We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“VERY GOOD AND COMFORTABLE....FELT LIKE HOME......” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Star City Serviced Apartments

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Star City Serviced Apartments to your Saves list
Star City Serviced Apartments
39 Bazullah Road | T.Nagar, Chennai (Madras) 600017, India (Formerly Star City Bazullah Road)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 338 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Shah Alam, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“VERY GOOD AND COMFORTABLE....FELT LIKE HOME......”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We travelled in Oct 2012........Star city is a very good option for NRIs like us looking for a comfortable place to stay while in India...........
Advantages of staying in this place include---spacious rooms; clean bathrooms; change of linen and cleaning on an everyday basis; very helpful staff; they help you to order food from nearby restaurants- very good veg and non-veg restaurants are located very close by; Shopping paradise- T Nagar is very very close.........easily accessible...........
We would ike to conclude that this stay was one of the most comfortable holidays..........thanks to the helpful and friendly staff and management of Star City..........without a doubt, we would like to mention that we shall return every year to Star City..............

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    30
    4
    3
    4
See reviews for
36
1
5
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon, Portugal
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Star city is one of the best accommodation which i had seen during my travel abroad, It offers the best quality services at a comparatively lesser price. It is ideally located in the main city centre and is very close to T-Nagar which is one of the biggest commercial and shopping centre of the world .The employees of the star city apartments are very cordial in their approach and are very professional in their services .They are trained in different languages so as to cater the needs of domestic and international travellers.Star city also offers a variety of rooms for individuals and family according to their choice .To put in simple terms if one wish to avail Luxury ,Hygiene and Comfort that too at a lesser price,then star city is the best choice.The Managing Director Mr Muruga Bharthi himself is available to help you and your suggesstions are very much valued by him. Star city is city that never sleeps !!! Try it and enjoy

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StarcityChennai, Guest Relations Manager at Star City Serviced Apartments, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Thank you so much for the Positive review. Its your encouragement that motivates us to do more for our patrons. We would love to welcome and host you once more whenever you visit Chennai again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

The Star city apartments was such an immense pleasure to stay since the locality was my main concern , it was ideally located with rooms that were spacious and beautifully maintained . the staff were very accommodating and helped me though the maze of business issues that crop up on business travels , they were polite and courteous and went out of there way to help , this was most satisfying for me in every way . the food was great and the mixture of traditional and Western food was very well presented and prompt . The most enduring thing about the Star city hotel was the atmosphere and charm with its period decor and the traditional styling which made me feel part of Chennai , as my travels take me across the globe most hotels that I stay in are sterile , Star city has great character and originality , I would recommend it highly for all the reasons above .

Room Tip: Book early , suites are excellent and beautifully maintained !
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StarcityChennai, Guest Relations Manager at Star City Serviced Apartments, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Thank you for your review Mr. Gerard ! We are happy to know you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Starcity Serviced Apartments at Bazullah Road was just the kind of place we were looking for a long stay at Chennai last July/August. The apartments are in the heart of the city with almost all facilities a short drive away. The apartment we stayed in was clean, very very spacious and well maintained. The staff were courteous and ever-helpful. The management and owner Mr. Muruga Bharti are approachable, take all recommendations very seriously and ensure implementation. The place was a home away from home for my family of four. I would recommend the place to NRI families looking for clean, affordable and convenient place for stay at Chennai.

Farook & Family

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

The Star City Serviced Apartments is a well-run business, clean, comfortable and reasonably economical. Compared to many luxury hotels in Chennai , you get twice the living room space for almost half the price. The service is excellent. For NRIs coming from abroad and want a family like atmosphere, I will strongly recommend this place, Understand it is a no frills decent looking palce, but adequate and comfortable for family style accommodation. For those who like Chinese food the best restaurant in town is in the main lobby. For vegetarians Grand Sweets is next door. . I have stayed here at the T Nagar Bazulla Road facility many times and plan to do so as well in the future. I would easily rate this is the best bang for the buck for a short stay in Chennai.
Pat

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

I've never reviewed a property before, but had two wonderful experiences at Star City so I had to write. We stayed in the Nungambakkam location on our first trip--myself, husband and daughter. The entire staff was accomodating--from the owners, the Bhartis, who are never too busy to speak with guests and help out even when they are managing multiple properties--to the staff at our property, who went out of their way to assist us with any need. My husband uses a wheelchair, and they made every effort to make sure the property met his accessibility needs BEFORE we even arrived from the US! They communicated with us regularly, took measurements for us, and made sure that my husband could access the property without trouble.

