We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay in Chennai” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Pearl International

Save Saved
You added Hotel Pearl International to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Pearl International
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   39,V.V Koil Street, Chennai (Madras) 600003, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #84 of 336 hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
“Nice stay in Chennai”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for 2 night in atfer arriving in India. To give a quick summ up of our 2 nights:

-Very helpfull staff (helped with booking our flights out to kochi)
-Helpfull with booking of excursion
-Very clean rooms
-A/C
-With a good restaurant (try the Kerela chicken fry).

To sum up: After a long flight and trip a very welcome start of your stay in India.

Room Tip: Just ask at the reception and they will be more then helpfull
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    19
    25
    28
    9
    8
See reviews for
27
14
11
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Nice Hotel, but plenty of nice options available at the same prize nearby. FYI, the hotel is not new anymore and i had water seeped ceiling in the room corner. The toilet floor, OMG is full of strains.
Moreover they have initially shown a different prize, but i went down there, its a whole new world out there. Paid 30% extra (not tax, room rate) to my booking rate.

To the hotel management, have you ever had a chance to try out your breakfast. If not, kindly give it a try. The so called Potato Curry and Chappati, are one of the worst in the entire world and u need a screw driver to have the rock hard butter.

My frank opinion, not worth the money.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yongkang, China
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Good services,there are good restaurant,and have some good cooker.so .the foods are very delicious.all the staff are very kind and helpful.they can do your favor everythings .Clean room and clean enviroments in the hotel . and well conditional new everythings in the room.and Good Price.the hotel will never let you down if you travel to Chennai living in this hotel.trust me

Lu feng From china .

Room Tip: All room are cleanliness and new well conditional every things .and the surroundings very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, India
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

I stayed in this property in month of september. I really got shocked that i got 4-5 star aminities in a very budget price. Service of hotel is at par. Food is also great. Overall good property to stay near chennai central railway station.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groningen, The Netherlands
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

After a two week stay at the Pearl International I cannot recommend this business but friendly and people oriented hotel enough.

Centrally located in the Periyamet district (replete with numerous leather exporters and other small garment industries), the hotel offers easy access to Chennai Egmore and Chennai Central Stations. It is also barely a stone's throw from the Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium and the Lily Pond. All the staff are friendly, warm and engaged; from the young boys who take care of the rooms, the restaurant staff and those working behind the reception. All create a welcoming atmosphere and all are willing to help if you ask. The "thali" (buffet) breakfasts and dinners at the adjoining restaurant are suberb! Simple, well made and tasty - and value for money! My main requirement was unlimited wifi access which, in the main (bar the occasions when it was busy) was good. Like anywhere in India, you should bring your own mosquito repellent, even when the air conditioned rooms (like the one I stayed in) is good quality. The rooms are well furnished and comfortable.

Overall I have no complaints. As for the bad reviews I have read about the water, for my part I drank only bottle water that was readily available on request. Plus I boiled tap water in the room for tea. If you are looking for luxury 5 star facilities of course look elsewhere. In terms of price to facilities and service ratio, the Pearl International gets it just about right.

This business hotel combines business facilities with a warm, friendly and human touch. The people here are what makes the place!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

A very professionally managed hotel of course the Hotel Pearl International. Everthing right from check in to check out is very well taken care of. Just out of words regarding the service as one has to check in to experience it. Just excellent !

The hotel and the staff are first class. The room was beautifully decorated.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indore, Madhya Pradesh, India
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

Average hotels for business travellers, location wise good, but unable to understand what is the issue with tap water, very bad in taste with very very bad smell [like gutter].
Lot of mosquitoes in the room ask for mosquito repellent.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Pearl International? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pearl International

Address: 39,V.V Koil Street, Chennai (Madras) 600003, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai (Madras)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #84 of 336 hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Pearl International 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, MakeMyTrip, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Despegar.com, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Hotel Pearl International reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Pearl International, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.