We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a lobby !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Royal Meridien Chennai

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Le Royal Meridien Chennai to your Saves list
Le Royal Meridien Chennai
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1 GST Road | St Thomas Mount, Chennai (Madras) 600016, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 338 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Chennai
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“What a lobby !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2010

I was there twice in the last 15 days to Le Meridian. Both the times my guests stayed in the hotel. I went to meet them. Once to have a discussion and 2nd time for a mini conference. The lobby is fantastic and one has to only visit to experience it. About 50-60 people can sit and have chat/discussions. The lobby is huge and cirular in shape. It has a beautiful and small waterfall in the middle. A bigger one can be seen next to the lobby, visible through the glass wall. If you can wait for some time on the opposite side of the entrance, within the lobby, you will see flights alighting, as the hotel is very near to airport. You will never forget this memorable experience of watching flights moving down towards airport. This is one of the best lobbys i have ever seen in the hotels i visited.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

524 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    177
    93
    47
    34
See reviews for
46
19
67
375
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2010

I use to visit chennai regularly for business purpose and everytime i use to stay in Meridien . This hotel is excellent place to stay, rooms will be very clean, hotel located in center of city and very safe and secure. Staffs and service provided will be extremely satisfactory.
I never missed to take my breakfast and dinner during my stay from there. Food is delicious and very good. Rooms are decorated in a clean, modern style. This place is easy accessible from all the place in city near to city bus terminal.
Price wise bit expensive but really worth staying there.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2010

Please stay away from this hotel. This one looks great from outside, however the rooms smells like a old den. Carpet stinks. Their customer the worse I have ever seen in this type of hotels.

There are lot of other options in Chennai, stay in Marriott instead this one.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bad Neuenahr-Ahrweiler, Germany
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2010

Stayed in the Meridien Chennai for two nights. Lobby ok. Exterior of the hotel - hmm - tatty to name it (example: when the walls were painted the contractors obviously did not know about adhesive tape to protect the window frames from colour spots).

The room was old and smelly. Furniture was used up almost completely, electrical insulation from the 1970ies, old TV and the room was not really clean.

The breakfast was average to poor - the service was bad. The cook forgot my order on all two occasions. Orange juice was available only in Tetra packs - not fresh. The staff was ripping the plates off the table before you could empty your mouth. Not a great esperience.

The discounted rate was EURO 270 for two nights including tax. Don`t forget the tax in India. This has always been an issue when discussing room rates.

Final verdict: Not a 5-star place. Not at all.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mumbai
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2010

I was on a short business visit (conference) to Chennai when I stayed here. Le-Meridien has all the facilities which is needed to host a summit/conference. One important thing that I would definitely like to mention is the food, most of the menu items were awesome and new to me. I have never has such good unique food in any of the other five star hotels I stayed across India. Excellent hospitality and room service too…

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
taxes
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2010

it is mid on city and near to airport and many business center near and near many hotel and near to beach

Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2010

Can liveup in the cool shades of trees. well build and near to airport. can get best access for going out. Service was good

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Royal Meridien Chennai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Royal Meridien Chennai

Address: 1 GST Road | St Thomas Mount, Chennai (Madras) 600016, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai (Madras)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Spa Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#23 Family Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#26 Business Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#28 Luxury Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Le Royal Meridien Chennai 4.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Very close to the airport and to several commercial landmarks and strategically located in Chennai’s prime business district, Le Royal Meridien Chennai exudes grace and charisma offering a promise of unrivalled hospitality.Le Royal Méridien Chennai features meeting and banquet space for up 1,500 guests, five restaurants and bars, a state-of-the-art fitness centre, and a splendid outdoor swimming pool with whirlpool. A travel desk is in the hotel’s lobby assists guests as they experience the sights of Chennai, including the Marina Beach, temple architecture, a vibrant theatre scene, and a five week-long Music Season, one of the world’s largest cultural events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood APAC, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Le Royal Meridien Chennai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Royal Meridien Chennai Hotel Chennai (Madras)
Chennai Meridien
Le Royal Meridien Beach Resort & Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Royal Meridien Chennai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.