We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A memorable Skywatch from The Leela” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Leela Palace Chennai

Save Saved
You added The Leela Palace Chennai to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Leela Palace Chennai
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Adyar Seaface 175, M.R.C Nagar, R.A.Puram, Chennai (Madras) 600028, India   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Exclusive Business Offer
Ranked #1 of 336 hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Bangalore, India
1 review
“A memorable Skywatch from The Leela”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

From The Leela on the beach of Chennai you can watch the Raman effect in style and comfort. True to Raman's discovery, the sea does not reflect the exact colours of the sky but shows it in different colours . The great scientist, C. V. Raman saw in it a mystery of Nature which changes the frequency of the light falling on an object as it reflects the rays back. One can celebrate the Raman effect almost on all days through the glass wall of your room here with a view on the vast stretch of Bay of Bengal, a luxury on the world-famous Marina, as here you escape the heat on the sands during the day and the glaring lights on the sea shore at night. This is the one and only hotel to give you the best chance to view the sky and its touching the sea in the distant horizon without any distraction, save some flocks of birds from Siberia making a momentary V-formation.

The hotel menu too was authentic and natural, capturing the smell and colour of the indigenous dishes with a full complement of adds-on which are all but forgotten in other places. Added to it was personal care which was unbelievable. The staff seemed to have learnt that I had won an award for writing. When the Manager greeted me to say congratulations, I thought it was a customary ritual more to complement themselves than me! I was pleasantly surprised to find a huge bouquet of flowers with a note to express their joy.

As the twinkling stars came on to dot the cloudless sky, I could hear a gentle roar of the waves. It was music to my ears, usually battered by the roar of automobiles speeding by most other hotels in the city.

Room Tip: Choose sea- facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leela_Chennai, General Manager at The Leela Palace Chennai, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write such extensive and positive comments on Trip Advisor.

Your positive feedback about the hotel is very encouraging and a great source of motivation for all of us.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back at The Leela Palace Chennai in the very near future.

Regards

Pascal Dupuis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    175
    43
    13
    4
    3
See reviews for
54
43
15
80
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Jaipur, India
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

i stayed here for 2 nights.. the hotel is very nice.. the normal standard size rooms are also quite big and spacious.. the staff at the leela were extremely enthisiastic accomodating and friendly.. i had a beautiful stay at leela chennai

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leela_Chennai, General Manager at The Leela Palace Chennai, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write such positive comments on Trip Advisor.

Your positive feedback about the hotel and the service is very encouraging and a great source of motivation for all of us.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back at The Leela Palace Chennai in the very near future.

Regards

Pascal Dupuis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

I have stayed here twice recently and I enjoyed both a superior room and a suite. The style is similar to other Leela Palce hotels with grand general areas and décor that might be described as neo-maharaja. The hotel is new. Bedrooms are spacious and very well equipped with excellent modern bathrooms. Service is efficient and friendly throughout. Breakfast is copious and ranges from Western through general Asian to Indian with really good coffee. Indian food at the Jamavar restaurant is exceptional and we also enjoyed a good lunch at the Spectra which serves a broad range of cuisines. The pool is attractive with good seating and service. Less positively, the hotel is separated from the beach by an inlet that becomes an unattractive mudflat when the tide is out and there is a considerable amount of rubbish and debris lying about. There is a large structure near the hotel that is being demolished at present so it is worth ensuring that your room will not be affected by this.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leela_Chennai, General Manager at The Leela Palace Chennai, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write such positive comments on Trip Advisor.

Your positive feedback about the hotel is very encouraging and a great source of motivation for all of us.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back at The Leela Palace Chennai in the very near future.

Regards

Pascal Dupuis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

Stayed 2 nights and Wow! This is real luxury! The bathroom is very relaxing and the bedroom is luxurious and beautifull with dark hardwood floors. The service was excellent and this is where we had the best breakfast buffets of our 3 week south india trip!
The location is not near anything, with an empty building besides the hotel, but since we had a car and driver, the out of the way location did not bother us.
The pool looked very nice but we did not have the time to use it since we arrived late at night and the secound day, we were out all day visiting chennai and kanchipuram.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leela_Chennai, General Manager at The Leela Palace Chennai, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write such positive comments on Trip Advisor.

Your positive feedback about the hotel is very encouraging and a great source of motivation for all of us.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back at The Leela Palace Chennai in the very near future.

Regards

Pascal Dupuis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

We stayed for 4 nights and were most impressed by the high quality of the building. The rooms are large and well furnished with comfortable beds . The restaurants are very good and quality excellent. The staff were most helpful and cars can be hired with driver which is very helpful for finding ones way around.
Down side: the location is not the best, the view from the hotel is of a mud flat and the sea can't be accessed from the hotel directly.
The main issue is the price, its very expensive, we arrived at 6.00 a.m. and yet had to be charged for a room for the night. This seemed unfair as the hotel was practically empty. The manager promised a refund when I complained but I have yet to receive it over 6 months later.

Room Tip: Ask fort a high room but most seems good
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leela_Chennai, General Manager at The Leela Palace Chennai, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write such positive comments on Trip Advisor.

