We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Choice @ T.Nagar” 4 of 5 stars
Review of GRT Grand

Save Saved
You added GRT Grand to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
GRT Grand
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   120, Sir Thyagaraya Road | T.Nagar, Chennai (Madras) 600017, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 336 hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good Choice @ T.Nagar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

It is well connect with all parts of the city and room were in good condition. Ambience was also very nice. Choice of Channels to enjoy was also good. Food and hospitality was also nice.
I would suggest that room service can be improved.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChennaiGrtgrand, General Manager at GRT Grand, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you for the positive feedback on Trip Advisor. I will certainly convey your sentiments to the team, who will be enthused to meet and exceed your expectations, every time you visit us.

We hope to see you soon when your travel brings you to our area.

Best Regards


Sasikumar. U
General Manager
HP: 9840964282
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

403 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    175
    158
    52
    9
    9
See reviews for
71
37
47
216
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore, India
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

I have stayed here many times on my business visits to chennai. The hotel is ideally located close to pondy bazaar in T nagar. The hotel has some good extra services like offering a DVD player and some good world cinema movies. Some rooms come with electric foot massagers as well. The staff is friendly and always helpful. However, the aesthetics of the hotel could have been better. And a renovation is due.. if nothing at all, at least change the carpets in the corridors.

The food menu also needs to improve a lot more especially if they want to differentiate themselves from the other hotels. Breakfast spread is good however compared to the Park pod where I have also stayed frequently.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChennaiGrtgrand, General Manager at GRT Grand, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you for the positive feedback on Trip Advisor. I will certainly convey your sentiments to the team, who will be enthused to meet and exceed your expectations, every time you visit us.

We hope to see you soon when your travel brings you to our area.

Best Regards


Sasikumar. U
General Manager
HP: 9840964282
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bangalore
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

I stayed there for a night on a business trip to chennai. The hotel is good , rooms are spacious ( a bit old and needs furnishing). The food in the resturant is very good ( if you are found of south indian foos).

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChennaiGrtgrand, General Manager at GRT Grand, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you for the positive feedback on Trip Advisor. I will certainly convey your sentiments to the team, who will be enthused to meet and exceed your expectations, every time you visit us.

We hope to see you soon when your travel brings you to our area.

Best Regards


Sasikumar. U
General Manager
HP: 9840964282
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

The hotel though a bit old has great charm and is quite imposing. Must have been a grand one during it's opening.

We stayed there for 3 nights and have very positive experience with our stay there.

The breakfast at All day dining was great and the service staff was very prompt.

Another thing i liked about the hotel was that they automatically gave me a late checkout of 4pm the moment they found out i had to reach the airport at 6:30. Very nice of them and i did not even ask for it. This was excellent, very proactive.

Their location is excellent too. Close to some of the main shopping areas and also autos / taxis are easily available outside.

Good stay and will certainly stay again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChennaiGrtgrand, General Manager at GRT Grand, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you for the positive feedback on Trip Advisor. I will certainly convey your sentiments to the team, who will be enthused to meet and exceed your expectations, every time you visit us.

We hope to see you soon when your travel brings you to our area.

Best Regards


Sasikumar. U
General Manager
HP: 9840964282
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

I stayed there for around two nights in month of Dec. The rooms are nice with a little signs of aging in Bathroom. The Breakfast was very nice and staff found was supportive. One advice for all to book it through the websites online as booking.com or else you will have to pay a quite extra charge (around 20% more). Similar is the taxi charges almost double (in fact more than double) what you can get directly through the prepaid.
The staff was very supportive and I had to get a lock cut in my bag and they helped out even at night. The food is quite good even the North Indian is tolerable (better than any hotel in South). The Hotel doesn't look nice in their website but it's better than the pictures.
The location is nice, a market (don't remember the name) is walkable though the market was really not walkable (all pathways were full of rubbish and construction material).

Room Tip: Book in advance through some online booking sites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChennaiGrtgrand, General Manager at GRT Grand, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you for the positive feedback on Trip Advisor. I will certainly convey your sentiments to the team, who will be enthused to meet and exceed your expectations, every time you visit us.

We hope to see you soon when your travel brings you to our area.

Best Regards


Sasikumar. U
General Manager
HP: 9840964282
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, India
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

Wonderful hotel, though this used to be my last choice because of the hefty tariffs. The hotel is an excellent property, and the ambience would just blow you off, for what appears to be a 4-star Hotel. The food is simply excellent, but excuse me folks as I had to avoid all meat on this trip, because of an allergy I developed. I instead wanted to taste some authentic south Indian stuff, and asked for the chef's recommendation, along with some Rice. They served me Vattha Kozhambu (pardon me), which was just too good, that I got to ask the chef the recipe.

Rooms are classic, well kept and I did get to use some seriously fast Internet.. though for the price I'd settle in for a bit more cheaper hotel around the place.. Centrally located, though the travel desk doesn't come that cheap.

Room Tip: I didn't get a great view from the room I was in. hard to comment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChennaiGrtgrand, General Manager at GRT Grand, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you for the positive feedback on Trip Advisor. I will certainly convey your sentiments to the team, who will be enthused to meet and exceed your expectations, every time you visit us.

We hope to see you soon when your travel brings you to our area.

Best Regards


Sasikumar. U
General Manager
HP: 9840964282
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NEW DELHI
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

I have stayed in GRT Grand more than once and will continue to stay for business visits within the city. The hotel is very accessible to nearby markets and business places. The look interiors of the Hotel are done tastefully and do provide a Grand look. The ground floor restaurant offers very nice food and excellent breakfast menu. The hotel has a decent lobby for business meeting.
The staff is very helpful and polite.

Room Tip: Rooms in higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChennaiGrtgrand, General Manager at GRT Grand, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you for the positive feedback on Trip Advisor. I will certainly convey your sentiments to the team, who will be enthused to meet and exceed your expectations, every time you visit us.

We hope to see you soon when your travel brings you to our area.

Best Regards


Sasikumar. U
General Manager
HP: 9840964282
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to GRT Grand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GRT Grand

Address: 120, Sir Thyagaraya Road | T.Nagar, Chennai (Madras) 600017, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai (Madras)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#14 Spa Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#20 Luxury Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#22 Business Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — GRT Grand 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
GRT Grand, the best four star accommodations in India, has on offer the best possible lodging in town. With over 133 rooms of sheer luxury, GRT Grand provides rooms for the travelling executive at most affordable rates. Coupled with facilities such as in-house conference halls, convention centers and restaurants, we offer you our complete hospitality with a specially trained crew to make sure your stay with us is surely grand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, Expedia, Agoda, Despegar.com, Orbitz and Venere so you can book your GRT Grand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grt Grand Hotel Chennai (Madras)

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage GRT Grand, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.