We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of ITC Grand Chola, Chennai

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added ITC Grand Chola, Chennai to your Saves list
ITC Grand Chola, Chennai
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No. 63, Mount Road | Guindy, Chennai (Madras) 600032, India   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2 nights / 3 days
Ranked #3 of 351 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
180 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

Stayed here for a businss trip recently. I thought the hotel was fantastic, my only points for improvement:

- it is very large and full of open space inside; to be honest it's a bit bare in many areas and could do with some art work / furniture. Most of my stay I felt like the only person staying there.
- I was bitten by mosquitos at night. On one occasion the 2 repellant devices plugged in my room appeared to be empty (I advise you to check) so they hanged them immediately. Unfortunately this meant I had to be almost completely covered at night as there were always one or two flying around in my room. I've heard that certain blood types are more susceptible and also March/April is then they're most numerous.. you'll get this anywhere in Chennai so nevermind,

Otherwise I cannot fault the place at all.
- Service is fantastic, including all restaurants and bars (cheroot). Room service is exemplary and all people are polite and courteous.
- iPad technology in room is great; you can see your room door camera, change TV channels, play music, control the air-con.
- Spa was great and good value for money (c.f. prices in UK/US).
- Swimming pool area was fantastic, ice cold water brought to you and good clean environment.
- The food was out of this world. Although a little pricy (probably same as UK restaurant prices if not a little more) the food was out of this world. It is decorated well and very tasty.

Particular thanks to Hannah (bar manager) and Zoe (?) Spa who demonstrated excellent service and deserve commending.

I would not hesitate recommending this hotel to anyone and in a busy / smelly / full-on Chennai city centre, it is a pleasure to come back to this oasis after work.

Room Tip: Stayed in Tower room which was very well decorated. A/C was v powerful but at 20C (controlled on iPa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank p0lak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ranvir_Bhandari, General Manager at ITC Grand Chola, Chennai, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your valuable feedback and your kind comments on the service, the in-room iPad. Kaya Kalp – The Royal Spa, The Marina pool complex and the cuisine served at our restaurants. Hannah and Zoui are delighted by your words of appreciation.

We sincerely regret the discomfort caused to you due to mosquitos and would like to assure you that necessary corrective measures have been initiated.

We hope you will allow us another opportunity to serve you and look forward to welcoming you back to ITC Grand Chola soon.

Warm regards,

Ranvir Bhandari
Vice President South & General Manager ITC Grand Chola
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,575 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

Having just finished a book by the same name I can now say, Yes! It does exist.. the Grand Chola is so intimidating from the outside but just as much welcoming on the inside..
From the minute we stepped through the automatic doors it was just royal treatment at each step..
Having come from Blore for such a family visit i was keen on coming here 'coz my in laws spoke huge of it.. I will just have to admit, I agree with them... ITC at its best.. A pleasantly smiling face opened the doors to the grand staircase for us and we were given a small educative tour of the lobby level & restaurant level... Why educating you ask, well the place is humongous.. and if you step out on your own to explore you will surely find hidden treasures!!
All in all this place is definitely the place I want to be staying in when i come back with my family for a long vacation to be pampered the ITC way..
Kudos you guys for making something this big and keeping it just perfect..!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank akinag1510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ranvir_Bhandari, General Manager at ITC Grand Chola, Chennai, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your valuable feedback and your kind comments on the hotel. We are delighted that our team was able to assist you with a tour of the hotel.

We look forward to having you and your family stay with us soon and hope you will allow us the opportunity to serve you.

Warm regards,

Ranvir Bhandari
Vice President South & General Manager ITC Grand Chola
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Level Contributor
41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

It took almost a day for me to explore the complete Hotel. Thanks for the lounges that are available at every corner helped me to relax a while during my exploration. I had tried the Buffet which is charged at 1600 +tax per person and it took literally 4 hours for me to complete it with hundreds of options to taste from. right from the welcome gate till the exit i see staff being courteous. It is a must visit hotel to get pampered Royally and of course if you do not mind the burden on your wallet.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank callmeraghavendra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ranvir_Bhandari, General Manager at ITC Grand Chola, Chennai, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your valuable feedback and we are delighted to learn that you had an enjoyable stay with us. Thank you for you kind words of appreciation on the buffet at Madras Pavilion and the service experienced by you at the hotel.

