We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GRT Grand, T Nagar, Chennai: All that glitters is not gold” 3 of 5 stars
Review of GRT Grand

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added GRT Grand to your Saves list
GRT Grand
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   120, Sir Thyagaraya Road | T.Nagar, Chennai (Madras) 600017, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 337 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Roorkee, India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“GRT Grand, T Nagar, Chennai: All that glitters is not gold”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2011

The Elevation of the Hotel is really Palatial. The reception is lighted very well. I was accompanying my colleague from Canada. I told the receptionist that we expect a bery good hospitality as I am reviewer of Trip Advisor ( I made that very specific ). He was given room 605 and I was given Room 619. When I entered my room, I immediately smelt smoke and realsied it was a SMOKING room. I wondered why when this was never mentioned during check-in why should I get a SMOKING ROOM. So I called the Front Desk and told them that I am an Asthamatic and showed them my Inhaler. I was then given a room 606 and lo and behold outside on the doors of 605 and 606 was the plate NON-SMOKING. So what am I saying : Inspite of my comment about Trip Reviewer, the Front Desk had the cheek of throwing me in a Smoking Room and my canadian colleague was escorted to a Non-Smoking room. So travelers from the West should expect a much better hospitality but I cannot assure the same to my own country men.
The Wi-Fi is free, which is very good. The free Breakfast too was good and lots of choices. Good hot Breakfast.
The Bed was just Sleepable but I cannot call it cozy.
The TV was , what should I say, 13 years old . I happened to ask the Front Desk and they told me the Hotel is 13 years old and so was the CRT type TV.
We checked in after midnight and this is the only Hotel who served me very good Hot and Soft Idlis for In-Room Dining. The Sambhar was v tasty though a little cold. There was a good chutney but not the standard coconut chutney. The Tea Sachets were of Premium Quality. There was a free 1 liter Bottled water which is appreciated.
The Carpet too was 13 years old.
The room really does not look like a 4 Star Hotel. I asked the Bell Boy and he said it was a 4 Star Hotel but the room and Bathroom appears 2 Star. I looked for a Hair Dryer but could not find one. The towels were clean but not bright white.
The morning alarm via the Phone was funny. The phone could hardly ring. Much better phone sets are available quite cheap now.
The Hotel glitters from outside like gold but inside the rooms it looks bronze.
It seems to be quite a safe place.

Room Tip: Ask specifically for a NON SMOKING room if you do not smoke
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChennaiGrtgrand, General Manager at GRT Grand, responded to this review, December 22, 2011
Dear Sir,

Thank you for the positive feedback on Trip Advisor. I will certainly convey your sentiments to the team, who will be enthused to meet and exceed your expectations, every time you stay with us.

I have made note of the candid feedback that you have given and would like to assure you that necessary corrections would be brought in, from our end.

We hope to see you soon when your travel brings you to our area.

Best Regards


Sasikumar. U
General Manager
HP: 9840964282
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    172
    58
    9
    10
See reviews for
77
39
51
240
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
trichirappalli
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2011

I stayed two days from 9.12.2012 to 10.12.2012 in GRT grand hotel which is in T.Nagar chennai, which is in themidst of commercial and business center and very near to the famous MOUNT ROAD. Very good welcome at the reception and the time taken is lesser than any other hotel. The rooms are spacious , very neeat and clean with TV, cable connection, VCR etc., Bath room is very neat and all the items/bath kid are given free. The restaurant is so nice and you get all type of foood and the hospitality is excellent.

Room Tip: All rooms are good. Upper floors can be prefered to have city look through windows
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChennaiGrtgrand, General Manager at GRT Grand, responded to this review, December 22, 2011
Dear Sir,

Thank you for the positive feedback on Trip Advisor. I will certainly convey your sentiments to the team, who will be enthused to meet and exceed your expectations, every time you stay with us.

We hope to see you soon when your travel brings you to our area.

Best Regards

SASIKUMAR. U.
GENERAL MANAGER
HP: 9840964282
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2011

Right from the beginning the overall services is excellent... Hope ll except the same in the future also... Previously i had bad experience in terms of services during my last visit in GRT in the month of March-2011. But now i feel very much comfortable with the services and because of this i, myself block the room for my upcoming trip to here... Please maintain the same in the future also....

