We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Frequent customer of The Park Chennai” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Park Chennai

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Park Chennai to your Saves list
The Park Chennai
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   601, Anna Salai, Chennai (Madras) 600006, India   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
My Visa Package
Ranked #57 of 338 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
1 review
“Frequent customer of The Park Chennai”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

I stay in the park chennai atleast twice a week. The best part of the hotel is the roof top pool and the lobby. Sunday brunch is truely amazing there. The restaurent manager Mr. Suraj is extreme humble and have high quality of customer service skills and he goes out of his way to deliver them.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheParkChennai, General Manager at The Park Chennai, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings !

Thank you for your generous comments on our spaces, food & our staff. We are very happy to know that we succeeded in delivering a great experience to you during your recent stay with us. Thank you so much for your patronage and we look forward to seeing you soon at The Park Chennai.

Regards,

Siraj Mukherjee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

730 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    254
    194
    140
    77
    65
See reviews for
79
69
92
399
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Goa, India
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

I have stayed at the Park, Chennai in September with family. It was a holiday trip and thought to have a stay at this hotel as I got a good deal online.
The check in was smooth and they upgraded the room. However as it is mentioned as a 5 star property, the rooms are not up to the standard of a 5 star property, it needs big time renovation. The wooden floors were chipped at several places, all the furniture looked very old ..I did not feel like I was staying at a 5 star property at all.
The bathroom fittings were worn off completely however I enjoyed the water pressure of the shower... the entire property needs a renovation to keep up the name.
Service was very slow..many a times the phone extensions were not working. Enjoyed the breakfast in the morning, the service was good out there..
Would say RENOVATION time now for the hotel...

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheParkChennai, General Manager at The Park Chennai, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings !

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback. We regret your disappointing experience during your recent stay with us during your holiday. We are looking in to all the points mentioned in your review in detail. Please accept our sincere apologies for the discomfort you faced with regard to the upkeep of the room. As the telephone lines were down, our Engineering team was working towards fixing the problem, although we do regret that you were not informed of the same. We are happy to read that you enjoyed the breakfast spread & service at our award winning restaurant, 601.

We do hope you give us another chance to ensure you have a great stay with us during your next visit to Chennai.

Regards,

Siraj Mukherjee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

I stayed in park last month while appearing for my visa interview. Though overall the hotel looks good but due to the fact it is converted to hotel from some other place it still contains some loose ends. Room walls and bathrooms rooms are not so properly finished even the overall size of the bathroom looks a little bit smaller.

Food wise breakfast was quite good and again the drinks area was too small.

Room service was again a little bit disappointing since i have to remind them twice before they turn in with my oder.

Check in and checkout both took quite a time with only two person managing that , i definitely believe if they can have two more people it would make things move quicker.

Location wise its excellent if you came for USA visa interview since the US embassy is walkable.

So there is a lot to improve but still I had a decent stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheParkChennai, General Manager at The Park Chennai, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings !

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience during your stay. Your feedback is important to us and we have taken note of all the points mentioned in your review. We regret your disappointing experience and the lapses you faced with regard to the room & room service. We are sorry that your check in & check out was delayed; we will definitely look into the matter.

We do hope you visit us once again during your next visit to Chennai & give us another opportunity to serve you better.

Regards,

Siraj Mukherjee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

I stayed in Park Chennai from 14th to the 16th of September 2013. I was alloted room number 3011 and the room had a horrible stench. I called up the front desk and requested for room change and they got the house keeping staff to meet me. I also showed him blisters on the walls of the bathroom and the stains. The house keeping staff was sincere and candidly told me all rooms are alike and i would get the same stench in any room. He however said he would go get some room freshner. After waiting for half hour, i called the house keeping again and the person said he was still trying to find a room freshner. The house keeping staff did not show up at all after that.

I had complimentary wi-fi usage but the speed was rather poor. The only positive about the hotel is the breakfast spread. It had a good mix of continental and Indian dishes.

The spa is usually packed and i could not get a booking. If you are staying there for a few days you may book spa well in advance.

I would stay in this hotel only if you have no choice and/or looking at going to US embassy which is walkable distance from the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheParkChennai, General Manager at The Park Chennai, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings !

