We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dont even think about it, dont go” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Vijay Park Hotel Chennai

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Vijay Park Hotel Chennai to your Saves list
The Vijay Park Hotel Chennai
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   12 Jawaharlal Nehru Road, Chennai (Madras) 600106, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #258 of 341 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Dont even think about it, dont go”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Unfriendly staffs, maintenance less stinky rooms with cockroaches, AC not worked, we have ordered for liqueur large , they have given diluted drink in a cheating manor. In bath room all the tapes are in broken condition, very horrible and Terrible.

Room Tip: my personal advice don't prefer this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    20
    34
    22
    35
See reviews for
21
21
7
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We had a great trip in India but were incredibly disappointed by the "5 Star" Park hotel in Chennai - the entrance was disappointing - pushing through 2 sets of doors; reception unwelcoming; ladies loo - hot, smelly and stuffy; main restaurant - cracked tiles, dirty surroundings; rooms - mould on the walls, peeling wallpaper - could go on - but you get the idea.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Not bad considering the standard maintained ,rooms are quite large, but still no LCD,'s , Bathrooms are okay but no hot water as solar heaters take take thier own time , service , try to remind them twice at least , good location

sudhindra
Hyderabad

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edison, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for two days. The customer service at this hotel is not up to the standards.

1. There is no hot water in the room I stayed. I complained multiple times and there is no response and the issue was not fixed until I vacate the room. the second day morning they told us that the hot water will be available between 5 am to 10 pm. But, we did not get hot water during this time on both days...

2. We ordered coffee and the same was delivered with ICE HOT.

3. The electronic safe in our room is broked and we are not able to use it.

3. They installed wallmount fan which was oscillating and we were not able to set it up for one direction.

4. The Shower curtain was dirty.

5. The room smells like smoking cabin.

6. The Breakfast was good.

7. Room is spacious.

8. Not worth for the price we paid.

Room Tip: Go for someother good options
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandigarh, India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Its the cheapest in the area about 2700 INR for single room, close to koyambedu Bus Stand. One may choose it over other hotels in the area only for the price. For the price it is OK. If planing to stay here carry Mosquito Repellent in your bag. Not much of shower accessories to offer.

I stayed here for 4 days and eventually moved to Radha Regent which is next door and is priced around INR 5000.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai Indian
Top Contributor
297 reviews 297 reviews
208 hotel reviews
Reviews in 106 cities Reviews in 106 cities
181 helpful votes 181 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

This hotel is located very close to the main busstand of Koyambedu. It is just next to Hotel radha Park, which is amuch better hotel.
We had our conference there very recently. The hotel is not clean at all. The resturant tables are covered with drty table cloth. The waiters were very raw and know whta to do?
The meeting hall is very narrow and not convenient to have large mmetings.
The lunch was very medicore.. very few items...not tasty at all.
over all not a very pleasant experience

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Spacious rooms, ambiance is very good, restaurants are quite well organized as well. Few hanging wires, bathroom leaks and many other issues were left unattended. At times, looks like a half done hotel room. This hotel needs a big fix

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Vijay Park Hotel Chennai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Vijay Park Hotel Chennai

Address: 12 Jawaharlal Nehru Road, Chennai (Madras) 600106, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai (Madras)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #258 of 341 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Vijay Park Hotel Chennai 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your The Vijay Park Hotel Chennai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Vijay Park Hotel Chennai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.