We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trendy Hotel in Mall” 4 of 5 stars
Review of E Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added E Hotel to your Saves list
E Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Express Avenue Mall, Gate # 1, Pattulos Road | Royapettah, Anna Salai (Mount Road), Chennai (Madras) 600002, India   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 341 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Luanda, Angola
Top Contributor
660 reviews 660 reviews
346 hotel reviews
Reviews in 320 cities Reviews in 320 cities
1,011 helpful votes 1,011 helpful votes
“Trendy Hotel in Mall”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

The staff are very efficient and go out of their way to be helpful. I quickly got a response for an airport pick up and the car and driver were waiting for me as they were for the rest of my family party. Cars very clean and comfortable Innovas. Prices for pick up reasonable.

Check in was quick and the porter very good about helping set up WIFI. This is very necessary as they are migrating to a less cumbersome system than scratchcards and there were still teething problems that ended up with me having two people in my room in the early hours of the morning to resolve. Note that like many hotels in India you can only access the Internet on ONE device at a time. If you pay for two guests one guest can access the Internet with a room number and code and the other must use the more cumbersome scratch pad. They say they restrict you to one devise to keep Internet access fast, and it is, but it is very inconvenient to go from working on a laptop in your room to switching off to access the Internet in the restaurant in the lobby on your phone.

Rooms are spacious and nicely designed. Separate shower and toilet areas. Laundry service efficient.

Food is very good vegetarian and international food (but note even pasta dishes spicey!). Service can be a bit uneven in restaurant. but they do try hard.

Hotel is attached to a mall with all the top brands having outlets. There is also a large cinema and a 5 D theatre.

Negatives other than the WIFI issue is the lack of a gym (although it is advertised). They said it was in maintenance. (If a gym and pool are important try the Taj Club House Hotel nearby which is also more expensive.) Also, the elevator and especially the carpeting is new but looks tacky and out of place with the trendy, clean new decor in the rest of the hotel. Lastly, this hotel is popular with wedding parties and so especially on weekends you can get assailed by a DJ in reception and the adjoining restaurant playing loud music.Also, there can be a lot of chattering in the corridors and door slamming late at night.

I would nevertheless return because staff are great, rooms comfortable and price is right.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GauravGuptaGM, General Manager at E Hotel, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear Guest,

We are very Thankful to you for your patronage and appreciate the review on Tripadvisor. We are very pleased to read your appreciation about the staff. Glad that you liked the spacious rooms & cuisine at restaurant.
Your feedback is extremely valuable to improve the standards of our service & we hope during your next visit we will be able to serve to your satisfaction completely. Thank you once again for your time. Request to join us on our social network.

Warm Regards,

Gaurav Gupta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    70
    15
    4
    4
See reviews for
66
47
20
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

this hotel is located as part of a shopping mall. the rooms are large with excellent facilities. as you arrive at the hotel , your luggage is put through an xray machine for security reasons. all staff are very attentive and tried their best to be helpful. we were particularly impressed with sanjiv who went out of his way to assist my husband in arranging a car and providing essential information regarding Chennai. the location of this hotel in excellent as you just step out of the hotel into a mall where some very good shops and a food court are located.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GauravGuptaGM, General Manager at E Hotel, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Dear Guest,

We are Thankful to you for your review on Tripadvisor. Your note of appreciation has been shared with Sanjiv and other team members. E hotel is an exclusive mall hotel in Chennai city with luxurious hospitality.
Thank you for your time and look forward to serving you for many more years. In the meantime please join our social network for updates.

Warm Regards,

Gaurav Gupta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

We enjoyed our stay at E Hotel, the room was clean and comfortable. However, we were disappointed by the transportation. A short trip was quoted at $400 rp but we were charged $700.
An excursion to Kanchipuram the next day was quoted at $3600. We checked and double checked the price with several employees only to find at the end of the trip that the real price was $4100 rp. We feel the hotel is not well served by this dishonesty and we probably won't return because of this fact.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GauravGuptaGM, General Manager at E Hotel, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings!

We Thank you for your patronage. Glad to note that you enjoyed the stay at E Hotel & the room was comfortable for your stay.
Please accept my apologies for the inconvenience you experienced regarding the Travel arrangement and would kindly like to inform that there is a miscommunication. The package tariff including taxes is 4050 in Indian Rupees for the trip; however we have collected INR 3600 only.
We take pride in ensuring guest satisfaction & value your relationship. Please give us another opportunity to retain you as our satisfied guest.

