We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel, Supporting Staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of GRT Grand

Save Saved
You added GRT Grand to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
GRT Grand
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   120, Sir Thyagaraya Road | T.Nagar, Chennai (Madras) 600017, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 337 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Doha, Qatar
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel, Supporting Staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

I stayed there for around two nights in month of Dec. The rooms are nice with a little signs of aging in Bathroom. The Breakfast was very nice and staff found was supportive. One advice for all to book it through the websites online as booking.com or else you will have to pay a quite extra charge (around 20% more). Similar is the taxi charges almost double (in fact more than double) what you can get directly through the prepaid.
The staff was very supportive and I had to get a lock cut in my bag and they helped out even at night. The food is quite good even the North Indian is tolerable (better than any hotel in South). The Hotel doesn't look nice in their website but it's better than the pictures.
The location is nice, a market (don't remember the name) is walkable though the market was really not walkable (all pathways were full of rubbish and construction material).

Room Tip: Book in advance through some online booking sites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChennaiGrtgrand, General Manager at GRT Grand, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you for the positive feedback on Trip Advisor. I will certainly convey your sentiments to the team, who will be enthused to meet and exceed your expectations, every time you visit us.

We hope to see you soon when your travel brings you to our area.

Best Regards


Sasikumar. U
General Manager
HP: 9840964282
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    169
    56
    9
    9
See reviews for
75
39
49
232
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore, India
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

Wonderful hotel, though this used to be my last choice because of the hefty tariffs. The hotel is an excellent property, and the ambience would just blow you off, for what appears to be a 4-star Hotel. The food is simply excellent, but excuse me folks as I had to avoid all meat on this trip, because of an allergy I developed. I instead wanted to taste some authentic south Indian stuff, and asked for the chef's recommendation, along with some Rice. They served me Vattha Kozhambu (pardon me), which was just too good, that I got to ask the chef the recipe.

Rooms are classic, well kept and I did get to use some seriously fast Internet.. though for the price I'd settle in for a bit more cheaper hotel around the place.. Centrally located, though the travel desk doesn't come that cheap.

Room Tip: I didn't get a great view from the room I was in. hard to comment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChennaiGrtgrand, General Manager at GRT Grand, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you for the positive feedback on Trip Advisor. I will certainly convey your sentiments to the team, who will be enthused to meet and exceed your expectations, every time you visit us.

We hope to see you soon when your travel brings you to our area.

Best Regards


Sasikumar. U
General Manager
HP: 9840964282
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NEW DELHI
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

I have stayed in GRT Grand more than once and will continue to stay for business visits within the city. The hotel is very accessible to nearby markets and business places. The look interiors of the Hotel are done tastefully and do provide a Grand look. The ground floor restaurant offers very nice food and excellent breakfast menu. The hotel has a decent lobby for business meeting.
The staff is very helpful and polite.

Room Tip: Rooms in higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChennaiGrtgrand, General Manager at GRT Grand, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you for the positive feedback on Trip Advisor. I will certainly convey your sentiments to the team, who will be enthused to meet and exceed your expectations, every time you visit us.

We hope to see you soon when your travel brings you to our area.

Best Regards


Sasikumar. U
General Manager
HP: 9840964282
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, India
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

The hotel property is beautiful. The staff is very warm, welcoming and helpful. The room was tastefully done. The bathroom was disappointing however. The shower did not work and there was no hot water in the tap in evening. Some toiletries were missing from the bathroom. The internet was slow and the connectivity was poor. The staff at the desk tried to do his best to help us but the whole experience was very annoying. The overall experience was very disappointing and one expects better management from a luxury hotel. Thorough checks of the room and bathroom before a guest arrives and better internet experience would definitely help improve the ratings of the hotel.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChennaiGrtgrand, General Manager at GRT Grand, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you for the positive feedback on Trip Advisor. I will certainly convey your sentiments to the team, who will be enthused to meet and exceed your expectations, every time you stay with us.

I have made note of the candid feedback that you have given and would like to assure you that necessary corrections would be brought in, from our end.

We hope to see you soon when your travel brings you to our area.

Best Regards


Sasikumar. U
General Manager
HP: 9840964282
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, India
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

I stayed here for 2 nights in November for a seminar in their convention center. The seminar halls are actually good and spacious.

+'s: Clean facility, well set room, good breakfast spread, food taste, gym

^'s: staff attentiveness, managing rush

Overall the place could give more for the price charged.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChennaiGrtgrand, General Manager at GRT Grand, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you for the positive feedback on Trip Advisor. I will certainly convey your sentiments to the team, who will be enthused to meet and exceed your expectations, every time you visit us.

We hope to see you soon when your travel brings you to our area.

Best Regards


Sasikumar. U
General Manager
HP: 9840964282
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

Friendly welcome, nice and spacious room, good food specially Indian dishes, very close to the business places and shopping. Very cost effective purchase in Pondy bazar. Not very far from Airport. Outside the hotel you get taxis and auto rickshwas for local travelling

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChennaiGrtgrand, General Manager at GRT Grand, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you for the positive feedback on Trip Advisor. I will certainly convey your sentiments to the team, who will be enthused to meet and exceed your expectations, every time you visit us.

We hope to see you soon when your travel brings you to our area.

Best Regards


Sasikumar. U
General Manager
HP: 9840964282
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, Andhra Pradesh, India
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

A well maintained Hotel in busy area and good for business meetings and get togethers.
Good food and very good ambience. Excellent in service and courteous service staff.
Over all my experience is very good. We'll spread breakfast and Lunches.

Room Tip: I stayed in 5th floor room over looking the main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChennaiGrtgrand, General Manager at GRT Grand, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you for the positive feedback on Trip Advisor. I will certainly convey your sentiments to the team, who will be enthused to meet and exceed your expectations, every time you visit us.

We hope to see you soon when your travel brings you to our area.

Best Regards


Sasikumar. U
General Manager
HP: 9840964282
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to GRT Grand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GRT Grand

Address: 120, Sir Thyagaraya Road | T.Nagar, Chennai (Madras) 600017, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai (Madras)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#15 Spa Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#21 Luxury Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#21 Business Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — GRT Grand 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
GRT Grand, the best four star accommodations in India, has on offer the best possible lodging in town. With over 133 rooms of sheer luxury, GRT Grand provides rooms for the travelling executive at most affordable rates. Coupled with facilities such as in-house conference halls, convention centers and restaurants, we offer you our complete hospitality with a specially trained crew to make sure your stay with us is surely grand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, Otel, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Agoda, HotelsClick and Venere so you can book your GRT Grand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grt Grand Hotel Chennai (Madras)

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage GRT Grand, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.