We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GRT..not so Grand this time” 3 of 5 stars
Review of GRT Grand

Save Saved
You added GRT Grand to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
GRT Grand
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   120, Sir Thyagaraya Road | T.Nagar, Chennai (Madras) 600017, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 336 hotels in Chennai (Madras)
drvivekgarg
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“GRT..not so Grand this time”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Unlucky to be in GRT Grand this time. With Swimming pool and Fitness center under renovation there was hardly any Good Times are GRT. Though Hyderabadi Fete was awesome, the food in the main cafe is average. Definitely not true value for money.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChennaiGrtgrand, General Manager at GRT Grand, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you for the positive feedback on Trip Advisor. I will certainly convey your sentiments to the team, who will be enthused to meet and exceed your expectations, every time you stay with us.

I have made note of the candid feedback that you have given and would like to assure you that necessary corrections would be brought in, from our end.

We hope to see you soon when your travel brings you to our area.

Best Regards


Sasikumar. U
General Manager
HP: 9840964282
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

403 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    175
    158
    52
    9
    9
See reviews for
71
37
47
216
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hyderabad, India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

I stayed for 3 days in the hotel. Hotel has a very nice ambience, well maintained. Rooms and washrooms are spacious and well equipped. Hotel staff is gentle, warm and friendly. Breakfast had a good lot of varieties. I couldn’t taste all in three days. Room service is very prompt. Ordered for coffee at mid night and it was worth. Hotel has a good blend of restaurants for various menus. If you can pay little extra, please go for it and make your stay in Chennai great. I wish I could enjoy swimming pool also but alas, it was under renovation. No Complaints or regrets!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Hotel is in mid of city , so pretty much all rooms will have city view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChennaiGrtgrand, General Manager at GRT Grand, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you for the positive feedback on Trip Advisor. I will certainly convey your sentiments to the team, who will be enthused to meet and exceed your expectations, every time you visit us.

We hope to see you soon when your travel brings you to our area.

Best Regards


Sasikumar. U
General Manager
HP: 984096428
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

This is a very convenient place to stay in Chennai. It is in the heart of Chennai near shopping areas of T Nagar and Mount road. The service is exceptional and the staff very attentive and helpful. Since we were moving from one place to another in the city, we did'nt want our kids to wait hungry for their dinner. We requested their dinner be ready so that the kids could have it as soon as we reached the hotel room. The alert security kept an eye on our kid whenever he crept out of the room. We have been staying here for the last 15 years and it has been like a second home for us.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChennaiGrtgrand, General Manager at GRT Grand, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you for the positive feedback on Trip Advisor. I will certainly convey your sentiments to the team, who will be enthused to meet and exceed your expectations, every time you visit us.

We hope to see you soon when your travel brings you to our area.

Best Regards


Sasikumar. U
General Manager
HP: 984096428
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Gatos, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

This hotel offered our group a very comfortable conference venue. I stayed in a guest room that was immaculate and nicely decorated, with a luxurious yet simple touch. The Anytime restaurant staff as well as the front desk (specifically Pampi Deka) and the concierge - Gopi and his colleagues - were very helpful and took the extra steps needed for a foreign visitor. Gopi was even willing to go out and locate a cellular phone to purchase if I needed one.

Room Tip: The only differences I saw were that you could get better views from some rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChennaiGrtgrand, General Manager at GRT Grand, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you for the positive feedback on Trip Advisor. I will certainly convey your sentiments to the team, who will be enthused to meet and exceed your expectations, every time you visit us.

We hope to see you soon when your travel brings you to our area.

Best Regards


Sasikumar. U
General Manager
HP: 984096428
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

My mum stayed at this hotel three days before we arrived being a fairly inexperienced, timid travellor they took great care of her needs and helped her out when they could. It was a lovely place to stay rooms clean with all the little extras making cute little animals with towels on our beds and little chocolates. We also had to add an extra bed to our room which they happily did. Breakfast was good aswell.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChennaiGrtgrand, General Manager at GRT Grand, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you for the positive feedback on Trip Advisor. I will certainly convey your sentiments to the team, who will be enthused to meet and exceed your expectations, every time you visit us.

We hope to see you soon when your travel brings you to our area.

Best Regards


Sasikumar. U
General Manager
HP: 984096428
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon, India
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

The hotel rooms are spacious, clean and well maintained. It has a grand lobby and attentive staff who provide service with smile. The buffet breakfast and dinner have a very wide spread, however, the restraunt is too small to take all the crowd ;which sometime affects its service.too. The amenities provided are good and complimetary laundry is a bonus.

Room Tip: Higher the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChennaiGrtgrand, General Manager at GRT Grand, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you for the positive feedback on Trip Advisor. I will certainly convey your sentiments to the team, who will be enthused to meet and exceed your expectations, every time you visit us.

We hope to see you soon when your travel brings you to our area.

Best Regards


Sasikumar. U
General Manager
HP: 984096428
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for 5 nights and had a great time great location good room service really good food and breakfast and security is huge metel detectors and security on every second level very clean and would stay there again

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChennaiGrtgrand, General Manager at GRT Grand, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you for the positive feedback on Trip Advisor. I will certainly convey your sentiments to the team, who will be enthused to meet and exceed your expectations, every time you visit us.

We hope to see you soon when your travel brings you to our area.

Best Regards


Sasikumar. U
General Manager
HP: 984096428
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to GRT Grand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GRT Grand

Address: 120, Sir Thyagaraya Road | T.Nagar, Chennai (Madras) 600017, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai (Madras)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#14 Family Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#20 Luxury Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#22 Business Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — GRT Grand 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
GRT Grand, the best four star accommodations in India, has on offer the best possible lodging in town. With over 133 rooms of sheer luxury, GRT Grand provides rooms for the travelling executive at most affordable rates. Coupled with facilities such as in-house conference halls, convention centers and restaurants, we offer you our complete hospitality with a specially trained crew to make sure your stay with us is surely grand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, Agoda, Expedia and Venere so you can book your GRT Grand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grt Grand Hotel Chennai (Madras)

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage GRT Grand, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.