We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Certainly, authentic fine dining!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chao

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Chao
49 North Boag Road | T. Nagar, Chennai (Madras) 600017, India
044 6555 5553
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #372 of 2,482 Restaurants in Chennai (Madras)
Price range: $9 - $13
Cuisines: Chinese, Thai, Vietnamese, Pan-Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business
Dining options: Reservations, Private Dining
Chennai (Madras), India
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Certainly, authentic fine dining!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

Just returned from a lovely dinner at Chao! Enjoyed the whole experience! The ambience was great - loved the decor and the murals! Interestingly being a friday night expected a full restaurant, the first floor was completely empty except for the four of us, but apparently the basement was buzzing with activity!!! Service was good, albeit a bit slow! The soup, and the starters were really good, the Pad Thai noodles was excellent - the best was surely the Thai Basil Fried Rice and Thai Red Curry with Veggies and Tofu (we had requested Tofu to be included in the Red Curry and they obliged!)… We were too full to even try dessert though the Wassabee Mousse looked great in the picture :)) Overall a great place for some authentic fine dining - surely not your run of the mill chinese restaurant! Will certainly return for more and soon at that!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    12
    3
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Time to get your act together!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

Honestly we went there with a lot of expectation. First things first, the ambiance was awesome!! Very tastefully done and I can say, at least after traveling extensively in the Far East, that they had tastefully hand picked items to decorate the restaurant.

First turn down.. they said they have a mosquito problem on the ground floor and took us to the basement. Then we were offered a table that had absolutely no lighting. There were lights above but they were not working apparently. We opted for a better seating and chose to move to another table.

Coming to the menu card, it was well designed and they had distinguished items on the Veg and Non Veg sections. After looking at the menu for a very brief moment, we ordered the Hot & Sour Soup - Singaporean style. We waited over 20 mins. It was a dull Sunday night at the restaurant with hardly 5 covers and they were very very slow. Being a gourmet/fine dining restaurant, I would expect them to serve may be a crispy wanton with some green tea or expedite the service of Soups/Starters. Big Fail here.

Well well .. there was nothing singaporean in it. They had cut the veggies well and that's all I could appreciate. There was so much starch in it and the mushrooms were not chopped in the right proportion. I am not going to care so much if not for this place calling itself to be an Asian Fine Dining Restaurant. I could clearly see the work of an amateur chef from India who had carefully made this soup.

Now comes the big disaster that made us walk out of the restaurant without going in for the Main course - Starters!! We ordered Corn Tartlets (as they called it) and some Veg Chop Chuy (supposed to be fried veggies). I asked the chef for some sauces and he just walked away after plating. He said - "What sauce?".. We did not have to think a lot after to make the choice though.. After asking, they brought some chilli sauce (tasted very much like a pickled bottle off the rack). The starters had the pungent chilli garlic smell and was a total let down.

We asked for the check as we couldn't take this any more!!!

They need to have more authentic food and better service.. Definitely could have been better when they had less than 15 people in the restaurant.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karthik_Chao, Operations - Head at Chao, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Hi Ms. Aparna,

First, thank you for the compliments on the ambience/décor. And, you were taken to the dining room downstairs to avoid any disturbances from the mosquito menace that the city has been facing for the past one month. We have always strived at delivering a peaceful and soothing dining experience and that was the motto behind sending you downstairs.

The Hot & Sour Soup you had was Sichuan style and we do not serve any hot & sour soup in Singaporean style. The mushrooms in the soup were Wood-ear mushroom and are of highly irregular shape and hence cannot be cut into similar shapes. On the chef’s experience, you’re completely mistaken there.

The starter, Corn Tartlets, is a Thai-style Fried corn dish stir fried in Garlic, Chili oil and Hot Basil. Cha Choy is stir-fried crispy vegetables in homemade sauce. Both are best had by themselves and are not accompanied by any sauce. Also, the “what sauce?” reply, when checked with the waiter, was made to know your sauce preference as we served more than 10 sauces.

Also, our deepest regrets for not being able to meet your expectations.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Nothing Great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

It is another domesticated Chinese. If pricing is considered as the quality , it will score. Many restaurant think if they can mention a few speciality things on the menu card with a five star pricing, people will think that it is great. They should understand that the food must also support the ambience and pricing. First question by the waiter itself is disturbing. Mineral water or ordinary water? A bottle of Rs 20/- MRP is sold to you at the double or treble price with taxes once again added on it. They should offer a bottle of water as a compliment when a single dish is priced around Rs 400-600.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Top Contributor
247 reviews 247 reviews
145 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
“Nice ambience and food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

The chinese food is Indian Chinese and regular fare that any decent chinese restaurant would serve. Nothing exceptional.

The hot and sour soup was average, corn used in crispy corn was a bit tough though the preparation was good. The iced tea was excellent. Rest of the food was passable nothing to complain about.

For the price that one pays quality is not justified

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
1 review
“Expectation diminished -Ambience is good but not value for money”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Hi all,
This was my 1st Wedding Anniversary and we had lot of expectation to spend our candle light dinner @ chao,tnagar,chennai.But we were bit disappointed with food.:( Not worth for your spend.Same bg music played boring and irritating,guess it may there theme music..
candle light huh BTW where is the candle??? tiny bulb hehe:)
Food was average in taste and too expensive,only service is good
Ordered items:
chicken soup (chennai rasam with chicken huh)
"Non-veg platter"-Rs999/- not worth at all (2 pieces of each item total 4-5) BIG thumbs down:(:(
"berry sweetheart" juice was good but expensive
some fruit mix -average
dessert-pumpkin curd* ice cream-average
chicken fired rice-ok
Cheque Rs 2100 plus Rs 200 service charge and total Rs2300/- for above items huh
This was my first and last to chao:(:(
Thanks,
Ram

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chao also viewed

Chennai (Madras), Tamil Nadu
Chennai (Madras), Tamil Nadu
 
Chennai (Madras), Tamil Nadu
 

Been to Chao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chao, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.