We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff, good service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of KEK Accommodation

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added KEK Accommodation to your Saves list
KEK Accommodation
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   134 Mosque Street | Cantonment Pallavaram, Chennai (Madras) 600043, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #40 of 246 Chennai (Madras) B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great staff, good service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Good, solid choice for convenient travel to the airport.
We had an airport transfer arranged which was all very smoothly dealt with, great staff who let us keep our room until we left for the airport and some really good food. Staff went out of their way to make our stay a pleasant one.
Rooms are pretty basic, but clean and have everything you need for a quick stopover.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    32
    25
    13
    9
See reviews for
22
20
20
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Tunis, Tunisia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

For the price, it's hard to argue that you deserve a lot more than the KEK offers, but I have to say, this was a pretty crappy hotel. On the plus side, it's five minutes from the airport and there's free airport drop-offs and pickups. On the other hand, it's quite dirty, loud, and hideous. The location is in a lower-class neighborhood (lots of trash, homeless, etc.). Though it's not at all threatening, it is certainly not a pleasant place to walk around. The hotel offers overpriced "tours" of the city and will arrange overpriced taxis. The room we had did have A/C, but the dirty towels were not appreciated. The worst, and least professional aspect, was that the hotel, after we told them that we need to leave at 1:30 am, decided to rent our room out for later in the night. When the next guests showed up, the hotel tried to get us to leave early by waking us up at 12:30 in the morning! This was shocking and uncalled for. For the price, you can't expect a lot from the KEK, but unfortunately, our expectations just weren't low enough to enjoy our night at the KEK.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
la mesa
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

I made a reservation at KEK for my 18 year-old daughter and her friend, who were traveling to southern India, and needed to stay one night near the Chennai airport. My email interactions with them were good, and I felt great about having the girls stay there. But when they arrived, and AFTER they paid, they were taking to a different hotel -- one significantly worse. It was very shabby and dirty (my hippie, outdoorsy daughter says it was the worst room she has ever seen). They tried to argue that they had paid for the the KEK, and shouldn't be moved; but after an hour of no progress (at 2am), they gave in. Their taxi driver the next morning -- one we had pre-arranged through a friend -- said the hotel the KEK sent them to should have cost less than half what they paid for the KEK. In addition, they were constantly harassed by the KEK staff and the staff of the second "hotel" who tried to get them to leave their luggage, tried to get them to change their pre-arranged taxi plans, and other seemingly deceptive and threatening tactics. I HIGHLY advise against staying with KEK Accommodations.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at kek accommodation whilst in chennai for 3 days. We chose this hotel because it was close to airport and we were getting into the chennai in the middle of the night.

Hotel provides free pick up from the airport which is very helpful! Although it is not so close to the centre of town, it is perfect for a stopover. However, we caught the train into chennai twice. Train station is a 5 minute walk and is an easy trip into town

Room and bathroom very clean.
Room with tv and fast wifi
Staff we very very nice and accommodating. Particularly the cleaners/waiters. Also lovely man on reception who walked with us to help us buy a new cord for laptop.
Room service food was DELICIOUS!

Recommend this hotel :)

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

This is the best value for money hotel located in proximity of Chennai Airport. That they have clean rooms, and prompt pick-up/drop facility from the airport is good, but the attitude of the staff is what makes this place so great.

My rating would have been excellent if not for the lack of eating options in the neighbourhood. They have no in-house dining, and being located in a wholesale market area, eating options are severely limited.

Excellent option for stopovers and transits.

Room Tip: Choose rooms which have a window opening to the outside; these have fresher air. Rooms on one side h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, Maharashtra, India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Hi,

review from my Guest.

I booked 1 room in KEK accommodation for my manager.On 7 Dec 12.in very less price which is including Airport pick up drop and room and Wifi .This was my first booking in KEK hotel. Today i got review from my manager firstly driver was good.on Time pick .2nd hotel was good.The facility and service was excellent, honestly I never expected.Less than ten minutes drive from Chennai Airport.
Over all series are excellent.
Thank you Mr.Vijay.
Atul Indalkar.
Corporate flyers Pvt ltd.Pune.

Room Tip: Don't think negative book is without any doubt..
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

A basic and simple hotel with accommodation less than ten minutes drive from Chennai Airport. The staff were friendly and helpful and I booked my taxi and it was there waiting at a cheap 250R to get to the airport. I only stayed one night before my flight and to be honest think this is what this hotel works best for.
Pros:
- Close to airport
- Helpful staff and great at arranging taxis etc with efficiency
- Room service meal was good for the price.
- Bathroom very clean
Cons:
- Was pretty noisy all night in my room (near reception) so not the best night's sleep.
- Sheets were clean but could do with replacing, they have seen better days!
- Not easy to find the hotel and when we rang nobody picked up the phone to help.

I recommend for pre and post flight nights.

Room Tip: Ask for one away from the reception area - noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to KEK Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about KEK Accommodation

Address: 134 Mosque Street | Cantonment Pallavaram, Chennai (Madras) 600043, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai (Madras)
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 246 B&Bs / Inns in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — KEK Accommodation 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Be it a business trip or a vacation we have all that it takes your stay in Chennai a pleasure. We can assure you that your visit will be memorable as our team strives to make you comfortable showing you the real meaning of hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your KEK Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage KEK Accommodation, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.