We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the finest Hotel in Fortune chain” 4 of 5 stars
Review of My Fortune, Chennai

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added My Fortune, Chennai to your Saves list
My Fortune, Chennai
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Cathedral Road, Chennai (Madras) 600086, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 338 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Ghaziabad, India
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“One of the finest Hotel in Fortune chain”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

The overall ambience and treatment of the property is very upscale & can be compared to any 4-start property.
Also, this has to be one of the best properties with 'Fortune' chain of hotels. The food was good, I was upgraded to superior room both the times, so even the rooms were Great! I can say.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    97
    34
    9
    8
See reviews for
23
10
36
163
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

This is a very nice business hotel with good amenities. Situated in a good location in Chennai. Room, Service, cleanliness are aprreciable. Breakfast is very good. The hospitality is awesome. This is highly recommended for any business trip.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

The hotel looks grand but the sanitation is very old. The faucets and the shower is leaky. The toilet flush also does not work properly. The elevator has an access card system that does not work and mostly guests need assistance from the staff to make it work. The food is good and the restaurant has the right ambience. The staff is also cordial and helpful. There is a lot of external noise from the road below, so choose rooms of the other side.

Room Tip: There is a lot of external noise from the road below, so choose rooms of the other side, away from t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
My Fortune C, General Manager at My Fortune, Chennai, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
11th July 2013

Greetings from Chennai!

At the outset I would like to thank you for choosing to stay at our Hotel on your last visit to Chennai!

Thank you, more so, for taking the time to review our property. We truly value the opinions of our Guests and we apologize that we came short of your expectations.

We have addressed the issues listed in your review and would like to keep you informed that while immediate corrective action has been initiated we have also included the points mentioned by you in our proposed upgradation plan pf the Property.

We would like to assure you that our prime endeavor is to ensure Guests are comfortable and feel looked after.

We hope to see you again on your next visit to Chennai and assure you that we will make that extra effort to ensure you are satisfied with the room allocated to you. I look forward to meeting you in person.

Wishing you the very best!

Best Regards,

Ram Misra
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Stayed here for a night, and was pleasantly surprised to get an upgrade to a suite. Definitely that's created quite an impression for my first stay here.
Am told this was the old Chola Sheraton, but after ITC set up the Grand Chola, this property was downgraded to a My Fortune. This property deserves a lot better than that, in my opinion It is certainly a lot better than a Fortune!
The suite itself was quite spacious and nice, though the bath fitting were a bit old. The bed itself was quite comfortable.
Had a buffet dinner here, which had an exciting spread of all kinds of cuisines. Particularly like the starters - kebabs. Succulent, tender and fresh!
Certainly would visit again

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

.....we try to make the mistakes ones,staying in this hotel for me only one time happened and I will never stay in this hotel again...they call themselves 5 stars and I call them 3 stars...they will not change your dirty pillow even you put a sign on that you request to be changed, no towels in the bathroom for the floors, broken glasses on the breakfast table, they will serve around with broken trays, swimming pool is very dirty, poor breakfast menu, no proffesionalism , does not know how to deal with guest but money....and old fashion....and rooms are smelling old....very bad renovation (if they call themsrelves eveything renavated)....and many more....you just won't be happy ...while there are many hotels in Chennai do not make a mistake and choose this one!!! Any more detail you want to know please ask before you make a mistake.....

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
My Fortune C, General Manager at My Fortune, Chennai, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Chennai!

At the outset I would like to thank you for choosing to stay at our Hotel on your last visit to Chennai!

Thank you, more so, for taking the time to review our property. We truly value the opinions of our Guests and we apologize that we did not meet your expectations.

Providing our Guests with the best possible hospitality and service has always been our endeavor & mission. We have addressed the issues listed in your review and all concerned Departmental Heads, Supervisors and Staff in question have been spoken to with suitable corrective action being initiated since.

We want you to know that we truly enjoy sharing our passion for our Hotel with our Guests and want you to be comfortable and feel looked after such that you carry pleasant memories.

We hope to see you again in the future and assure you that we will make that extra effort. I look forward to meeting you in person too.

Wishing you the very best!

Best Regards,


Ram Misra
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

it was a great experience to stay in this hotel. we were upgraded to the suite and got a welcome from the house keeping team.beautiful tray decorated with chocolate and fruits, well maintained room and e very warm welcome touched me. it was awesome

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

It used to be known as Chola Sheraton and I had dined couple of times at the Peshawri restaurant which used to be located here. I had no complaint then. Now Peshawri has shifted out and the hotel has been downgraded to a "My Fortune"brand by ITC. And rightly so !
Its certainly has lost its lustre and looks tired.

Few days back I met a friend of mine, late afternoon, at their coffee shop, My Cafe (I certainly would hesitate to call it anything but "mine"!). To begin with, it looks tired and no where like any star hotel coffee shop. However most often restaurants take years to get renovated and hence the management then makes up for its lack of ambience by service and food. However, My Fortune fails in both these aspects.

It was late afternoon and we opt to order for a veg pizza, with an addition of "spanish paprika". My friend order a fresh lime and I ask for a chamomile tea, with a request that the tea be served along with the pizza (not before or after). Having waited for a while, the order taker informs us that our pizza is almost ready but he wants to reconfirm whether we had asked for a pork pizza!! We told him no, we had ordered for a vegetarian pizza with an additional topping of "spanish paprika". To our utter shock and disbelief, we are then informed that spanish paprika is a type of pork salami! Since when??
And then the person, think his name was Ranjeeth (dont remember exactly though) tells us to enjoy a complimentary plate of salad till he makes things as per our order! After the pizza arrives, we ask him to show us a packet of this so called pork salami which is nowadays known as "spanish paprika", to which he says no, we were right its only a paprika.
The pizza was nothing great and neither was the insipid salad!
I has asked for the tea to be served along with the pizza, well, it was not...... we had to remind him after we were half way through the meal for the tea and it finally arrived after we had finished eating!
Dont think it deserves being a star hotel, that too under the ITC umbrella.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to My Fortune, Chennai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about My Fortune, Chennai

Address: Cathedral Road, Chennai (Madras) 600086, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai (Madras)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Family Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#31 Luxury Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#32 Business Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — My Fortune, Chennai 4.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your My Fortune, Chennai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
My Fortune, Chennai Hotel Chennai (Madras)
Chola Chennai
Chennai Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage My Fortune, Chennai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.