We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“US consulate visit” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Oriental Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Oriental Inn to your Saves list
Hotel Oriental Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   71, Cathedral Road | Gopalapuram, Near U.S Consulate, Chennai (Madras) 600086, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #125 of 343 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Kochi
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“US consulate visit”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

Ideally located near to consulate and with tidy rooms ... I recommend this hotel for anyone who comes for the US consulate visit ...

Pros :

Complimentary drop to both the OTP and consulate - one of a kind offer...
Fresh and good food for breakfast which his inclusive. Dinner order room service was nice too.
Good and courteous staff.

Cons
Rooms are tidy but needs upkeep.

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    22
    15
    6
    6
See reviews for
5
6
10
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Coonoor, India
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

Chose this place as it is very near to the U S Consulate, and so is ideal for visa related work. They offered a free drop to the consulate as part of the deal , however they will provide you with an auto ride !! Be warned, the auto chap will charge you double the rate for the way back, and that is not part of the free ride !!! Please make sure you talk about the return trip, before you hop on !! Even the hotel will not warn you about this return trip scam.
Other than that glitch, the place is clean and very close to all you want in Chennai. Lovely location, and if u want to party, the Zara pub is next door, and belongs to them. Other hotels, as Don Pepe / mexican, a Chinese hotel, and Hot breads where tea and sandwiches are available nearby.. The ITC Chola is across the road !! Great place to have a quiet meal ,plenty of old world charm in Chola.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Overall a very good hotel...

The staff is well behaved and the hotel itself has two or more restaurants providing Chinese and North Indian in Chennai with discount.
The Chinese food was excellent...


However some setbacks...
They said that the breakfast is complementary, which by default means buffet. NBut they only give omlet or idli for breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elango_j, Manager at Hotel Oriental Inn, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Dear Sir

Greetings from Hotel Oriental Inn, Chennai.

Thanks for your review and for being our guest and selecting Oriental Inn for your stay .we appreciates the time taken for your feedback. Thanks for sharing your positive experience regards.

Warm Regards

J. Elango (9840148764)
Manager-Operations
Hotel Oriental Inn
Chennai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Pros:
1. Location - 1.5 km from US Consulate. and 2 km from Marina Beach
2. Food - Although overpriced, food comes from other restaurants in the same building like Copper Chimney, Zaras and a Chinese restaurant. North Indian & Chinese cuisine is really mouthwatering

Cons:
1. Service - Really bad. If the hotel is full, you can order the food and expect it delivered in 60-90 min. Any order other than food will take minimum 30 minutes.
2. Rooms - Small rooms which are often dusty in the corners and with stained bed sheets.
3. Do not get fooled by standard and deluxe rooms - have never been able to figure out the difference between the two (Other than the big tariff difference)

I have stayed here more than 10-15 times, only because my office is right next door and I just wanted a place to park my luggage and catch a few hrs of sleep. But not anymore.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elango_j, Manager at Hotel Oriental Inn, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Sir,

At the outset, we deeply regret the experiences you had with us. We have made a note of all your comments and have taken up with the concerned department. This is not an excuse to what you faced. We request you to treat this as an one off incident and certainly the hotel will ensure that these problems are over and done. We also noted the observations highlighted during your stay in our hotel. We will make changes to meet your expectations.

Apologies for the discomfort caused. Looking forward to giving you the best of Oriental Inn and its services in your next visit.

Thanks & Regards

J Elango (9840148764)
Manager-Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

We stayed overnight in this hotel a couple of days ago,it is total worth for money! We asked for a single room to accommodate for 4 adults and a baby which was ready when we reached. The staff,reception, house keeping, room service were great. One bed spread was dirty which was promptly replaced.TV was working when we checked in but would not turn on when we came back from lunch, which was replaced too.Complimentary breakfast was also good.The staff assisted us with the parking.We were given free drop in auto( acceptable for a budget hotel ) to OFC and US consulate. The place is total worth for money, it is close to US consulate ( 1.5 km ). As others have said, the entrance to this is hotel is quite confusing.The only reason I'm giving 4 star is the room could have been a little cleaner. The lamp, the corners of the room & bathroom had dust which was not cleaned.Bathroom could have been cleaner, but overall its a nice place.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elango_j, Manager at Hotel Oriental Inn, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear Sir,

Delighted to know you enjoyed your stay in general and appreciated the goodness of our staff, breakfast and the available facilities for your comfort.

Thanks & Warm Regards

J Elango (9840148764)
Manager-Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, India
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Value for money. A comfortable place to stay. If your intention is to get work done at the consulate then this place is highly recommendable. The rooms are clean, bathrooms are small but adjustable. The breakfast served is really filling. Room service is excellent.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
elango_j, Manager at Hotel Oriental Inn, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear sir,
Thank you for your feedback that is a bonus to our organization for a better growth. We also appreciate your choice for staying with Hotel Oriental Inn. We are glad you were comfortable staying with us!

Thanks & Warm Regards

J Elango (9840148764)
Manager-Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

This is my second stay here. I stayed in the standard room last time, this time I booked the deluxe room - at a pretty high price.

The staff are really good here.

Booking online, the room description stated there would be a King size bed in the room, but arriving, according to international standards it wasn't even a queen size. Bed sheets a bit stained. The room was quite small and even though clean, it is "lived in". Also the room had a very strong smell of a chemical cleaning agent, which made me feel a little nauseous. Fittings and tiles in bathroom are new and the bathroom was good.

The food on the room service menu was OK, but not worth the price. Regarding other services: I requested and ironing board to iron a shirt before a meeting. It took a total of 4 calls and around 35 minutes to get it to the room. I started ironing my shirt and didn't notice until it was too late that the iron had a faulty thermostat, hence burning a premium linnen shirt.

This is a 2 star hotel, so normally I would not expect too much. However, I have stayed at 4 star boutique hotels around India at a similar price, with far better value for money. I expect a lot more for what I paid.

If it where not for the good staff, I would rate my stay lower than 3 stars. My previous visit was OK, but this time around I feel a bit cheated.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elango_j, Manager at Hotel Oriental Inn, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Sir, Thank you for investing your time in giving us your indispensable feedback and for selecting Hotel Oriental Inn and being our most invaluable customer. We have made a note of the observations and the same is being taken with the concerned departments. We are sure you will notice the difference when you are with us next time.

Thanks & Warm Regards

J Elango
Manager-Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Oriental Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Oriental Inn

Address: 71, Cathedral Road | Gopalapuram, Near U.S Consulate, Chennai (Madras) 600086, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai (Madras)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #125 of 343 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Oriental Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Most elegant hotel with 32 rooms (Single & Double) in the heart of the Chennai city. The hotel offers standard & deluxe range of guest rooms with an easy affordable price. A comfortable and delighted location for quiet, Stylish & Passionate living and within business and shopping areas makes it a preferred choice among visitors. A very easy drive that is just 15 km from airport and 5 km from Railway Station would bring you to Oriental Inn. Standard rooms are modern type with air-conditioning, attached bath with Hot/Cold running water, Direct dial telephone, cable TV, refrigerator, Electric Kettle, free WiFi-Internet access in the room.Deluxe rooms are much more comfortable & elegant, equipped with modern furniture with Air-Conditioning, Attached bath with Hot/Cold running water, Direct dial Telephone, Writing table, TV sets with satellite transmission, Refrigerator, Electric Kettle, free WiFi-Internet access in the room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, HostelWorld and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Oriental Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Oriental Chennai (Madras)

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Oriental Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.