Your positive feedback about the hotel is very encouraging and a great source of motivation for all of us.

I was however sorry to read about the disputed charge and I apologize if the person you have spoken to has not reverted back to you and there is no excuses for us to have left this issue pending for so long. I would really appreciate if you can contact me directly on my mobile +919952957567 or by email at pascal.dupuis@theleela.com and I will personally resolve the issue

We are looking forward to welcoming you back at The Leela Palace Chennai in the very near future.

Regards

Pascal Dupuis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

We spent a long weekend at the hotel. The stay was great. I had read a number of reviews where the service was criticised. We enjoyed excellent service.

On arrival we were taken to the room for check - in where we completed the formalities and booked a table. There were 7 of us so really appreciated them making a table available. The Sunday brunch experience cam be hit and miss, but there service was outstanding. We didn't have to ask for our glasses to be refilled once. The staff were attentive to the children, bringing different options to the table.

We experienced the same level of service at the breakfast buffet the next day, with the staff making a valiant effort to entertain our youngest.

The room was impeccable, well maintained and beautifully decorated. Room service was prompt and the quality was again outstanding. (Note, if you're a fan of sampling all the restaurants be sure to pack trousers, shorts will not work)

The pool area was quiet and again great service was provided for both food and drinks.

I should warn you that there is a significant construction project underway next to the hotel. I would discuss when booking the hotel room and ensure your room is on the other side of the hotel.

Unfortunately this was not the case for us and we were subject to some all night building work.

When discussed with the hotel staff they were very understanding and conpensated us appropriately.

I'm a Leela veteran having stayed a number of times at different properties in India and this was my best experience to date.

Great job and a compliment to the whole team who are clearly focused on ensuring the Leela brand remains strong.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leela_Chennai, General Manager at The Leela Palace Chennai, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write such extensive and positive comments on Trip Advisor.

Your positive feedback about the hotel is very encouraging and a great source of motivation for all of us.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back at The Leela Palace Chennai in the very near future.

Regards

Pascal Dupuis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

This hotel really shines!

I had 6 nights here and really enjoyed my stay. The service is really good, staff very friendly and always ready to help. I was upgraded on my arrival to a beautiful room with views looking out across the ocean and the city. My room was very spacious, beautifully laid out - with a separate walk in wardrobe to die for and big bathroom with the nicest 'rain' shower I've had in years, plus a huge bath tub.

The breakfast buffet has a great range of cuisines - from pastries to sushi! Dinner menu equally as delicious.

The gym is well equipped. Sadly the spa isn't open at the moment. The pool is big, but there's a building being demolished beside the hotel so bring some music and headphones to block out the noise.

My room door self-lock wasn't working when I first arrived so someone was called out immediately to help sort. The staff are really efficient.

The only thing I'd say holds it back being perfect is the lack of drinks and food / bar space outside. I'd rather spend my evenings outside than in a dark bar. There's a beautiful decorative pool at the entrance but no seats to sit around it to enjoy in the evening. The swimming pool is lovely but doesn't have anywhere which serves food/ drinks, so if you're wanting to drink/ eat it's less convenient to sit there. There is a small pretty garden by the Chinese restaurant but it lacks any atmosphere in the evenings due to the chairs and tables being covered up! The hotel should make it easier to enjoy the gorgeous South Indian evenings. I'm sure people would flock to sit down there if you made it more accessible and played some chilled music to enjoy the space.

But don't let this put you off. The attention to detail, high standards and general glam put it in one of the nicest hotels I've stayed in for business in a while!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the corner of the hotel so you get a view of the city and sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leela_Chennai, General Manager at The Leela Palace Chennai, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write such extensive and positive comments on Trip Advisor.

Your positive feedback about the hotel is very encouraging and a great source of motivation for all of us.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back at The Leela Palace Chennai in the very near future.

Regards

Pascal Dupuis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Leela Palace Chennai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Leela Palace Chennai

Address: Adyar Seaface 175, M.R.C Nagar, R.A.Puram, Chennai (Madras) 600028, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai (Madras)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 336 hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Leela Palace Chennai 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the confluence of the Bay of Bengal and the Adyar river, The Leela Palace is Chennai’s first and only seafront city hotel, designed by John Gerondelis from Smallwood, Reynolds, Stewart, Stewart & Associates Inc. While the public areas, guestrooms and suites, Library Blu, Jamavar and Spectra have been designed by Jeffrey A. Wilkes, the principal designer of DESIGNWILKES, the art and embellishment has been done by Mrs. Madhu Nair, Director Operations and Design of The Leela Palaces, Hotels and Resorts. Drawn from the inspiration of Chettinad Dynasty, the architecture of the Palace Hotel exudes the regal and opulent style. Set on 4.8 acres of land, the 11-storeyed hotel features 326 rooms and suites. Equipped with world-class amenities, the meeting and conference centres are luxuriously and lavishly spread. Its close proximity to the central business district and local attractions and having a spectacular sea view on offer is sure to make the experience of our guests a very memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your The Leela Palace Chennai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Leela Palace Chennai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.