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChennaiGrtgrand, General Manager at GRT Grand, responded to this review, December 22, 2011
Dear sir,

Thank you for the positive feedback on Trip Advisor. I will certainly convey your sentiments to the team, who will be enthused to meet and exceed your expectations, every time you stay with us.

We hope to see you soon when your travel brings you to our area.

Best Regards

SASIKUMAR. U.
GENERAL MANAGER
HP: 9840964282
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai, Tamil Nadu, India
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011

i had gone for a friends marriage party there, the halls we so nice with perfect ambiance of light and a/c, the bed rooms which we stayed in where amazingly nice and as good as new, there south indian food is a 5 star deservant

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChennaiGrtgrand, General Manager at GRT Grand, responded to this review, December 22, 2011
Dear Sir,

Thank you for the positive feedback on Trip Advisor. I will certainly convey your sentiments to the team, who will be enthused to meet and exceed your expectations, every time you stay with us.

I have made note of the candid feedback that you have given and would like to assure you that necessary corrections would be brought in, from our end.

We hope to see you soon when your travel brings you to our area.

Best Regards


Sasikumar. U
General Manager
HP: 9840964282
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cochin
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2011

i have been there only once, but i am very much impressed by service of the staff in the hotel they were very helpful especially in coffe shop i treated very nicely but one main thing i would like to say is about the health club and the pool i think it is the most unimpressive part of hotel .pool is so dirty and not looking good and should have more staff in health club apart from that it is a fine hotel for a comfort stay

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChennaiGrtgrand, General Manager at GRT Grand, responded to this review, December 10, 2011
Dear Sir,

Thank you for the positive feedback on Trip Advisor. I will certainly convey your sentiments to the team, who will be enthused to meet and exceed your expectations, every time you stay with us.

I have made note of the candid feedback that you have given and would like to assure you that necessary corrections would be brought in, from our end.

We hope to see you soon when your travel brings you to our area.

Best Regards


Sasikumar. U
General Manager
HP: 9840964282
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qatar
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

This is a best hotel in chennai, great location. we were a little disappointed with the food , ( include buffet break fast, they have varity of food , but some of the food was not up to the mark) will definitly come back

Jayaraman. s , Oman, MUSCAT

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChennaiGrtgrand, General Manager at GRT Grand, responded to this review, November 30, 2011
Dear Sir,

Thank you for the positive feedback on Trip Advisor. I will certainly convey your sentiments to the team, who will be enthused to meet and exceed your expectations, every time you stay with us.

I have made note of the candid feedback that you have given and would like to assure you that necessary corrections would be brought in, from our end.

We hope to see you soon when your travel brings you to our area.

Best Regards


Sasikumar. U
General Manager
HP: 9840964282
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, null, Singapore
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

It was an extremely pleasant stay at GRT Grand during my recent business trip.. The hotel was safe and the security was good... The staff were very friendly and extremely helpful to provide any support or guidance when required. I was pleased with the care and concern shown to us right from the doorman to the servers, the officers at front desk to the duty managers and managers.

In short, it is a good place to stay both for short trips and for a long trip too.

Although in the centre of the city, it is still quite and peaceful to stay at this place..

Its worth a try...

Room Tip: Check for the extra services that is given as complimentary...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChennaiGrtgrand, General Manager at GRT Grand, responded to this review, November 30, 2011
Dear Madam,

Thank you for the positive feedback on Trip Advisor. I will certainly convey your sentiments to the team, who will be enthused to meet and exceed your expectations, every time you stay with us.

We hope to see you soon when your travel brings you to our area.

Best Regards

SASIKUMAR. U.
GENERAL MANAGER
HP: 9840964282
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to GRT Grand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GRT Grand

Address: 120, Sir Thyagaraya Road | T.Nagar, Chennai (Madras) 600017, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai (Madras)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#16 Spa Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#21 Luxury Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#22 Business Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — GRT Grand 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
GRT Grand, the best four star accommodations in India, has on offer the best possible lodging in town. With over 133 rooms of sheer luxury, GRT Grand provides rooms for the travelling executive at most affordable rates. Coupled with facilities such as in-house conference halls, convention centers and restaurants, we offer you our complete hospitality with a specially trained crew to make sure your stay with us is surely grand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Otel, Odigeo, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your GRT Grand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grt Grand Hotel Chennai (Madras)

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage GRT Grand, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.