We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peace ! Peace !! Inner peace !!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ramakrishna Temple

Ramakrishna Temple
Chennai (Madras), India
Improve this listing
Type: Religious Sites, Cultural
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The present temple, dedicated only recently in a joyous three-day ceremony, represents three hundred years of faith and devotion.
Chennai (Madras), India
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
40 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Peace ! Peace !! Inner peace !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014 via mobile

Best place of peace of mind and meditation in chennai !! Very quite and well maintained place !! Pooja and aarathi was mind blowing !!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    22
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Very Quite and Spiritual place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

Ramakrishna math is a very spiritual and quite place in Chennai, went with my co-brother as he is a devotee of Sri Rmakrishna and Vivekananda. if you would like to experience the spirituality you may go, very high traffic area hence you need to plan your trip well.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“most peaceful temple”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

This temple is of a different type of beauty both in its architecture and in its ambiance. As soon as you enter the gate, you see a very huge temple in front of you. The garden surrounding the temple is very clean and the as you climb the stairs you experience the beauty of the temple. Inside there is a huge hall with statue of the Guru in the middle. It was the evening time and they were singing beautiful bhajans. Although I couldn't understand them but they were very soothing and gave a instant relief to your mind from all the tensions. I sat there with my eyes closed and after 15 mins when I opened the eyes, I was charged again with full energy.
The inside architecture of the temple is very beautiful. It is very rare to find a temple now a days where you can still and relax,without worrying about the darshan of the deity or the rituals of the temple. We took a walk to the old temple inside the premise and found a very nice religious Book shop. The have good variety of books at a very reasonable price. My wife bought some
Amar chitra katha kind of books which are very nice. This is near to Marina beach and you must visit if in Chennai.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Top Contributor
497 reviews 497 reviews
154 attraction reviews
Reviews in 149 cities Reviews in 149 cities
214 helpful votes 214 helpful votes
“For the spiritual”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

A lovely quiet place close to the Mylapore temple and a must do if you are in the spiritual circuit. Great place to meditate. Lovely architecture too.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
48 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Peaceful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

I have been to this place several times when in Chennai. I used to find it very peaceful sitting amongst the people in search of peace and to add to its positives there is a book store selling religious books at quite cheap price.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ramakrishna Temple also viewed

Chennai (Madras), Tamil Nadu
Chennai (Madras), Tamil Nadu
 
Chennai (Madras), Tamil Nadu
Chennai (Madras), Tamil Nadu
 

Been to Ramakrishna Temple? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ramakrishna Temple, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.