We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most convenient, upper-end hotel at reasonable price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Savera Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Savera Hotel to your Saves list
Savera Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   146 Dr. Radhakrishnan Salai, Chennai (Madras) 600004 , India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #54 of 341 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Most convenient, upper-end hotel at reasonable price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

I stayed at th Savera over a 2 day business visit to Chennai - on request the receptionist was kind enough to allot me a corner room so I could work peacefully - complimentary wi-fi was a great help and very convenient. This was on the 4th floor - I wouldn't have minded something on higher floor and preferably in a newly done up room - but it was ok nonttheless

Though house-keeping maintenance of walls and bathrooms had some very minor issues, overall the bed and linen was crisp and clean and very comfortable for a good night's sleep, which is much needed when on a hectic business trip.

Complimentary breakfast spread was sumptuous and one can only wish for more time to be able to enjoy the variety thats laid before you early in the morning.

The hotel is also at a very convenient location to access the main business areas - All in all, I would highly recommend this.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

625 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    269
    193
    49
    24
See reviews for
136
61
93
344
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hyderabad
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We had an awesome experience with Savera. The location is very near to both the Gandhi beach and the US consulate. The rooms were well maintained and the facilities were top class. The employees were very accomodative. Even thou our checkin time was at 12 PM, they allocated us the room at 9 AM itself. without any extra costs or glares. :)
Do try out the Big Brunch and the bamboo Bar and the SPA. Very good service indeed.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Made a stop in chennai for a night to meet a friend before heading to goa. Initially I had intended to stay at the new leela palace in chennai. Since it was just for 1 night, logic got the better of me and decided on Savera. Man do I really regretted the choice. Hotel was old and poorly maintained. The floors were sticky and there no measure of service at all.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

I liked the Savera, the room was very clean, comfortable and the service was good. The lobby is small for the hotel.The location was ideal for me, a very short drive to the shopping centre on Dr. Radakrishna Road. And a 8 minute drive to Marina Beach. In Chennai this was unthinkable elsewhere.

We enjoyed the excellent North Indian food in in the Minar restaurant on the 11th floor, you can either sit inside and listen to music while you dine or in the outdoor terrace and enjoy the view of Chennai.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

This is pretty much the standard hotel in Chennai. It is a decent distance from the airport - I was there late on a Saturday and left on a Sunday afternoon, so I can't say much about the traffic and delays in getting to the place.
The room I stayed in on the third floor was quite big - but they have got some unnecessary features in there - like climbing a couple of steps to get on the platform where the writing table is located. Otherwise a very comfortable room. But...
With renovations in progress there were problems all around. When I woke up in the morning and stepped out I found my door was completely wet. The floor was kind of moist - they blamed it on the renovations. But I dare say the air-conditioning had broken down. With work happening on the upper floors - the lower floors seemed to have taken a battering.
The great thing though was the breakfast - a good spread which I thoroughly enjoyed. But the place was really crowded on a Sunday morning.
Do stay...but wait at least a year, I would think before they settle down. Ask if the renovations are still in progress before you book!
One other thing - I went through "bookings.com" and there was no mention about the "City Tax" - so I ended up paying more than the published rate.

Room Tip: Do not book through a website - call the hotel direct and find out if renovations are still in progr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Savera is a conveniently located traditional hotel with facilities for conferencing and ghosting large banquets. The rooms are medium in size but room services and food meet the expectation of a discerning traveler. Quality of food particularly the dishes of South India match with the traditional best. The locality around the hotel exudes the typical Chennai environment. One can enjoy long walks to the sea side in early morning.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
92 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Stayed at this hotel very recently from 16th January 2013 to 24th January 2013. I was allotted room no. 620. The room was fine but it seems that the hotel had renovation going on at the floors above. The continuous noise of hammers and cutting machines sounded as if the hammers were falling on your head. This continued more or less throughout the day during my 8 day stay. To add to the agony, there was a ventilation shaft in the bathroom right over the pot from where the water dripped very badly.

The staff otherwise was quite courteous. Their piano restaurant offered buffet multicuisine lunch which was very good and inexpensive. The ala-carte in room dining however can prove to be expensive.

The hotel had free Wi-Fi which again kept breaking down periodically.

Room Tip: It seems the hotel has some newly renovated rooms. Insist that you should be allotted those rooms. T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Savera Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savera Hotel

Address: 146 Dr. Radhakrishnan Salai, Chennai (Madras) 600004 , India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai (Madras)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 341 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Savera Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 230
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Savera Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Savera Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.