We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient, spacious rooms and excellent staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Chennai

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Chennai to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Chennai
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   564, Teynampet | Anna Salai, Chennai (Madras) 600018, India   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early & get 20% Off
Ranked #31 of 338 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
London
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Convenient, spacious rooms and excellent staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

excellent staff and customer service, big and spacious rooms makes this hotel my first choice while travelling on business especially if I don't have to travel to OMR.
Location is very convenient but these days due to Metro construction works it's a pain to get to. Breakfast has good choice and selection. Amenities like gym, spa, message bar and additional luxuries to relax. I stay here at least 3-4 times during year and continue to go back every time.

Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

593 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    268
    85
    26
    10
See reviews for
90
51
69
368
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tiruchirappalli, India
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

PROS:
The service is very good in this hotel. I have stayed here 15 times now, many times for a period of 4-5 days with family, parents and kid. The rooms executive deluxe are big sized, kids can play inside.

The cons may sound bad, but its a family place unlike the party crazy raintree down the street. The food does seem better here than rain tree. I prefer this over that anyday.

CONS:
The bed is one of those types that doesnt dissipate heat. Can keep you up. Other than that, I have never found mosquitoes, but feels like somethings biting in general whenever you turn on the AC. I have always asked for a couple of mosquito repellents. Its a very old property and can see their renovation is sealing more cement on top of whats there. So expect

Food - buffet is super expensive, not worth it if you are vegetarian. Order a couple of dishes and it may be cheaper for a couple or a family. Executive Lounge staff & chefs are excellent and go well out of their way. Check in and Check out can take a while- Have always
had it. Atleast they are as bad if not better than the Hilton Guindy.

I continue staying here - 1. for points, 2. Because of the great staff they have here - they try hard.

Room Tip: Get a couple of mosquito repellents.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This was my second stay at Courtyard Chennai in 2 years. And I was not disappointed both times. In fact, this is one of the best hotels I have stayed in. The service was exceptional, which compelled me to write this review (although delayed).

I will start off with the check in. The staff at the front desk is very accommodating. Both times I checked in at weird hours, but never was I given a hard time. The front staff even offered me a discount for the Bengali food festival which was going on at that time. :)

The rooms by themselves are very neat and quite spacious. And room service is exceptional. As I was with my wife, they would leave roses in the room and fold the sheets into flowers to create a romantic ambience.

The food is of the highest quality. The chefs are very friendly and generally come out to talk about their dishes and special requirements you have. The staff in the dining halls are very friendly. They even packed us some 'goodies' when we were checking out.

This is one hotel I will always check into when I'm in Chennai.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Stayed in Courtyard Mariott for a couple of days earlier this month. The hotel staff was courteous and the service was also very good. The room was quite spacious and could accommodate three of us at night. The restaurant in the ground level is also very good with good options on the buffet as well as the alacarte.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed here on a business trip. Staff was very friendly. Rooms were spacious. Building is not really big, so highest level is preferred. Breakfast has a good number of options. Overall, worth a value for money. I would definitely stay here for my next visit.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Counrtyard by marriott is a excellent place to stay , nice restaurant, good breakfast and very poilite staff. its not too far from airport and in of the popular locations. travelling to office in OMR took me about 30 mins whcih was not too bad.

Room Tip: its in crowded part of city so not sure if any room will give a good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prakash J, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Chennai, responded to this review, 1 week ago
DearGuest,

Thank you for taking time to leave your feedback on TripAdvisor.

I am happy to note that you enjoyed your stay and that you found the commute to office comfortable.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel during your future visits to the city.

Regards

Prakash
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here again after one year. Staff is as courteous as usual with a special mention to the duty manager Pritam who immediately recognised us and ensured we had a smooth check in. Food has not improved and the printed menu is limited. the buffet spreads are good. they need one more food outlet as only one coffee shop restricts the eating options. It is a busy hotel.

Room Tip: Top floors are advised.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prakash J, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Chennai, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to leave your feedback on Trip advisor. I have taken note of your feedback and passed it on the the Food and beverage team to improve upon.

I am also happy that the associates in the hotel took care of you during your stay.
I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel during your future visit to the city.

Regards
Prakash J
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Chennai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Chennai

Address: 564, Teynampet | Anna Salai, Chennai (Madras) 600018, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai (Madras)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#15 Family Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#17 Spa Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#26 Business Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#26 Luxury Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Courtyard by Marriott Chennai 4*
Number of rooms: 238
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the Chennai, the 236 room Courtyard by Marriott offers perfect accommodation options for business and leisure traveler, with easy access to all major business and entertainment centers. Paprika, our all day dining restaurant offers cuisines from all over. The Times food award winner, Rhapsody, is a speciality Italian restaurant with a wide selection of wine labels. This along with a impressively stalked bar is the talk of the town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Marriott, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Chennai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Chennai Hotel Chennai (Madras)
Marriott Chennai
Courtyard Marriott Chennai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Chennai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.