We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good One” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Pearl International

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Pearl International to your Saves list
Hotel Pearl International
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   39,V.V Koil Street, Chennai (Madras) 600003, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #81 of 338 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Pune
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good One”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

I stayed for a day. Quiet place, walkable from central station. food was good. breakfast was good. reasonably priced. well furnished rooms. would definitely suggest it for others.
also it is midway between egmore station and central station. but seek for directions as the google maps show wrong location.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    30
    28
    9
    10
See reviews for
30
17
12
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Staying here since 09th July 2013.
Pros - Rooms are on a 24 hour clock basis. Choice of bedding in deluxe rooms - twin / queen. Room decently complimented with adequate furniture. Spacious toilet with 24 hours hot / cold water.Property with its back-up generator. Tiled floors. Branded Split A/C. in room with sufficient cooling. House Keeping calls good. The rooms are done for you in absence whether you like it or not, of course with a supervisory watch.
Cons The house keeping staff needs to be advised to place adequate amount of towels and amenties to keep going for 2 nights. The last thing the guest needs is to call for it early in the morning when in need. Also would recommend that the hotel start using bleach on their towels to keep then radiant white and also remove stains. The hotel should remember that a decent appearing towels can be provided especially if the tariff is in the 2K region. Then again I will not blame the management if guests do not require such basics. The Management should look into the appearance of the washed linen especially towels and return those which appear unsatisfactory for a second wash in case it is not satified with the service offered to them. Breakfast spread disappears fast and you do see some items not becoming available especially in the last hour. Would recommend that the restaurant burn the heating wicks on the buffet spread to keep them warm. A request for a 2nd cup of coffee or tea would be welcome.

Room Tip: Stayed in room 207 which seemed to be okay with me and my family
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
87 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
149 helpful votes 149 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Close to Central Station and not too far from Egmore, it is some 60 minutes (and $10) from the airport in daytime traffic. The general area is what you would expect around a railway station - if you turn right out of the hotel down the lane, you encounter a good deal of poverty. Straight ahead is a main road so if you are in the front of the hotel you will need to be a deep sleeper.
The room is reasonable for the price. Beds are hard and bedding is clean. The TV has a few English movie channels but no news. The internet is very spotty and drops out quite frequently. Even when functioning, it runs very slowly, so you should not rely on it for any real work.
The bathroom is the normal wet room arrangement with plenty of hot water, but just one tired towel.
Staff are quite obliging. Breakfast is included but non-Indian offering stretch to only tired bread, butter and strawberry jam, so Indian is the only real option.
There aren't many decent restaurants in the area, so an autorickshaw will be required at somewhat elevated tourist prices.
If I return to Chennai I will look elsewhere though I doubt I will find anywhere at the same price level.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tn
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

intercom and phone lines were not working for the whole day - not able to access any services - staff did not bothered much about the inconvenience caused to the guests. food average quality. place neatly maintained.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

This hotel is located close to Chennai central station. The staff is friendly and helpful. Breakfast was decent and waiters were friendly. The only problem we faced was our request for fresh towels which were ignored by the lady at the reception 3 times,she kept saying "its coming" but never did for 3 hours! Finally we told the same bell boy who brought us lunch to our room to get some and he grabbed them in few minutes.
A special thanks to GM Mr.Ajay who was very friendly and responded to our special request without any hassles. A well-run budget hotel for the decent price!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

I really enjoyed my stay here. It was not usually the type of place I would stay in, I prefer more budget places, but as I was travelling with my mum ( who is fussy) I booked this place.
It is actually quite cheap, we paid £20 a night ( per room, so £10 each), but they could get away with charging more as it is a really well kept, nice looking and professional business hotel.
Their is permanent security outside, ad the staff are so so helpful. I had all of my bags bought in to my room, free water bottles given on arrival, and was taken to my room and given everything I asked for nearly immediately ( including extra towels).
The hotel had free wifi, a restaurant attached ( that serves McCaine chips!!!!), is fully air conditioned everywhere, has an elevator, and a nice lobby area to sit in and watch their very large plasma screen TV. Free breakfast is served that was very nice.
The rooms are nice, average or a bit small, but perfectly kept: incredibly clean and comfortable with very nice linen, a large plasma screen TV and a nice and clean western bathroom.
The location is actually quite good; its not on a nice street, which probably explains the low price, but its about a 10 or 15 walk from central station and edgemore.
There is a also a very helpful travel desk who sorted out very cheap taxi to the airport for us in about 20 seconds.
I really have to applaud the staff here; they did everything to help us without asking for a tip. The even gave me the location of the nearest Café Coffee Day ( GO THERE!!) when I was craving a western style latte :)
highly reomended; I will stay here again.

Room Tip: we picked a delux room with twin beds. didn't see any of the other rooms but this was a nice roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orléans
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Well situated in the city, not far from the airport. Close to several good indian restaurants.
Staff helpful, welcoming, friendly and efficient.
Exchange money possible at the reception
Hotel OK for 1 or 2 nights
WIFI free OK in the room

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Pearl International? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pearl International

Address: 39,V.V Koil Street, Chennai (Madras) 600003, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai (Madras)
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #81 of 338 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Pearl International 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Pearl International reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Pearl International, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.