We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An average hotel in Chennai” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Le Royal Meridien Chennai

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Le Royal Meridien Chennai to your Saves list
Le Royal Meridien Chennai
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1 GST Road | St Thomas Mount, Chennai (Madras) 600016, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 341 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Gurgaon
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“An average hotel in Chennai”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Stayed at Le Royal Meridien Chennai during my last visit to Chennai. It was a short stay for only 1 night. Hotel is about 8 kms from airport but access is bit of a maze due to ongoing road construction. Would like it an average hotel who probably long back was a decent hotel, but for some reason has not really updated itself and looks like a very old hotel. The rooms are okay, but nothing special. Did order a room service; the food quality was okay and service was slow. Not sure would like to come back to this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kuntalmal, Manager at Le Royal Meridien Chennai, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing to stay at Le Royal Méridien Chennai, and sharing your feedback regarding your stay which will surely help us to improve our services.

Your comments with regards to room service were immediately bought into attention of our F & B Director and we will initiate appropriate measures to resolve this issue on instant basis.We regret that our services fell short of your expectations on this occasion and you had to experience some inconveniences. We are, however, disappointed to learn that your experience was less than perfect but I ensure you that your feedback helps us to recognize our grey areas and we will initiate appropriate measures on priority.

Once again, thank you for sharing your thoughts with us and we hope that you would give us another opportunity to serve on your next visit to hotel. We would be delighted to have you with us again.
Warm regards, Kuntal Malviya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

567 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    193
    101
    52
    34
See reviews for
54
21
69
407
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chennai (Madras), India
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

The lobby looks like palace , rooms were awesome and good value for money.

The only area they need to improve is putting some professional and efficient people in reception.

The response from them was slow and the front office seems to be overcrowded with hotel staff who seems to be busy in their own world with out attending guests.

I had breakfast and the spread was wide.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kuntalmal, Manager at Le Royal Meridien Chennai, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing to stay at Le Royal Méridien Chennai and for sharing your experience with us.

While we are pleased that you found the breakfast and rooms at par to your expectations, we are disappointed that the service at Front desk were not as per your expectations. Your feedback is important for us as it helps us pay attention to certain areas where training's are required.

Once again, we are grateful for your review and hope that this experience will not put your off our brand. Warm regards, Kuntal malviya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in the hotel from 31st of March until April 4 for a business trip. The hotel is good except that it's already old. They need to do some renovations and change the furnitures. I remember staying in The Peninsula in Manila which is also old but well maintained. Food is good especially the breakfast. I also tried the spa which for me is average. I had some problem with the water temperature in the bathroom and unfortunately the concern was taken care of only after 24 hours. If you want to see some sights in the city I would recommend to use their car service. Drivers were good and courteous.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kuntalmal, Manager at Le Royal Meridien Chennai, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your recent stay at Le Royal Méridien Chennai and also for sharing your experience with us. We are glad that you found certain attributes of our property at par with your expectations. However, we regret that you found some parts of Le Royal Méridien’s upkeep and presentation less than perfect. We are starting a phased renovation addressing the guest rooms, as the renovated rooms including the beds will be modern and chic in design as per “Le Méridien” Brand standards followed worldwide. We thank you for your positive feedback regarding travel desk and I will surely share your feedback with them.Once again, we are grateful for your review and hope that there would be another chance to be your host again. Warm regards, Kuntal Malviya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

I ran into a few issues due to which the hotel upgraded me to a superior room. The senior management is empowered to take decisions and correct any discomfort caused to guests.

A special note of thanks to all staff members of the Royal club

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kuntalmal, Manager at Le Royal Meridien Chennai, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for your recent stay at Le Royal Méridien Chennai and also for sharing your experience. It is a pleasure to learn that your stay with us was at par with your expectations and you had a great time throughout. Our Royal Club associates are also delighted by your appreciation and feels motivated to strive harder to meet the hospitality standards Le Meridien is known for.Once again, we are grateful for your review and are looking forward to be your hosts in Chennai.

Best Regards, Kuntal Malviya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Have visited Chennai several as my in-laws are based here. On one occasion decided to put base in a hotel close to the airport and chose Le Royal. Well, was a close call.

For starters its close to the airport bang on GST road. Take only 15 minutes to reach the airport so convenient.

Rooms are decent. Nothing to rave about. If you are lucky you will get a no hassle room. Otherwise my friends got smelly ones which they had to switch to other better ones.

