We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“never recommended” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Raj Residency

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Raj Residency to your Saves list
Raj Residency
1.5 of 5 Hotel   |   22 Kennet Lane Opp. to Egmore Railway Station | Egmore, Chennai (Madras) 600008, India (Nungambakkam)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #280 of 341 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Jaipur, India
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“never recommended”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

I had visited Hotel Raj Residency, Chennai on december 2012 along with my mother and friend for one day. no words to describe d trauma i experienced when i stayed there for a day. .Bad customer service, Untidy room, dirty washroom, worthless television , over all a very bad experience.. God knows how they got even 2 starts..
Plz never evr subject urself to such a trauma.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    5
    18
    21
    80
See reviews for
28
25
35
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    1.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

This hotel is not worth spending in thousands,
Bad customer service, Untidy room, dirty washroom, bugs an cockroaches in the bed worthless television , over all a very bad experience.. God knows how they got even 2 starts..

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

no words to describe d trauma i experienced when i stayed dere for a day. Rum was dirty..bathrum worse..and d worst was d bugs dat was lurking in the bed. Perfect location for a haunted movie. My dog has a better rum dan dis. Plz never evr subject urself to such a trauma.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

I had visited Hotel Raj Residency, Chennai on 20.10.2013 along with my wife for one day. I had booked a non-AC double bed room over the phone and had already informed them that we would be checking-in at 4:30 in the morning.

Inspite of the this, there was no one at the reception counter. Checking in took a hell lot of time. At the time of checking in, they asked for the entire room rent plus a security deposit of Rs. 500 /- which I found to be quite strange.

The room was pathetic to say the least. There door of the bathroom was broken. There were bugs around. Dirt all around. There is no kitchen in the hotel. Packed food without utensils are served from outside.

The only advantage is the location of the hotel. It is bang opposite Chennai Egmore Railway Station.Chennai Central is about 20 minutes drive from here. There are lots of better hotels in its vicinity. One can find a number of restaurants around. Autos are readily available.

If for any reason, you need to book a room in this hotel, do not book it over the phone or else if you do book it over the phone may be you must try booking the deluxe AC rooms.

Room Tip: Avoid booking over the phone or online as these guys seems to take you for granted in these cases...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

This hotel should be removed from ALL websites under the trade descriptions act as it no way resembles what is advertised. Arriving at midnight from the airport (all our requests via phone and email for the 'pick up service' had been ignored-I was hung up on twice) the man at Reception had no record of our booking and insisted we go to a cafe the next day and print the details out, even though we showed him on our phone. The room was horrible: dirty bathroom, loo seat hanging off, holes in the wall, big open space in brickwork into some kind of shaft that let in all the mosquitoes(the building is infested) no 'free toiletries', disgusting filthy mat, ancient tv, AC unit broken and part hanging off, droppings in the wardrobe, no internet as stated. Signature bedding? one bottom sheet, but no top sheet, just an old blanket, pillow so dirty you could smell it through the (clean) pillowcase. We didn't dare use the mattress or the pillows, but used our treated sleeping bag liners and blow up pillows. Staff sleep in the hallways on the broken furniture. The 'view' was onto the back of other buildings and a pile of rubble. The balcony is a horrid little concrete affair, just about big enough for a chair. We have been travelling through South and central America, staying in hostels, but this is the worst place we have stayed in EVER. The only plus side to this location is that you can get breakfast at Saravanna Bhavan, a fantastic veggie food chain, which is next door. Otherwise, the experience is totally depressing.

Room Tip: book a room somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

GOOD....
If the aroma of good food brings a smile to your face and lightens up your mood, then Appetite for a Stroll by Syam. The surroundings is very quiet which is hard to find in city life.

i recommend...

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

I reached Chennai and was to join an organization in few days, so along with friends needed a place to stay on tight budget before finding a house on rent. After getting down at Chennai Central, taxi driver took us to this hotel, presumingly 'cause of commission attached. Location was good as Egmore had good connectivity with all locations via local train. We were too tired to look around for another hotel and decided to stay here. Rooms were pathetic, bathrooms had provision for salty water only. For food we have to look around outside the hotel.
Overall, it was the worst hotel I have ever stayed in.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Raj Residency? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raj Residency

Address: 22 Kennet Lane Opp. to Egmore Railway Station | Egmore, Chennai (Madras) 600008, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai (Madras) > Nungambakkam
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #280 of 341 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Raj Residency 1.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of Chennai city, 2 minutes walk from Egmore railway station, 5 minutes drive from central railway station, 30 minutes drive from airport and within east access to all commercial, shopping and entertainment institutions. 70 well appointed guest rooms, both A/C and Non A/C with Direct Dialing facilities, color TV and other facilities: 24 hours room service, in-house laundry service (same day delivery), 24 hours money exchange, safe locker, safe deposit and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Raj Residency reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Raj Residency Hotel Chennai (Madras)

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Raj Residency, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.