If you have any further questions or comments, please feel free to discuss it with me at gm@emallhotel.com

Warm Regards,

Gaurav Gupta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

New, modern, rooms are large and well equipped in a north American style. All the amentities are there and comfortable beds and bathrooms. Lovely staff and next to a huge mall if you like shopping. I'd stay again for sure.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GauravGuptaGM, General Manager at E Hotel, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings!

Appreciate your choice to stay at E Hotel. Thank you for reviewing about the rooms, ambience & location. We all look forward to welcoming you again to E Hotel. In the meantime please join our social network for updates.

Warm Regards,

Gaurav Gupta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

I stayed at the Ehotel for the fifth time for a wedding in Chennai and they did not disappoint. We had booked 6 rooms and Sanjiv the front desk in charge was really efficient and sincere.The staff over all are incredibly friendly and helpful - they made my stay wonderful. They went out of their way to make me comfortable. While in the middle of the city with loads of traffic, the hotel is quiet...n a great location to shop!

The reason I am writing this review is cause my mother while vacating left about 35600 RS in a cover behind. She realised it later on in the evening she had misplaced it. When a staff from our office returned to find out if she left it in the hotel. The hotel staff had found it and handed it over to the reception and we got the money back. I was shocked by the honesty of the staff. Thank you so much.

The rooms were elegant, well maintained. The sleep quality was excellent. I would definitely come back...:) :) :)

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GauravGuptaGM, General Manager at E Hotel, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Dear Guest,

We are delighted to read your highly appreciated review of the staff and hotel. Your appreciation has been conveyed to Sanjiv with my personal note. It is very motivating to hear that our guests are satisfied with our services.The growth we are experiencing is because of guests like you who are always supporting us. I hope that we will continue to earn your praise in our future service.
Thank you for your support. E Hotel Team is looking forward to welcoming you again. In the meantime please join our social network for updates.


Regards,

Gaurav Gupta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

My mum and I stayed at the E-Hotel for her US visa interview. The Hotel was excellent. The staff were extremely helpful and never once made you feel obliged to tip. The rooms were top notch with a very modern, colorful decor. The hotel is attached to a mall and the mall provides a great way to kill time without having to step out into the heat. It was easy to fill up the spare time here. The hotel was also quite close to both the US Visa scanning and interview offices. It took us under 10 mins to reach both places via taxi. The only relative downside was that they serve only vegetarian food and it was quite pricey. Also, breakfast was not included with the room. I would definitely come back here again. Actually, I'm already planning to bring my wife here for a short break. A classy hotel plus convenient shopping. I know she'll love it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the higher floors. You can get a good view of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GauravGuptaGM, General Manager at E Hotel, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to Thank you for your patronage. Glad that you like the ambience, rooms and mall connectivity. Like many other guests the hotel’s location has been a convenient access to consulate. I have shared your comments with our team members.

Thank you once again for your time & we look forward to your next visit. Please join our social network for E Hotel updates.

Regards,

Gaurav Gupta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

I stayed with my family on my first visit to Chennai & E hotel and it's staffs made a good impression, We enjoyed our stay there, friendly hotel staff, we were well treated and assisted us in all our needs both hotel related and other personal needs, shopping complex was as good as the hotel with branded products, nice environment
Good location
Breakfast was good

We had some problem with one of the room door, it's was immediately attended and rectified to our comfort...
Thanks to the hotel maintenance staff...
Special thanks to hotel management for making our stay a memorable one...

Stayed February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GauravGuptaGM, General Manager at E Hotel, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at E Hotel with your family. We are very delighted to get complimented and appreciated on food & service. Your comments on the service provided by our staff are very motivating and will help everyone to reach their potential.

Thank you again for taking the time to share your feedback. We would look forward to serving you again. Please join our social network for E Hotel updates.

Warm Regards,

Gaurav Gupta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to E Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about E Hotel

Address: Express Avenue Mall, Gate # 1, Pattulos Road | Royapettah, Anna Salai (Mount Road), Chennai (Madras) 600002, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai (Madras)
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 341 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — E Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
E Hotel, the chic and trendy boutique hotel at the business hub of Chennai located in Express Avenue Mall. Experience the best in luxurious stay, with contemporary interiors, global vegetarian cuisine, and pleasant service amidst a tranquil environment.Close proximity to major consulates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your E Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage E Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.