We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable with good service - lot can improve” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Chariot

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Chariot to your Saves list
The Chariot
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4, Thirumalai Road, T. Nagar, Chennai (Madras) 600017, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #217 of 341 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Delhi
1 review
“Reasonable with good service - lot can improve”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Went to Chennai for my VISA interview, the hotel is just 10 - 15 mins away from the counsel
Got a double occupancy room, checked in late - room lighting is too dim, the fittings inside the bathroom need a major overhaul along with exhaust vent (which is missing) hence there is a wet odor near the bathroom area

Though the above prompted me to rate this hotel a 3 but i'm happy with the service offered by the staff - very courteous, helpful and the kitchen is available 24 X 7, reasonably priced along with centralized AC and free wifi......

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    10
    11
    6
    12
See reviews for
8
1
3
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Ranchi, India
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

The location of the hotel is good and can be easily located. Room was comfortable but it was quite small and the same was the condition of the bathroom. The breakfast which was complimentary was also not up to the mark and requires improvement in quality and variety. However, considering the tariff the stay can be said to be good overall.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharjah, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

To sum up my nightmarish business trip The chariot in Chennai was the best bet ! The area was stinking and when I checked into the hotel the room was unclean and there were some leakage in the toilet. I went and complained to the reception and they tried to put me in another room & alas it was worse-r than the previous. Finally had to stay out till late and came there just to sleep. The only positive thing was that I traveled back the very next day. One thing I appreciate is the staff there were friendly and trying their best to help but what can one do when they have nothing to offer?

Once again, I repeat what I said earlier about the 9W Package. An airline of the stature of Jet airways which holds majority of the domestic market share should be careful in choosing the partners they want to work with. Unfortunately the choice of selection which was offered to me was shameful and painful.

I am not trying to be a difficult customer but after spending Rs 93,500 for the whole package, I do expect a little better than what I got.

Regards,
Rajesh

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coimbatore
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

Stayed couple of days on vacation. Located centrally, easy access to shopping centers. Staff very helpful and well informed. Rooms were comfortable, service was good on the whole. Overall the experience was good and satisfactory.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

First of all the receptionist kept on sneezing and without even cleaning his hands, he kept on touching my ID. Later whole hotel smells of cigarette, and the toilet in the reception is so pathetic that I cannot explain. The staff behaviour was though polite but the cannot resolve a single issue if you ever ask them for anything. Right now it's too late around 11 pm, so I can't check out but I would definitely have gone somewhere else if it was daytime. I would suggest everyone to go and stay even at a platform in order to get more satisfaction.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2012

Hi guys,
Recently we had been to chennai for our visa interview and stayed at this hotel for 2 days.
I must say guys, the room service is just hopeless, pathetic. We ordered for a cup of tea, and they din't turn up for 45 mins. Finally we placed the order again. The food quality is very very poor. Moreover, most of the things that u order is not available in their in kitchen, and that which is available is of very low quality and tasteless. The plumbing in the lue is again in a bad condition, the tap broke and came out, shower was not good. The lights kept on fluctuating which means even the power supply was not proper. The main lobby of the hotel stinks. After paying almost 7000 for two days, don't u think atleast the basic amenities should be good?
Only thing good about the hotel is the LAN connection. Except this its good for nothing.
And we chose it from Makemytrip.com thinking it must be standard. Junk.
I will never go back to this hotel "The Chariot"
We found that in the same area ther's another hotel called 'Quality Inn Sabari', the food was just awesome. Ambience was also good. But i've no clue about the rooms.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2012

I reluctantly stayed here because I arrived very late from the airport with a pre-booking. The room seemed used minutes before and unsanitary. There are some very scattered staff at the reception, but they are kind and try to be helpful. Nevertheless - for the price, definitely not recommended.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Chariot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chariot

Address: 4, Thirumalai Road, T. Nagar, Chennai (Madras) 600017, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai (Madras)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #217 of 341 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Chariot 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your The Chariot reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chariot Hotel Chennai (Madras)

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Chariot, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.