We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peshawari serves the best Kebabs in Chennai” 5 of 5 stars
Review of ITC Grand Chola, Chennai

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added ITC Grand Chola, Chennai to your Saves list
ITC Grand Chola, Chennai
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No. 63, Mount Road | Guindy, Chennai (Madras) 600032, India   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Limited Period Offer
Ranked #4 of 338 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Chennai (Madras), India
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Peshawari serves the best Kebabs in Chennai”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

This is one restaurant that I have frequented right from being a kid. During those days and until recently, the restaurant was at the former ITC Chola Sheraton. This is the first time I was at the Grand Chola. These guys seem to have patented their kebab quality for none seem to produce such quality outside. Absolutely delicious lip-smacking kebabs. The Jhinga, Murgh Malai, Seekh and Dal Makhani were all absolutely fantastic. The restaurant was full when we ate but service was prompt, efficient and courteous. The place is definitely worth your money. I would return here without hesitation. These guys have been consistently at it for long enough that I'd call them true masters of their craft. The executive chef needs a pat on the back.

About ITC Grand Chola's appearance. The place is huge, like massive. It looks grand but yet very dull. Lighting in the hotel is also poor. The restaurant though was terrific. No complaints.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe_Charraudeau, General Manager at ITC Grand Chola, Chennai, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you very much, we are delighted to read about your long association with Peshawri. We are extremely pleased to hear about your wonderful comments regarding our cuisine. Than you so much for beautifully articulating the true essence of Peshawri.

Your support has indeed been crucial for our success over the years. We will definitely look forward to having you with us in the near future.

Warm regards,
Philippe Charraudeau
Vice President and General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

881 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    597
    188
    59
    22
    15
See reviews for
132
84
32
504
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

The ITC Grand Chola is a hotel on a grand scale, it's sheer size is amazing and that is before you step into the foyer of the hotel, which is opulent to say the least. Rooms are spacious and the iPad that controls everything in the room, from viewing who is at the door, opening the door to booking your restaurant for dinner.

The staff to guest ratio is very high, as you would expect from a 5 Star hotel, and the service excellent, with staff always willing to help and a welcoming smile.

As a lover of good Indian food, you have to try the Peshwari Restaurant. The Peshwari Lamb Kababs are so good you just want more, but like with all good food you feel full after eating only a little. The Chicken Tikka curry was probably the best curry I have had, even better than my own :-), seriously it was superb.

India is a country of contrast, staying in such an opulent hotel and environment it a city, that like all Indian Cities that has such poverty, is difficult and probably distracted from my enjoyment of the hotel. It would be good for the Hotel to publisize what it is putting back into society, apart from the obvious employment.

Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe_Charraudeau, General Manager at ITC Grand Chola, Chennai, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your valuable feedback and your kind words of appreciation on the opulence and grandeur of our hotel. We’re glad to hear that your stay was comfortable and the eWelcomButler and Peshawri created a WOW for you.

We’ve made note of your comments on how we should highlight our CSR activities.

We hope you will visit us again soon and allow us another opportunity to serve you.

Warm regards,
Philippe Charraudeau
Vice President & General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Having stayed in most of the other ITC Hotels in India...decided to try this one during my latest official visit to Chennai. I am glad that I took the right decision. The room was good and just loved the new iPAD interface to control everything in the room - Lights, AC, TV, Room service etc. The Breakfast at the Madras Pavillion restaurant was awesome. Though its a bit expensive then the other star hotels in the Guindy area...it is worth it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe_Charraudeau, General Manager at ITC Grand Chola, Chennai, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your valuable feedback. We’re delighted to learn that your stay with us matched your expectations and thank you for your kind words of appreciation on the breakfast buffet at Madras Pavilion.

We look forward to your next visit and the opportunity to serve you again soon.

Warm regards,
Philippe Charraudeau
Vice President & General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

The hotel itself is excellent but the staff needs to get their act together if they really want to keep up with the stature that this hotel represents!

I was traveling on business and had booked airport pickup and have a confirmation email from the hotel (email confirmation from Arish R) - this was done at least 2 week prior to my actual travel. No one showed up at the airport and I was later by the front desk that the pickup request was not attached to my reservation even though the email confirmed both the room and car reservations.

I contacted Nadeem Khan and Meghna Rao (Front Desk manager and Travel Manager) twice via email but did not get any response back from them!

The lack of a response/acknowledgement was what bothered me more than the screw up with the airport pickup!

