We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a feel good hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rain Forest

Rain Forest
41 & 42, 1st Main Road, Gandhi Nagar, Adyar, Chennai (Madras) 600020, India (Adyar)
(44) 42187222
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #293 of 2,483 Restaurants in Chennai (Madras)
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Chinese, Indian, Continental
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Adyar
Chennai (Madras), India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“a feel good hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

we w ent in for my bday treat . although they doesnt have advance reservation they noted down my name and was given table immediately when we reached. food was great. chinese and north indian dishes were good. didnt try te continental and vegetarian dishes. service was quick and courteous. altogether a nice experience.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    30
    5
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chennai (Madras), India
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Dont expect South End Food (even fish fry) but good theme”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

If your expectation is south indian food (even fish fry of Indian style) will not be available.. North Indian food and other foods are good in taste and Quality..Good theme.. Sure you should try this rest' atleast once..

  • Visited December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Nice theme restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

I went with my wife and had to wait even though i had pre-booked a table here. This place is crowded all the time and you wont find a place if you just dropby without reservations. My wait is worth the time, the food is good and i liked the theme of it and loved the experience.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Awesome food but difficult to get a table”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

The food is amazing and the concept is good.. If only finding a reservation were easier :) i have tried indian and chinese cuisine and it was definitely worth the money..

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai, Tamil Nadu, India
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Theme Restaurant... worth spending for Diner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

I went there with my wife n 8 months old Daughter on my 2nd Anniversary for Lunch. We were amazed at the interior of the place as it was based on the Rain forest Theme. The food was equally good. The staff was so humble and helping that in order to allow me to have nice lunch with my wife, they took care of my baby and didn't gave her to us until she was totally out of their control.. ;). The cost wise also quite descent as you can have 3 course meal for 2 within 1000/- INR. It is located just opposite to Adyar flyover with ample car parking. Do give it a try with your family & friends. But on weekends... you have to wait in long queue or make a reservations in advance....!!! Enjoy the timeout.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rain Forest also viewed

Chennai (Madras), Tamil Nadu
Chennai (Madras), Tamil Nadu
 
Chennai (Madras), Tamil Nadu
Chennai (Madras), Tamil Nadu
 

Been to Rain Forest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rain Forest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.