We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and Away !!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Pride Hotel Chennai

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Pride Hotel Chennai to your Saves list
Pride Hotel Chennai
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   216 E V R Periyar Salai, Poonamallee High Road, Kilpauk | Poonamallee High Road, Chennai (Madras) 600010, India   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #60 of 341 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Mumbai
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice and Away !!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2009

I have been here for two or three times. The stay was for a night or two mainly coz of business trip. It is well designed and structured hotel. The interiors in the room and within the hotel is cool! Service and amanities are good. Food was also nice with lots of options. This hotel has NO BAR or NO Permit of alcohol drinks.. so take a note of that. It was nice to have your dinner on 11th floor roof top restaurent!!

This location is TOO Far from the airport.. and if you don't know the Chennai traffic then you'll surely miss the flight ! It takes about an hour and half just to reach at airport from here. So, if you have a business trip in Chennai only this area of the city, the Pride is a good option on slightly higher price !

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    111
    80
    25
    17
See reviews for
37
38
39
164
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2009

On the whole, the hotel was pretty small but very homely i would say.The staffs at the receptions were pleasent and extremely helpful.The duty managers like Parthasarathy and Sivasubramanian were excellent with their customer service.The in-house drivers were satisfactory but Mr Mani the senior driver was the most outstanding! He was splendid and superb with timekeeping without whom we would have missed our flight. All these wouldn't have been possible if not for my friendly indian correspondent Meshelle Ann.So in short my first visit to India and my birthday were a memorable one thanks to everyone in Pride!

  • Stayed February 2009
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2009

Located in the Central Business District of Chennai. It has very clean rooms, and is relatively new. No musty smell of carpets and drapes that really put me off. The air-conditioning always works fine, which is critical in Hot Hot Chennai. Decor is nice and modern, and bathrooms are good. Buffet Breakfast is the only meal I have had here, and it is ok, just that the menus are a tad repititive.
The room is not very expensive, and is located less than a kilometer from my office. I stay here once every month for a couple of days, and I have so far had nothing to complain about at all.

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Disliked — Check-in
  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2009

The hotel is not bad for the price. It is conveniently located, rooms are comfortable, the breakfast is nice. The staff is a bit rookie though.

  • Disliked — Inexperienced Staff
  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2009

I stayed here for the first time last week, with a colleage. The hotel staff was courteous and efficient, yet the food and service were just average. One would expect more from a famous chain of 4-star hotels. I was a bit disappointed.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2009

I chose The Pride for its location and after reading many reports of other Chennai hotels on Trip Advisor. I arranged for the hotel car to collect me at the airport and it was there ontime. The journey, on a Sunday afternoon, took 40 minutes and cost Rs. 750 which was worth it as the car was fairly new, clean and with AC. I booked a room for 5 nights and was upgraded to a superior room which was just like those shown on their website. The room was spotless with no bad odours (as mentioned in reviews of other hotels) and all the facilities worked well including the AC and a a flat screen TV with 100 channels. There was also internet access but I didn't need this. The king size bed was very comfortable and street noise was minimal. The bathroom in marble was elegant and had good water pressure for the shower. The bedroom was also serviced in the evening with towels replaced if necessary. All the staff were extremely polite as well as being attentive and friendly even though they had over 100 delegates at a seminar for 3 days. I tried all 3 restaurants and whilst the Casablanca offered more refined cuisine including European dishes, I prefered the Puran Da Dhaba on the 9th floor. This is open air restaurant with a good view of the surrounding area and serves a variety of local cuisine in buffet style. Chat, salads, different biryanis, tandoori meats/vegetables and a good choice of curries and desserts made this my favourite. The swimming pool and small gym with jacuzzi and steam room are now open. I made many trips and used the auto-rickshaws found on the main road outside the hotel. It surprised me that drivers were willing to wait for hours whilst I did my shopping or sight seeing and yet the prices were very reasonable. On checking out, the items on the bill were explained and there were no errors. The front desk staff were keen to receive feedback on my stay and I felt that they were genuinely customer focused and working hard to continually raise standards. In conclusion, I have travelled extensively for business in Europe, Africa, Middle East and USA over 18 years and stayed in many hotels in different categories. I have no hesitation in placing The Pride in my top 10.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2009

Good hotel with proper service & good ambience, i just saw thw website & contacted hotel for booking and had a pleasant stay

  • Liked — Food & ambience
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pride Hotel Chennai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pride Hotel Chennai

Address: 216 E V R Periyar Salai, Poonamallee High Road, Kilpauk | Poonamallee High Road, Chennai (Madras) 600010, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai (Madras)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Best Value Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#35 Luxury Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Pride Hotel Chennai 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Pride Hotel Chennai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pride Hotels Chennai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pride Hotel Chennai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.