We regret your disappointing experience during your recent stay with us. Your opinion of our hotel is indeed important to us & we will definitely look into the matter. At the outset, please accept our most sincere apologies for the discomfort you experienced due to the smell in the room. We are sorry that the House Keeping staff had conveyed a wrong impression on the rest of the rooms instead of offering to change your room. We have Wi-fi with a speed of 8 mbps in our rooms & public spaces. However, we are sorry for the technical problems you faced in the connectivity. This rarely ever happens.

Please view our lapses with a small degree of tolerance and do allow us a chance to receive you at The Park Chennai for a great stay next time.

Regards,

Siraj Mukherjee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

the Park staff were pretty friendly, decent service was provided.
i had a good stay. breakfast options could have been better.
the room was quite small and slightly overpriced from the comfort point of view.
passport office is extremely close by so we could just walk down from The Park.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheParkChennai, General Manager at The Park Chennai, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings !

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor. It was indeed a pleasure to have you stay with us & we are delighted to read that you a comfortable stay with us. Our hotel rooms sizes conform to 5 star deluxe standards, sorry you found the space restrictive. We will definitely take into account your comments on our breakfast. On request we have several breakfast items available, apart from the buffet spread which you could order from during your stay with us next. We hope to see you soon at The Park Chennai.

Regards,

Lemuel Herbert
Associate Vice President and Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

The Park is quite a lively property - that was the first impression I got when when I checked in at the lobby. With light soothing music playing, the lobby had a welcoming feel to it.
The room was pretty spacious, though I felt the furnishings could be a little more upscale.
The dinner buffet at the 24-hour dining restaurant 601 was pretty yummy with a decent choice of cuisines. I chose pasta besides salads and the pasta was awesome.
The live band at 601 was a definite plus, a great mood uplifter! My thanks to them for making my evening!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheParkChennai, General Manager at The Park Chennai, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings !

Thank you so much for your gracious comments on your experience at The Park Chennai during your recent stay with us. We are thrilled to read that you had a comfortable stay and that you enjoyed dining at our award winning restaurant, 601. We are glad that you found our rooms spacious although we have taken note of your feedback with regard to the furnishing in the room and will definitely look into the matter.
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel in detail and for penning down your comments on the ambiance & on your dining experience. We look forward to seeing you soon at The Park Chennai. It was indeed a pleasure to have you stay with us.

Regards,

Lemuel Herbert
Associate Vice President and Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

This property is located in the heart of chennai - Nungambakkam area. I was here for a business trip in the month of october 2012. The staff is warm and friendly with earings and coloured hair. Aqua, the bar by the poolside is a beautiful place to have a drink in the evenings. Also the Thai restaurant has authentic Thai food which is highly recommended. The Staff was very helpful in arranging a small tour for us on weekend to pondicherry. The Location is just right if you do not mind the hustle bustle of the city. The rooms may be slightly expensive, but it is worth the price

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheParkChennai, General Manager at The Park Chennai, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings!

Thank you so much for your strong recommendation of our award winning restaurants & bars. It is extremely encouraging & my team was thrilled to read that you had a comfortable stay with us and that you found our staff helpful. We trust that your tour to Pondicherry was well organised & that you had a fun-filled weekend!

We look forward to seeing you soon at The Park Chennai.

Regards,

Lemuel Herbert
Associate Vice President and Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Park Chennai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Park Chennai

Address: 601, Anna Salai, Chennai (Madras) 600006, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai (Madras)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Spa Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#35 Luxury Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Park Chennai 4.5*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Park Chennai is in the heart of the city’s vibrant business district. The hotel’s decor is influenced by the very foundation it stands on – the former premises of Gemini Film Studios, renowned for producing some of the most influential heroes and heroines the country has known. The dining and bar facilities at this hotel are amongst the best that the city offers. Six-O-One, the hotel’s 24 hour offers a mix of Indian and International cuisine while the Leather bar and Pasha are perfect options for elite party-goers. The cutting edge technology features coupled with world-class service standards make this hotel a perfect destination for both business and leisure travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Park Chennai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Park Chennai Hotel Chennai (Madras)
The Park Hotels Chennai
The Park Hotel Chennai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Park Chennai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.