We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the price...at all!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Park Chennai

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Park Chennai to your Saves list
The Park Chennai
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   601, Anna Salai, Chennai (Madras) 600006, India   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
My Visa Package
Ranked #57 of 338 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Not worth the price...at all!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

I stayed there for two days and I must say that I was turned down in most of the aspect. The look of the hotel is good and almost that's it! Nothing else is impressive. They seem to be lacking some of the common sense, when it comes to service. Nothing more to write!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheParkChennai, General Manager at The Park Chennai, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Your feedback is valuable to us. Thank you for taking time out to share your feedback. We will surely look into this. But we do wish you would visit The Park once again & give us an opportunity to charm you by our spaces, events & food.

Regards,

Lemuel Herbert
Associate Vice President | Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

731 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    254
    194
    141
    77
    65
See reviews for
79
70
92
399
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chennai (Madras), India
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

The property can be chosen only due to its proximity to city center and if one has work at US embassy.


the hotel has no grand amenities, interiors were dull and the rooms seem to be very old.

Services were not upto expectations and in no way the hotel seems to be matching to a 5 start standard. food was not great, rooms lack amenities, bed stinking.

i suggest Hyatt or raintree anna sali or even savera mylapore as better alternatives.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheParkChennai, General Manager at The Park Chennai, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Your feedback is important to us. We are at a loss over your impression of our hotel. Nevertheless, we have taken to task all concerned over the various lapses.

Regards,

Lemuel Herbert
Associate Vice President | Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maldives
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

The Park Hotel is outdated, not that clean and inefficient in design. I did not get the impression that the staff are committed or happy to be working at The Park. Some are poorly presented, do not smile and lack attention to detail. The breakfast buffet is average and all of the pastries, muffins and cakes are dry. For the same price you can stay in another excellent hotel in Chennai.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheParkChennai, General Manager at The Park Chennai, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for your feedback. We are taking all measures to fill in the gaps you experienced in the product & services.

Regards,

Lemuel Herbert
Associate Vice President | Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, India
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

The only reason that everyone stays here is that this hotel is next to US Embassy.

Check the pictures posted by visitors on tripadvisor. They dont really lie.

Hotel internet is really bad; keep disconnecting and at 900 rupees for 24hrs: really expensive.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheParkChennai, General Manager at The Park Chennai, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

We do wish you had an experience like many of our other guests who have posted wonderful feedback on their stays with The Park. We do have free wi-fi in all our public spaces. However, sorry for the technical glitches in the connectivity. This rarely ever happens.

Regards,

Lemuel Herbert
Associate Vice President | Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

We stayed here with our 1 year old.

It was pretty bad experience from the beginning.

1. When we went to check out the person at the reception looked hardly interested and lobby layout was odd with sofas and chairs hidden well away, so that when you are coming in the midnight with a kid you won't find a place to sit without solving a puzzle.
The person at the reception could have pointed to the chairs but he was hardly interested in check-out let alone all those niceties. He also told us that only continental breakfast is available at the buffet [actually other kinds are available it later turned out].
Also there was no luggage cart and only a bell-boy, so I had to carry half of the heavy bags after tiring journey. In any case even he was only half-interested in carrying them.
Also the security check in front of the hotel is big irritant particularly when you are coming in very tired, as if I am going to catch an airplane or something.
The entry doors are heavy and they won't open automatically. So you have to dance around hard to open those doors with your heavy bags in your hands [which of course bell-boy didn't want to carry]

2. When we went to the room, the movie posters inside were a big turn-off [there is one in toilet for good measure]. We had to stare at that horrible thing the whole day and night.
Room also looked very cramped [particularly for the price - we paid close to 18000 Rs. for 2 days]. The view from the room will make you close the curtains immediately.
BTW, there is no ironing board or iron box.
The table is also very small. Bed is relatively small as well.

3. Of course, it is very expensive. The room was smaller than the one I had in seashell, Chennai.

4. The service is bad. I had to ask so many times for an hour just for some sugar [they could have called me if I had a don't disturb card to ask what to do]! Also the person at room service said [for the coffee they delivered] that I had to ask house-keeping for sugar! That's very good service! In 2 days am I supposed to figure out there org-chart and what not?

5. Food is very expensive [starting with 300 Rs. for a coffee] so we had to eat out pretty much for whole of our stay.

Some pros:
1. It is very close to US embassy. One of the reasons we chose this. But there are much better [in terms of cost/quality ratio] hotels within a km.
2. Breakfast was actually good with live dosa counter and idli.

This is a place I won't want to stay again particularly with kids unless I am forced to!

Room Tip: Avoid the room looking at the back side of the hotel - it is just a horrible view and you wouldn'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheParkChennai, General Manager at The Park Chennai, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

We apologize for your unhappy stay at The Park. Your feedback is important to us & we have taken this up internally. We do hope you visit us once again & give us another opportunity to serve you better. We sincerely express our regrets.

Regards
Lemuel Herbert
Associate Vice President | Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon, India
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

What a hotel ... very nicely done .... very classy room ... the bar ... the breakfast and sunday brunch are too good ... value for money .... and a wonderful pool .... nice friendly and warm staff .... nice place to hangout any time of day and night ..... very nice posters across the hotel

Room Tip: higher floors are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheParkChennai, General Manager at The Park Chennai, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
We are absolutely delighted at your generous compliments on our hotel and that you had a great time in many ways. Thank you also for sharing this for others to see. We do hope your future stays will be as pleasurable. Please do contact me directly at lherbert@theparkhotels.com in case I can be of any further help.

Regards
Lemuel Herbert
Associate Vice President | Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ko Samui, Thailand
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

The Park in Chennai is the worst, most over-priced hotel I have ever stayed in. I stayed there on Saturday 5th January and I hated it. It plays ridiculously loud music in the lobby where there is a bar and you can hear this music while you are in your room at night. It is very, very dated. It was probably cool once but isn't anymore. Don't waste your money! The nicest hotel in Chennai is the Hilton. Stay there instead, the rooms are so much nicer and the hotel is much more modern and stylish.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheParkChennai, General Manager at The Park Chennai, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
We apologize for the disturbance caused to you by the Leather Bar music at the lobby level. Please do allow us to change your opinion by visiting us again and staying in a room away from any disturbance. Please do contact me directly at lherbert@theparkhotels.com in case I can be of any further help.

Regards
Lemuel Herbert
Associate Vice President | Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Park Chennai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Park Chennai

Address: 601, Anna Salai, Chennai (Madras) 600006, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai (Madras)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Spa Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#35 Luxury Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Park Chennai 4.5*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Park Chennai is in the heart of the city’s vibrant business district. The hotel’s decor is influenced by the very foundation it stands on – the former premises of Gemini Film Studios, renowned for producing some of the most influential heroes and heroines the country has known. The dining and bar facilities at this hotel are amongst the best that the city offers. Six-O-One, the hotel’s 24 hour offers a mix of Indian and International cuisine while the Leather bar and Pasha are perfect options for elite party-goers. The cutting edge technology features coupled with world-class service standards make this hotel a perfect destination for both business and leisure travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Park Chennai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Park Chennai Hotel Chennai (Madras)
The Park Hotels Chennai
The Park Hotel Chennai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Park Chennai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.