Food? Again, good but not that good. Chennai has some super eating joints and we expected something more out of this one. The south indian fare is pretty good but other stuff is unsatisfactory.

Service? Staff is well mannered but kind of shy and reticent. Strange they work in a service oriented industry. Guess, they were trainees on their way to gaining some experience.

From the hotel one can access many parts of Chennai which has expanded rapidly. For starters the Kathipara junction is right opposite the hotel. A labyrinth of flyovers. The St. Thomas Mount is only 3 kms away. Worth taking a walk to the top. The view from there is pretty cool. The Officers Training Academy (OTA) is also 3 kms away. The Guindy race course is also within a 3 kms radius. So one can catch up on some local sight seeing too.

All in all, can definitely do much better if it has to beat other very good hotels in Chennai.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kuntalmal, Manager at Le Royal Meridien Chennai, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for choosing to stay at Le Royal Méridien Chennai, and sharing your feedback regarding your stay which will surely help us to improve our services.We regret that our services fell short of your expectations on this occasion and you had to experience some inconveniences. We are, however, disappointed to learn that your experience was less than perfect but I ensure you that your feedback helps us to recognize our grey areas and we will initiate appropriate measures on priority. Once again, thank you for sharing your thoughts with us and we hope that you would give us another opportunity to serve on your next visit to hotel. We would be delighted to have you with us again.
Warm regards, Kuntal Malviya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon, India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

This is a regular hotel that I stay for business. It is a very well maintained traditional 5 star hotel with good rooms, good breakfast and very good Indian restaurant. If one wants to enjoy good quality special south indian items, this has a good restaurant. I got upgraded to a better room thanks to the hotel. However overall it is over-priced both for room cost and restaurant cost.
Has good Gym set up, swimming pool with support facility.
Location has become challenging in view of poor approach of this hotel due to flyover construction. Staff is quite courteous and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PriyaJagan123, Front Office Manager at Le Royal Meridien Chennai, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Dear Mr. Sanjiv,

It is a pleasure to have been your host in Chennai and also to read your feedback on TripAdvisor.

We are happy that you enjoyed staying at Le Royal Méridien Chennai, and had a great time using our amenities such as gym and swimming pool. Our authentic Indian restaurant Navaratna is one of the favorite among our guests and we are glad that you found its gastronomy at par with your expectations. Our associates are also encouraged by your admiration and feel motivated to perform even better.

Once again, it is pleasing to read your review and it would be wonderful to be your host in Chennai sometime soon.

Best Regards

Priya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Stay at the hotel for 10 days in march 2013.had a good time.only thing not so good was that the number of dishes available for in room dining were limited.we chose a royale club room and it was as expected.housekeeping was good.currently the dome has buy one get one free on all liquor. Hence I had my share of coronas.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PriyaJagan123, Front Office Manager at Le Royal Meridien Chennai, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear Mr. Ravi ,

We would like to thank you for your recent stay at Le Royal Méridien Chennai and also for sharing your experience.

It is a pleasure to learn that your stay with us was at par with your expectations and you had a great time throughout. Our housekeeping team is also delighted by your appreciation and feels motivated to strive harder to meet the hospitality standards Le Meridien is known for. We are also pleased that you were able to enjoy the our all day happy hours at The Dome bar. Pertaining to your comments about the in room dining menu, our Executive Chef will personally look into it.

Once again, we are grateful for your review and are looking forward to be your hosts in Chennai.

Best Regards
Priya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Royal Meridien Chennai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Royal Meridien Chennai

Address: 1 GST Road | St Thomas Mount, Chennai (Madras) 600016, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai (Madras)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Spa Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#24 Family Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#25 Business Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#28 Luxury Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Le Royal Meridien Chennai 4.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Very close to the airport and to several commercial landmarks and strategically located in Chennai’s prime business district, Le Royal Meridien Chennai exudes grace and charisma offering a promise of unrivalled hospitality.Le Royal Méridien Chennai features meeting and banquet space for up 1,500 guests, five restaurants and bars, a state-of-the-art fitness centre, and a splendid outdoor swimming pool with whirlpool. A travel desk is in the hotel’s lobby assists guests as they experience the sights of Chennai, including the Marina Beach, temple architecture, a vibrant theatre scene, and a five week-long Music Season, one of the world’s largest cultural events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Starwood APAC, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo, getaroom.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Le Royal Meridien Chennai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Royal Meridien Chennai Hotel Chennai (Madras)
Chennai Meridien
Le Royal Meridien Beach Resort & Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Royal Meridien Chennai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.