After we arrived, the owners as well as the staff at the Nungambakkam property were incredibly kind and helpful with minor requests to make the apartment more comfortable for all of us, even to the point of Bhuvana taking the time to provide larger drinking cups (because we were used to having big mugs of coffee in the morning)! On our first morning we didn't have any food yet, so the staff went to a nearby hotel and brought us breakfast and coffee within minutes. We were so impressed with their care for their guests and attention to detail.

We then stayed at the TNagar location on our next trip, and had my father stay at Bazullah Road, as well as my sister's family of 4 on their first trip to India ever. All of them considered this the perfect place for either a semi-long (eg, 2 week) or long-term (eg, 1-2 month) stay. But we also saw many families take advantage of it during weekend visits to Chennai, so short-term stays are comfortable as well.

All properties are VERY well kept--this is key because sometimes the images on the website are not what you find when you arrive. They are well furnished (the owners have great taste!) and have all the needs for family to live comfortably. They also very secure and safe, and the way the buildings are set, children can play comfortably and safely on the grounds.

Most of all, though I can't emphasize enough how the staff from the owners to the housekeepers have such a sense of integrity about their work. I'm very fussy and our house was always spotlessly clean, and I never worried about our belongings. The locations are also amazing. I loved the Nungambakkam property the most because it was walking distance to a few western hotels, in case I was craving a club sandwich or something from home; and it was also close to a shopping mall and a coffee shop. But the T.Nagar and Bazullah Road locations are also very centrally located, even closer to one of Chennai's main shopping areas.

This is definitely the most comfortable, reasonably-priced, convenient place for anyone to stay in Chennai. We much prefer it to the hotels, because it's cheaper and you get more for your money--more room, more autonomy and freedom to cook and eat when you want, and just as good quality service.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

I stayed at the Star city property on Bazullah Road three days, and was very satisfied with the experience.

The rooms were spacious, well-appointed and well maintained. The staff were friendly and courteous. Linen was spotless.

Good location, clean surroundings, and transport was easy.

Overall a good experience, I would recommend this place to anyone visiting Chennai.

Radhakrishnan

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Star City Serviced Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Star City Serviced Apartments

Address: 39 Bazullah Road | T.Nagar, Chennai (Madras) 600017, India (Formerly Star City Bazullah Road)
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai (Madras)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 338 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Star City Chennai Serviced Apartments & Villas, the first and finest Serviced Apartments in Chennai is the first choice for both business and leisure travellers and just 30 minutes away from the airport and from the Central Railway station.Combining prime locations across Chennai with modern facilities we ensure that our guests experience the maximum in comfort and convenience during their stay at any of our 5 Luxury serviced apartments and villas in T.Nagar (now managed by the internationally acclaimed hotel and resort chain - Aitken Spence Hotels) and Nungambakkam. Our superb air conditioned serviced apartments, studios, suites and independent guest house villas across Chennai offer you a choice of large one bedroom, two bedroom or three bedroom accommodations featuring spacious living and dining areas, full kitchenette facilities besides room service, restaurant, house keeping and business center facilities. All assured with a personal level of service that you won't find in any other serviced apartment hotel in Chennai. Enjoy a free breakfast everyday (depending on your stay plan), meet informally with clients or friends, conduct a board meeting, dine at our specialty Mainland China restaurant and at close of the day, relax in the comfort and space of your fully furnished service apartment in Chennai.When you stay at any of our 5 StarCity Apartment hotel & villa properties across Chennai, we're confident that you will have a comfortable and enjoyable stay and most importantly, be surprised at the great value that we offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Star City Serviced Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Star City Serviced Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.