We look forward to your next visit and to the opportunity to serve you again soon.

Warm regards,

Ranvir Bhandari
Vice President South & General Manager ITC Grand Chola
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014 via mobile

The place is wide spread with grandeur. I visited the place for a sales conference. Even though the place grand the experience was lacking. The staff did not make an effort to either invite us to try any activities like spa etc. Nor were they engaging in getting us to explore the place.
The choice of venue was based on the fact that there was lot to do as city has little to offer. But it was let down.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Rupeewiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

Last week I went to Chenni for a business trip. First time I have stayed in this hotel. It was amazing experience while entrance of the hotel. Once you enter in the room you will find one IPAD, with that you can control all the room lighting,TV & door opening.

Breakfast served by the hotel has the amazing taste. I will recommend once you shouold stay in this hotel.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mohit_iip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ranvir_Bhandari, General Manager at ITC Grand Chola, Chennai, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your valuable feedback. We are glad to learn that you had a memorable stay with us. The in-room iPad is indeed a unique proposition of the hotel and we are delighted you could make use of it.

Thank you for you kind comments on the breakfast cuisine.

We look forward to welcoming you back to ITC Grand Chola and to the opportunity to serve you again soon.

Warm regards,

Ranvir Bhandari
Vice President South & General Manager ITC Grand Chola
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
66 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014 via mobile

Opened as the world's largest LEED-certified green hotel, it located in Guindy, opposite SPIC building and along the same row of buildings as Ashok Leyland Towers. The building is of mixed-use development with three separate wings and is themed after traditional Dravidian Architecture of the Chola Dynasty
It's a must visit on your next to Chennai

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Rajesh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

I was supposed to be in Chennai for a day-trip, but it got extended for different reasons, and I am glad it did. When you walk into ITC Grand Chola, a vision of grandeur & awe greets your eyes. It is beautiful, and the pictures on TripAdvisor are an understatement to the beauty that greets you in person.

I wanted to find out about the rooms, before actually booking one, so the staff was friendly enough to let me see them (the ones that were free) before actually booking one. I approached the reception, and this young gentleman (Pranav I think, not sure about the name), assisted me with the various amenities of the hotel & was extremely friendly.

I had a great stay at the hotel and would recommend this place to anyone visiting Chennai. One must go here to feel the royalty of the place & the ITC service.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bha123rah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ranvir_Bhandari, General Manager at ITC Grand Chola, Chennai, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your valuable feedback and your kind words of appreciation. We are delighted to learn that you had a memorable stay at ITC Grand Chola and Pranav was able to assist you in choosing a room prior to check-in.

It was indeed a pleasure to have you with us and we look forward to many more opportunities to serve you again.

Warm regards,

Ranvir Bhandari
Vice President South & General Manager ITC Grand Chola
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chennai (Madras) hotels
The Leela Palace Chennai
#1 of 351 in Chennai (Madras)
4.5 of 5 stars 706 reviews
Park Hyatt Chennai
#2 of 351 in Chennai (Madras)
4.5 of 5 stars 467 reviews
Hilton Chennai
#5 of 351 in Chennai (Madras)
4.5 of 5 stars 801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Velachery
The Westin Chennai Velachery
The Westin Chennai Velachery
#6 of 351 in Chennai (Madras)
4.5 of 5 stars 601 reviews
Trident, Chennai
#7 of 351 in Chennai (Madras)
4.5 of 5 stars 899 reviews
Nungambakkam
Vivanta by Taj - Connemara, Chennai
Vivanta by Taj - Connemara, Chen...
#18 of 351 in Chennai (Madras)
4.5 of 5 stars 815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ITC Grand Chola, Chennai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ITC Grand Chola, Chennai

Address: No. 63, Mount Road | Guindy, Chennai (Madras) 600032, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai (Madras)
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 351 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:5 star — ITC Grand Chola, Chennai 5*
Number of rooms: 600
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in an opulent, palatial design which pays homage to Southern India’s grand empires, the ITC Grand Chola, Chennai overlooks verdant parks and gardens. Experience understated Indian hospitality in an exquisite property with a distinct personality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Starwood APAC, Odigeo, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your ITC Grand Chola, Chennai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing