We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Try other Hotels for that Tariif, may be you can get better "Better ones"” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Deccan Plaza

Save Saved
You added Deccan Plaza to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Deccan Plaza
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   36 Royapettah High Road | Royapettah, Chennai (Madras) 600014, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #74 of 336 hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Write a Review

139 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    20
    63
    32
    10
    14
See reviews for
36
11
20
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore, India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Stayed at Deccan Plazaon 16, 17 Dec. The Hotel is centrally located in Royapettah and all places of business as well as hiostoric importance are close at hand. Pure vegetarian hotel. Lots of other good eating places within a radius of 3 Km. Courteous staff. Neat & clean. Value for money for a business traveller.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deccanchennai, General Manager at Deccan Plaza, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you for sharing your views about our hotel and look forward to welcoming you back.

Sincere regards,

Sukomal Sarkar
General Manager
Email: gm@deccanhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, Virginia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

The good part.The staff were very good.Location was very good.Room had a fridge and coffee maker which was great. The lobby and corridors gave a feel good factor.
We had reached after a long journey and hotel was informed about our arrival 4-5 days prior. It was a corporate booking.We had to wait for 20-30 minutes as room was getting ready.Hotel told us that it is a king size bed . But it was two single beds attached weakly and it was creaking and moving when we were turning. Also the a/c does not seemed to work. No one responded on calling them .But last day of our stay some one called for feed back . Then they sent someone but the issue persisted. Thank god it is month of December.The bathroom had quite old fixtures, for example the water spray near commode. It was dirty and the holder had gone bad , Looked a bit unhygienic.The auto drivers at hotel gate were fleecing the customers.Hotel turned a blind eye.After all rich customers , let the local auto guys earn some jackpot , charging 180 for travelling consulate where as a ac cab took just 100 bucks.At least they can recommend some taxi service.The restaurant(room service) served very bad food , and could not comply with our simple demand of no spice . We could not eat the last dinner. We did not have any options as we had a small child. The prices went through the roof.The gym is just for name sake .Pure bullet point value to advertise only. Except the tread mill nothing seemed to work. Would talk to our corporate travel team about these,as soon as I meet them. The check out was great and hassle free.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deccanchennai, General Manager at Deccan Plaza, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Dear Guest,

We profusely thank you for staying with us at Chennai and for your valuable feedback. At Deccan Plaza we take pride in ensuring our guest satisfaction, unfortunately we did not meet your expectation this time and we deeply regret the inconvenience caused. Upon thorough review of the shortcomings we have narrowed the causes. This is by no means an excuse but knowing the cause will help us guard such shortcomings. We are looking forward to your next visit at Deccan Plaza

Please feel free to contact us for any assistance.

Sukomal Sarkar
General Manager
Email: gm@deccanhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Overall, the hotel is good as it is located in a central place. Exverything, except the breakfast, was good. The breakfast was not upto the mark, infact, we had it outside. Room / service was very good.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deccanchennai, General Manager at Deccan Plaza, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for your valuable feedback. We at Deccan Plaza strive for guest satisfaction, we would surely work on the breakfast to offer a better experience. Looking forward to your next visit at Deccan Plaza.

Should you have any query, please feel free to contact us.

Thanking you,

Sukomal Sarkar
General Manager
Email: gm@deccanhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

Hi,

Was travelling for a day to chennai and stayed at the Deccan Plaza, they have a 24 hour checkout policy which is quite usefull.

the food was good and tasty. the rooms were quite and clean.

had a quite decent experience at the hotel, though was jus there for a few hours.!!

Room Tip: Jus stayed there for one night, was quite peacefull!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deccanchennai, General Manager at Deccan Plaza, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you for sharing your views about our hotel and look forward to welcoming you back.

Sincere regards,

Sukomal Sarkar
General Manager
Email: gm@deccanhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kochi
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

I have really mixed comments when thinking about this hotel . Locationwise its excellent especially if you have work in that part of chennai and well connected . Their rooms are good and their gym is very good with imported equipment .

Coming to service each time i stay i feel bad because their staff has got a very hurried attitude . Not rude but being in the hospitality industry really inferior (i have stayed in 50 + hotels in the country across star ranges ) . I dont know whether it is because they are understaffed but service with a smile i didnt find here .

Also the worst part was i almost missed my flight because they didnt provide taxi on time and repeatedly told me to have breakfast while taxi is arranged ( i had called twice and fixed it up ) . How can we have breakfast and wait when the taxi is late ? I think they should have a staff meeting if they want to improve their customer service ...

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deccanchennai, General Manager at Deccan Plaza, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for sharing your views and suggestions for betterment. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience caused to you and be assured necessary measures have been taken to prevent it from repeating. Looking forward to welcoming you back to Deccan Plaza

Sincere regards,

Sukomal Sarkar,
General Manager
Email: gm@deccanhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Service:
Room Service was efficient.Was really hungry when I checked in the evening and the room service staff promptly got me my snacks order.
Rooms:
Rooms are spacious and well maintained.
Food:
They have a very good breakfast spread.For the evening dinner,I had opted for an ala carte one night and was surprised to get decent enough North Indian food.Next night,I had opted for their buffet dinner and what a surprise!!All the usual food stuff was present but I really relished the south indian food they had on the buffet spread.
They have a good enough bar also.They give a plenty of muchies to gulp down with a drink
Nearby places of interest:
Undoubtedly,it has to be the Marina Beach.It is close to the Hotel
To sum it up
Found the Hotel to be ideal for a quick business trip.I guess they also manage wedding/puja functions for families as I could see a lot of ladies in traditional south indian attire rushing to attend some ceremony in the banquet hall of the hotel

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deccanchennai, General Manager at Deccan Plaza, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
It was our privilege and pleasure to have you stay with us during your recent visit to Chennai. Thank you so much for your all positive comments. Very delighted to know that you liked our Hotel, Team and Hospitality Services.

We at Hotel Deccan Plaza, look forward to the pleasure of warmly welcoming you back to Chennai on your next visit.

Yours Sincerely,

Sukomal Sarkar
General Manager
Email: gm@deccanhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Deccan Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deccan Plaza

Address: 36 Royapettah High Road | Royapettah, Chennai (Madras) 600014, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai (Madras)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 336 hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Deccan Plaza 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are 3 Star hotel called Deccan Plaza located in the Heart of Chennai at No.36, Royapettah High Road, Royapettah, Chennai - 600 004, Phone : 044-66773333 Fax: 044-66773344. We have 2 Restaurants 1 Bar and we are proud to say we are 100% Veg.Hotel.Also we are coming out with one more property at Ooty open for booking, Email:info@deccanhotels.com, ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, MakeMyTrip, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Tingo so you can book your Deccan Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Deccan Plaza Hotel Chennai (Madras)
Chennai Days Inn
Deccan Plaza Days Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Deccan Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.