too many and too much Indian masalas used across the board. The nachos came overdosed with what tasted like Garam Masala and the sour cream tasted like watery fresh cream. Potato skins were too spicy for the kids and the chicken strips too sweet - though to be fair the honey in the name should have warned us of that. Service was pleasant and courteous and quick. Overal, not too many mexican restaurants in Chennai - certainly a gap, but not likely to go back to Don Pepe.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“One of the first Mexican restaurants in Chennai”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

I used to frequent this place years back and used to be good then. Used to enjoy the fajitas and borritos. Now there are many good places which have popped up but Don pepes was the pioneer.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Not very Tex mex”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012 via mobile

I have been there plenty of times as my college was quiet close to it. The only items on the menu which is good is the margarita, quesadilla and the brownie with ice cream. Don't even try anything else!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Don Pepes also viewed

Chennai (Madras), Tamil Nadu
Chennai (Madras), Tamil Nadu
 
Chennai (Madras), Tamil Nadu
Chennai (Madras), Tamil Nadu
 

Been to Don Pepes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Don Pepes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.