We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crystal Residency

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Crystal Residency to your Saves list
Crystal Residency
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No. 51/22, Model School Road Anna Salai, (Off Mount Road), | Opp to U.S. Consulate, Chennai (Madras) 600006, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #105 of 341 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Sunnyvale, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“excellent.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

excellent services for the price that you pay. food is also good and reasonable price.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    9
    7
    7
    9
See reviews for
10
4
5
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011

LOCATION: The only things I liked about this budget hotel was it's location. The hotel is 50 mins from Chennai airport & around 35 mins from Chennai Central railway station both in peak hours. I opted for this hotel while going on a pilgrimage to Tirupati for which I had to catch a Volvo bus service from a location which was not far. Besides US Consulate, Marina Beach, T Nagar shopping area, Santhome Basilica‎ Church, Sankara Nethralaya Eye Hospital are all 15-20 mins by taxi. There is an 24 hr autorickshaw stand right outside the hotel which is really helpful.

CHECK-IN: It provides 24 hrs check in facility which was very much suitable to my schedule. I spent 2 nights in this hotel & paid for 2 nights. If I would have opted for some other non-24 hr check in hotel then I would have ended up paying for 4 nights.

ROOM: No view. Room size & interiors average. Washroom was spacious though.

FOOD: No restaurant. Hotel arranges complimentary breakfast and tea/coffee/light snacks from outside. Quantity good & quality above average. For vegetarians there is a Sarvana Bhavan restaurant chain outlet at 5 mins walk which serves excellent North & South Indian food.

ROOM SERVICE: Neither late nor early.

Travel Tip: The hotel is not famous amongst taxi/auto-rickshaw drivers so it is advisable to refer to KHIVRAJ MOTORS (an famous automobile dealership which is just opposite the hotel). Opt for this hotel only if you are a budget traveller & or if you have any other locational advantage. I would not advise to stay otherwise.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cochin,India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2011

Poor room service.I ordered Dosa for breakfast (after half an hour again they asked what I wanted,I told Dosa!) and to my dismay,after one hour, got Bread Omelette instead! The room boys acted a bit funny and indifferent...A/C did not work... a stuffed feeling...tried to keep the door in open positon...but the latch too was not gripping to the floor.The lift was also inconvenient,you have to climb again. The hotel just thrives simply on not having any medium hotel in the locality.The very look of the hotel front itself is absurd..to me it was simply a godown!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2010

Good place if you have an appointment @ us consulate bcoz its just the road crossing!!!
the quality of so called complimentary breakfast is hopeless.
I searhed the hotel on Google earth and visited the website and was impressed by the presentation and without any second thought i booked two rooms for two families. when i reached there very much shocked to see the rooms which were not that kind as shown on the web!!! and had to change my booking to a higher value rooms because it was on rooftop were also airy and had a good view below. bathrooms were hopeless as the hotel staff which was at times rude !!! may not recomend to friends!!!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2010

I had my US Visa Interview at Chennai. With a bit of search i got to know that this Hotel is Right Opposite to the Consulate. The Standard room costs 1600+tax which would come to around 1800. This included Complimentary Breakfast for 2. The rooms are very clean and tidy and 2 can easily settle in a standard room. As I said this is the best place to go for people going in for Visa Interviews as its hardly 2 min walk from the hotel to the consulate.

The food is really good and the room service also. The best part is the 24 hours checking in which was really good for a hotel at that location. I would definitely recommend this to others.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bangalore
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2010

I was booked into this hotel for 1 night, for US visa interview.

The pros -

The hotel is located bang opposite the US consulate, so if you have early morning visa appointment (like I did), it is very convenient as you just need to get out of the hotel, use the subway to cross the road and you're there in less than a minute.

I also moved around a bit to saravana bhavan (2 mins away by walk) and shopped a bit from khader nawaz khan road and nungambakkam high road. The staff at the hotel was very helpful in giving me directions and helping me with estimates of how much the autos will charge.

The room service was fairly prompt and the staff was helpful.

The cons -

Though the rooms had clean looking bedsheets and a clean bathroom, the entire place smelled "cockroachy" and the lampshades etc. had years old grime settled on it. I was never at ease in the room. The blanket too looked dirty.

The air conditioner was really old and made a lot of sound. I couldn't sleep due to the sound and had to keep adjusting the knobs from extreme cold to extreme heat.

The TV had bad grainy picture quality and apart from Tamil channels and 2-3 Hindi news channels, there were no other choices.

They said they had idli/vada for the complimentary breakfast, but since I had to leave by 7.30 am, which is too early apparently, so I was offered the humble toast and jam with tea.

You have to keep the curtains drawn even during the day, because "the view" is just some filthy wall inches away from your window and pipes and muck nearby.

Also I think it is overpriced just because of the location convenience for US visa applicants, otherwise the rooms are just terrible.

Overall, I would recommend you to avoid this place if you can afford a better place. Unless you have a tight budget and an early morning US visa interview, there is no reason to stay here.

Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2010

The hotel is situated on Anna Salai, right opposite to the US Consulate. Silent Environment, do not get carried away by the name of the hotel . It ain't up to the mark . Over night stay advisable for solo or with friends. With partner , not advised. Overall , its a decent stay . Moreover, the place is pricey!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Crystal Residency? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crystal Residency

Address: No. 51/22, Model School Road Anna Salai, (Off Mount Road), | Opp to U.S. Consulate, Chennai (Madras) 600006, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai (Madras)
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #105 of 341 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Crystal Residency 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Crystal Residency reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crystal Residency Hotel Chennai (Madras)

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crystal Residency, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.