We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ramada Chennai Egmore

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Ramada Chennai Egmore to your Saves list
Ramada Chennai Egmore
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Gandhi Irwin Bridge Road | Egmore, Chennai (Madras) 600008, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #40 of 338 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014 via mobile

We were at this wonderful hotel for only 2 nights but it really made a great impression.

The staff were very welcoming, from Sulekha Mridha the front office manager who was very attentive and helped us resolve a problem in the bathroom to the breakfast staff, for whom nothing seemed too much trouble.

the room was spacious, with a great view over the infinity pool. Pool was just perfect to cool off in and an oasis from the city below.

The breakfast was delicious and varied. An interesting mix of people amongst the guests and the hotel was busy so obviously popular with both Indians and visitors from other countries.

BUT the best thing about the hotel was J Kennedy, on the front desk - he was AMAZING!!

Kennedy helped us with travel advice, finding a car to take my husband to appointments in Chennai, then made all our onward arrangements. He made phone calls on our behalf and checked & rechecked that everything was in order. He also gave us his number in case we needed any more help and showed real attention to detail - providing us with bottled water and tissues for our 3 hour car journey, which was really thoughtful.

we will definitely return to Ramada Egmore when we come back to Chennai....in fact it has made us want to seek out other Ramada hotels on our future travels

Highly recommend

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    120
    51
    12
    17
See reviews for
53
49
24
162
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

Stayed here 3 nights before joining a tour. The hotel itself is great- free Wifi in the lobby and rooms (only 1 device at the time). Rooms are spacious, clean and come with kettle, hairdryer and iron/ ironing board.
There is a small pool on the first floor which was great to refresh after a day in town. Breakfast was varied and plentiful.
It is located about 5min walk from the Egmore train station- you can take a train from the train station near the airport (~500m walk) for 5 Rs~ 30min.
To go around the town the hotel reception recommends (expensive) taxis, but when changing trains once, you can go cheaply (5 Rs) to Mylapore where most temples/ churches are.

If you exit the hotel and walk towards the train station there are a few cheap eateries and small corner shops, as well as ATM's.
If I wouldn't have joined the tour- I would stay near Mylapore next time.

Room Tip: Request a room on a higher floor facing the back or side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indore, India
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

I stayed in ramada chennai for business trip. Location wise this hotel is good for train traveller but from airport its quite far, it took one hr plus to reach the hotel in afternoon. At reception the staff was very courtious and helpful. Room was really nice n bed was very comfertable too. Used terrace restaurant with my friends. Amazing no words, the waiter was very good n hospitable. We really enjoued the evening wonderful service.
Breakfast spread was good but enjoyed only delecious south indian food.
Overall experience was good service was great, staffs were very friendly n mannered, only one concern this hotel lacks in cleaning. Rest everything was wonderful

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhopal, India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014 via mobile

I stayed in the hotel for my business trip, good location n easy access to all the places. Specially the boardwalk good food n nice place for business gathering. The manager and the waiters are so friendly and understand our needs and reacting accordingly. Special thanks for housekeeping though hotel is busy still maintaining the standard. Nice place to stay will recommend to others

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

we loved our room it was very spacious, clean and had all the amenities. the staff were friendly. there was a large selction on the buffet at breakfast to suit everyone. i would definately stay here again

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coimbatore
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

This is my first stay in ramada chennai. the rooms wer big, clean and beautiful. the bed was soft and comfortable. room service was great, slightly expensive but quantity is good. room service was quick.
the broad walk is to be mentioned. roof top pool side restaurant. fully woody. great ambiance. music was good. great taste.
breakfast spread was good and tasty.
the staffs wer very pleasing and friendly.
highly recommonded for a calm and peaceful stay near the egmore railway station area.

Room Tip: try broad walk for dinner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pondicherry, India
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

The hotel is in a quiet corner of Egmore, Chennai. The hotel is average nothing great.. service is overall good and the staff are quiet helpful. They give me a upgrade for my room at no extra cost.. the room was very spacious, very neat and pleasant. I liked the room more than anything else in the hotel. The breakfast buffet was just about average. The price for the hotel is not very high but competitive for a 4star in Chennai.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ramada Chennai Egmore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Chennai Egmore

Address: Gandhi Irwin Bridge Road | Egmore, Chennai (Madras) 600008, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai (Madras)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 338 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ramada Chennai Egmore 4*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ramada Chennai Egmore boasts of 113 plush and spacious rooms that combine verdant amenities and the comfort of home like environment. Between each day’s adventures, relax amid the warm, earthy ambience of your spacious room, and discover the various facilities at your beck and call: complimentary internet, a flat screen TV, electronic safe with a built-in laptop charger, a pillow menu to ensure that you sleep stress-free and all day in-room dining. The attached bathroom also has custom designed baths and drench showers with luxurious accoutrements and lotions from Paya. Rooms also have ironing facilities but if your suit requires ironing urgently for that all-important presentation with clients the hotel’s prompt laundry services would be happy to do it for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ramada Chennai Egmore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ramada Chennai Egmore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.