I would stay here again but never use their car service! I hope someone from the hotel reads this review!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe_Charraudeau, General Manager at ITC Grand Chola, Chennai, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your valuable feedback. Please accept our apologies for not attending to your concern during your stay with us and we sincerely regret the inconvenience caused to you.
We hope you will allow us to make it up to you. Please send in your details to philippe.charraudeau@itchotels.in so that we can get in touch with you.

We look forward to another opportunity to serve you.

Warm regards,
Philippe Charraudeau
Vice President & General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, India
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

The sheer size of the hotel is staggering and you can't help but do a double take when you set your eyes on it, such is the opulence and grandness of this hotel.

From the foyer, to the lounge to the restaurants... everything about it screams opulence without being garish in any way. I loved the rooms, found them extremely tastefully done and more than adequate in terms of size and fittings.. the ipad controls felt more gimmicky than anything but was useful in its own way. The food was awesome and my compliments to the chef! The biggest win for me was that it was just a 20 minute drive to the airport. I didn't have to go into town too often so it served as a great base. Getting into the heart of Chennai from the hotel though can be a time consuming affair depending on time of day and how bad the traffic is.

My only gripe (if at all it can even be called a gripe) was the staff. I found them extremely stiff and aloof. The smiles and salutations were all there but it just didn't feel genuine and that was a bit disconcerting.

Otherwise, a fantastic hotel well worth the price and your time!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe_Charraudeau, General Manager at ITC Grand Chola, Chennai, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

We appreciate your taking the time to share your valuable feedback on TripAdvisor. Thank you very much for beautifully describing our hotel’s architecture and decor. It is very heartening to hear about your words of appreciation regarding the room and food quality. We shall definitely pass on your compliments to our culinary team. Being located in the heart of the Guindy, the proximity to the airport is definitely an added advantage for our esteemed guests. Warmth and indigenous hospitality is the core of our service philosophy, we regret any occurrence which was not up to your expectations. We have duly noted your comments and have discussed them with our front line employees.

We look forward to serving you again.

Warm regards,
Philippe Charraudeau
Vice President and General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

I had been with my family , stayed for 2 nights and the stay was wonderful we spent around almost a day to go through the hotel. Rooms are fantastic and the service is excellent. Suite rooms are mind blowing. Breakfast was really how -some. do not miss to visit Spa its just marvelous.
I would like to visit once again and stay in Suite room for a week to just relax.
I would suggest to visit once to the hotel and the stay is worth.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe_Charraudeau, General Manager at ITC Grand Chola, Chennai, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

We are delighted that you chose us as your preferred hotel during your stay in Chennai and are further excited to read about your wonderful stay experience. Thank you for sharing your wonderful comments about the rooms, service and the spa. We eagerly look forward to welcoming you back to one of our plush Chola Suites.

Thank you once again for recommending us.

Warm regards,
Philippe Charraudeau
Vice President and General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai, Tamil Nadu, India
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

I don't know where to start and where to end. Just like the hotel itself. There is only one word to describe the size of this hotel - Astronomical. There are four porticos I think, out of which only one was open. The others were under construction, along with that portion of the building. The architecture was grand. Beautiful interiors and lightings make this a spectacle to enjoy for a long time. Good action for shutterbugs. 7 Restaurants, a cigar lounge and a Wills Lifestyle boutique to shop - Though no customers were present. A lot of choices. Extremely grand. The staff were good. A hotel of this size and grandeur must be extremely hard to beat. A jewel in the heart of Chennai. The best hotel I've visited in India ever! Keep it up ITC.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe_Charraudeau, General Manager at ITC Grand Chola, Chennai, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Your endorsement and verdict of “Numero Uno” has really strengthened our belief of becoming one of the finest hotels in the country. Thank you for your kind words of appreciation regarding the hotel’s architecture and its décor. We are delighted to note that you found our food and beverage offerings to your liking and were pleased with our services.

We look forward to welcoming you back at the hotel.

Warm regards,
Philippe Charraudeau
Vice President and General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to ITC Grand Chola, Chennai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ITC Grand Chola, Chennai

Address: No. 63, Mount Road | Guindy, Chennai (Madras) 600032, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai (Madras)
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 338 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — ITC Grand Chola, Chennai 5*
Number of rooms: 600
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in an opulent, palatial design which pays homage to Southern India’s grand empires, the ITC Grand Chola, Chennai overlooks verdant parks and gardens. Experience understated Indian hospitality in an exquisite property with a distinct personality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Starwood APAC, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your ITC Grand Chola, Chennai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ITC Grand Chola, Chennai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.