We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the Best Business hotel in Chennai” 5 of 5 stars
Review of GRT Grand

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added GRT Grand to your Saves list
GRT Grand
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   120, Sir Thyagaraya Road | T.Nagar, Chennai (Madras) 600017, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 337 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Philadelphia, PA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“One of the Best Business hotel in Chennai”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2007

I have stayed at this hotel about four time in past two years totaling more than 40 nights of stays. This hotels keeps getting better in terms of service offerings compare to some of the other five star hotels I have stayed in Chennai. GRT gets the best hotel vote for me now that they offer free wireless internet throughout the hotel. Very rare find in India.

Rooms are large even compare to American standards and hotel is always clean. Recently renovated GYM has brand new treadmills. Pondy Bazaar shops are in walking distance.

Vik
Philadelphia, PA

  • Liked — Service , Free WiFi Internet
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChennaiGrtgrand, General Manager at GRT Grand, responded to this review, August 23, 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you for the positive feedback on Trip Advisor. I will certainly convey your sentiments to the team, who will be enthused to meet and exceed your expectations, every time you visit us.

We hope to see you soon when your travel brings you to our area.

Best Regards


Sasikumar. U
General Manager
HP: 9840964282
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    191
    170
    58
    9
    10
See reviews for
75
39
50
236
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
USA
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2007

Excellent Stay. Compares to Hiltons and Sheratons in the US. this is better than some of the Sheratons I stayed in Chicago and PA. It reminded me of some of the Hiltons I stayed in US.

The food is a differant story. clean nice Restaurant but the quality of the food I have rate 4 on a scale of 10. Below average. One time I had to talk to the cook and have him replace the whole dinner.

If you are a clean freak then this is the place for you.

I also have stayed at Residency which is also good not not nearly as good as this.

  • Liked — Quiet very clean good quality rooms
  • Disliked — Food
  • Stayed December 2005, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChennaiGrtgrand, General Manager at GRT Grand, responded to this review, August 23, 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you for the positive feedback on Trip Advisor. I will certainly convey your sentiments to the team, who will be enthused to meet and exceed your expectations, every time you visit us.

We hope to see you soon when your travel brings you to our area.

Best Regards


Sasikumar. U
General Manager
HP: 9840964282
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baguio
2 reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2007

Though the hotel was somewhat pleasing...the staff, the food, the service was substandard. If you are from the the backwards classes this is for you, if not avoid. Rude and arrogant.

  • Stayed April 2007
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChennaiGrtgrand, General Manager at GRT Grand, responded to this review, August 23, 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you for the positive feedback on Trip Advisor. I will certainly convey your sentiments to the team, who will be enthused to meet and exceed your expectations, every time you stay with us.

I have made note of the candid feedback that you have given and would like to assure you that necessary corrections would be brought in, from our end.

We hope to see you soon when your travel brings you to our area.

Best Regards


Sasikumar. U
General Manager
HP: 9840964282
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2007

The hotel has a good website with a excellent online booking service. The website is user friendly and contains all the required information.

  • Stayed April 2007
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChennaiGrtgrand, General Manager at GRT Grand, responded to this review, August 23, 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you for the positive feedback on Trip Advisor. I will certainly convey your sentiments to the team, who will be enthused to meet and exceed your expectations, every time you visit us.

We hope to see you soon when your travel brings you to our area.

Best Regards


Sasikumar. U
General Manager
HP: 9840964282
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2007

Must stay that it really lives up to its 4 star rating but service and ambience was 5 star! Really great restaurant in house as well. Overall the rooms were spacious, clean and nice. The lobby was a also a great place to just hang out and relax. We stayed there for 3 nights and really enjoyed ourselves.

The staff were courteous and efficient at all times. After our previous experience at other hotels in Tamil Nadu during our 6 day trip we were pleasantly surprised with this hotel. Location is also perfect for shopping in Chennai. Would recommend it to anytime. Only drawback is the steep rates but then in India all good hotels seem to be charging sky high rates even with sub-standard service at times....

  • Liked — Service quality, ambience & cleanliness
  • Disliked — Price
  • Stayed May 2006, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChennaiGrtgrand, General Manager at GRT Grand, responded to this review, August 23, 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you for the positive feedback on Trip Advisor. I will certainly convey your sentiments to the team, who will be enthused to meet and exceed your expectations, every time you visit us.

We hope to see you soon when your travel brings you to our area.

Best Regards


Sasikumar. U
General Manager
HP: 9840964282
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2007

The GRT Grand in Chennai was a good, clean, modern hotel in a good position. The lobby is large and spacious with two restaurants - a general buffet and an Indian speciality restaurant. The food in both were excellent - especially the Indian restaurant where the dishes were extremley tasty and some of the best we have had in India!

The rooms were clean and comfortable. The only drawback is that the hotel is in an Atrium shape thereby my room was quite noisy on occassions (people passing by, people in the lobby) as the sound travels through.

All in all a good hotel with excellent service, food and cleanliness!

  • Liked — Great food and business facilities (free wireless connection in my room!)
  • Disliked — Mainly a business hotel so lots of people are passing through on business.
  • Stayed March 2007
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChennaiGrtgrand, General Manager at GRT Grand, responded to this review, August 23, 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you for the positive feedback on Trip Advisor. I will certainly convey your sentiments to the team, who will be enthused to meet and exceed your expectations, every time you visit us.

We hope to see you soon when your travel brings you to our area.

Best Regards


Sasikumar. U
General Manager
HP: 9840964282
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2007

I spent two weeks professionally travelling around India. GRT Grand Hotel definitely was the best of the several hotels I stayed at. Arguably, it is not very Indian but then, you can just look across the windows (my room was on the top floor) and behold the view of the city. Rooms are large, spotless, service is very friendly (albeit a bit - silently - pushing for tips), the buffet restaurant is nice and reasonably priced for such a hotel. Actually I liked Chennai, a hectic city during daytime, not really beautiful but enticing, paradoxically relaxing when compared with northern Indian cities. Yet the hotel's atmosphere is quite different from what you find in the surroundings and makes it a real haven to rest and work.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChennaiGrtgrand, General Manager at GRT Grand, responded to this review, August 23, 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you for the positive feedback on Trip Advisor. I will certainly convey your sentiments to the team, who will be enthused to meet and exceed your expectations, every time you visit us.

We hope to see you soon when your travel brings you to our area.

Best Regards


Sasikumar. U
General Manager
HP: 9840964282
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to GRT Grand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GRT Grand

Address: 120, Sir Thyagaraya Road | T.Nagar, Chennai (Madras) 600017, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai (Madras)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#16 Spa Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#21 Luxury Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#22 Business Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — GRT Grand 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
GRT Grand, the best four star accommodations in India, has on offer the best possible lodging in town. With over 133 rooms of sheer luxury, GRT Grand provides rooms for the travelling executive at most affordable rates. Coupled with facilities such as in-house conference halls, convention centers and restaurants, we offer you our complete hospitality with a specially trained crew to make sure your stay with us is surely grand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Otel, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your GRT Grand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grt Grand Hotel Chennai (Madras)

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage GRT Grand, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.