We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best mattress and coffee we had in India” 5 of 5 stars
Review of GRT Grand

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added GRT Grand to your Saves list
GRT Grand
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   120, Sir Thyagaraya Road | T.Nagar, Chennai (Madras) 600017, India   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Grand Banquets Super Deal
Ranked #23 of 351 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Best mattress and coffee we had in India”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

The hotel is everything you would expect at this price range. They had proper firm double mattress and good quality pillows. The air-conditioning was very quiet and efficient (unlike other places we had stayed in India). The staff from the front desk, restaurant to the concierge were friendly and efficient. May be the only negative is that the food in the restaurant are quite expensive, similar price to some of the restaurants in London. Then again again, the restaurant was packed and no one was seemed to be bothered about the price. I finally managed to get proper filter coffee in about a week in India. It is quite astonishing that despite being a coffee growing country, it is quite hard to get proper coffee in India. You have to settle for instant coffee at most places.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChennaiGrtgrand, General Manager at GRT Grand, responded to this review, September 16, 2011
Dear Sir,

Thank you for the positive feedback on Trip Advisor. I will certainly convey your sentiments to the team, who will be enthused to meet and exceed your expectations, every time you stay with us.

We hope to see you soon when your travel brings you to our area.

Best Regards

SASIKUMAR. U.
GENERAL MANAGER
HP: 9840964282
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

566 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2011

The GRT Grand was my first stay in my 5 week travels through India. My plane landed in Chennai and I spent 4 nights here adjusting until my next city. The hotel staff were kind and courteous. They all knew my name and went out of their way to make me feel welcome. I never felt odd being a single western woman here, they made me feel safe and welcome. I used the gym and ate in the restaurants. The food is excellent and gym was good. I also used a hotel driver for the day who was kind and took good care of me taking me on tours. The room was excellent. I was on the top floor, 9, and every comfort you need is in the room. Free bottled water, free wifi, and free breakfast and airport transfers made the stay perfect.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aschulze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChennaiGrtgrand, General Manager at GRT Grand, responded to this review, August 17, 2011
Dear Madam,

Thank you for the positive feedback on Trip Advisor. I will certainly convey your sentiments to the team, who will be enthused to meet and exceed your expectations, every time you stay with us.

We hope to see you soon when your travel brings you to our area.

Best Regards

SASIKUMAR. U.
GENERAL MANAGER
HP: 9840964282
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011

Hotel provides european level of service as well as sleep quality, but for european prices )) Anyway the hotel is clean, well secured, water is clean, service is very good - everyday I got my complimentary chocs and newspapers. Breakfast consists mostly of local cuisine, however some neutral food like fruits and bacon/ham is also provided. Sauna and fitness facility is really good. But they need to wash windows in rooms for sure.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MikePlatonov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChennaiGrtgrand, General Manager at GRT Grand, responded to this review, August 8, 2011
Dear Sir,

Thank you for the positive feedback on Trip Advisor. I will certainly convey your sentiments to the team, who will be enthused to meet and exceed your expectations, every time you stay with us.

I have made note of the candid feedback that you have given and would like to assure you that necessary corrections would be brought in, from our end.

We hope to see you soon when your travel brings you to our area.

Best Regards


Sasikumar. U
General Manager
HP: 9840964282
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2011

It is centrally located.
The breakfast has wide spread of selection.
Good gym.

Room Tip: I prefer the rooms with Foot Messager
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SudiptoBangalore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChennaiGrtgrand, General Manager at GRT Grand, responded to this review, August 8, 2011
Dear Sir,

Thank you for the positive feedback on Trip Advisor. I will certainly convey your sentiments to the team, who will be enthused to meet and exceed your expectations, every time you stay with us.

We hope to see you soon when your travel brings you to our area.

Best Regards

SASIKUMAR. U.
GENERAL MANAGER
HP: 9840964282
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

GRT Grand is located in the heart of Chennai city easily accessible from both airport and the railway station. The rooms are good but a tad old and needs a bit of redoing. the food in both Copper Point and Azulia is good and is expensive for a meal. The quality of the food though is average and the service good.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NSivaShankaran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChennaiGrtgrand, General Manager at GRT Grand, responded to this review, August 2, 2011
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011

GRT Grand is a symbol of professionalism and hospitality. I feel comfortable staying at this hotel due to its location. GRTs staffs are good and takes care of very minute details to make the stay a comfortable one. I like the good collection of select short films you provide. The gym and swimming pool is also good.

Thanks for making my stay a memorable one, each time.. :)

Room Tip: Nice Business Stay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JenyKoshy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChennaiGrtgrand, General Manager at GRT Grand, responded to this review, August 2, 2011
Dear Sir,

Thank you for the positive feedback on Trip Advisor. I will certainly convey your sentiments to the team, who will be enthused to meet and exceed your expectations, every time you stay with us.

We hope to see you soon when your travel brings you to our area.

Best Regards

SASIKUMAR. U.
GENERAL MANAGER
HP: 9840964282
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

I stayed in this hotel several times, it location is in T -Nagar, the central area. Hotel has incredible architecture, it reminds me those hotels of San Francisco. Rooms are very nice and spacious, other facilities like Spa, Gym everything is nice. Specially the pool area is very calm n beautiful. The food is also amazing, it has a Turkish restaurant on 2nd floor, which offers amazing music and food. The lobby area gives you the pleasant feeling. The hotel staff is very nice and efficient. I would love to visit here again and again.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yashwinder_80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChennaiGrtgrand, General Manager at GRT Grand, responded to this review, July 27, 2011
Dear Sir,

Thank you for the positive feedback on Trip Advisor. I will certainly convey your sentiments to the team, who will be enthused to meet and exceed your expectations, every time you stay with us.

We hope to see you soon when your travel brings you to our area.

Best Regards

SASIKUMAR. U.
GENERAL MANAGER
HP: 9840964282
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chennai (Madras) hotels
Nungambakkam
The Accord Metropolitan
The Accord Metropolitan
#31 of 351 in Chennai (Madras)
4.0 of 5 stars 665 reviews
Alwarpet South
The Raintree Hotel - Anna Salai
The Raintree Hotel - Anna Salai
#12 of 351 in Chennai (Madras)
4.5 of 5 stars 830 reviews
Thyagaraya Nagar
The Residency Towers
The Residency Towers
#27 of 351 in Chennai (Madras)
4.0 of 5 stars 610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Savera Hotel
#53 of 351 in Chennai (Madras)
3.5 of 5 stars 758 reviews
The Leela Palace Chennai
#1 of 351 in Chennai (Madras)
4.5 of 5 stars 708 reviews
The Park Chennai
#100 of 351 in Chennai (Madras)
3.5 of 5 stars 1,040 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GRT Grand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GRT Grand

Address: 120, Sir Thyagaraya Road | T.Nagar, Chennai (Madras) 600017, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai (Madras)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#14 Spa Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#18 Luxury Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#22 Business Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — GRT Grand 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
GRT Grand, the best four star accommodations in India, has on offer the best possible lodging in town. With over 133 rooms of sheer luxury, GRT Grand provides rooms for the travelling executive at most affordable rates. Coupled with facilities such as in-house conference halls, convention centers and restaurants, we offer you our complete hospitality with a specially trained crew to make sure your stay with us is surely grand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotel.de, Agoda, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your GRT Grand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grt Grand Hotel Chennai (Madras)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing