We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Lifestyle Residences

Lifestyle Residences
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Lifestyle Residences to your Saves list
Lifestyle Residences
2 Kalakshetra Avenue, 2nd Street | Thiruvanmiyur, Chennai (Madras) 600041, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Guadeloupe
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Avoid”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Poor location, difficult to locate. No outside sign board, may be to dodge tax authorities. Refuse to give bill.
Good staff but over worked. Poor quality food, the hotel claim on food is false. Served only Uppuma for breakfast with over bad tea.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lavanya_iyer, Owner at Lifestyle Residences, responded to this review, January 20, 2015
Dear Mr. Rangaswamy,

Our apologies for having you inconvenienced you during your stay with us at Lifestyle Residences, and thank you for your honest review.

I would like to assure you that we now have visible sign boards, a good variety for breakfast and helpful staff that will make you stay with us very comfortable.

We hope you stay with us again on your visit to Chennai.

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    4
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
6
2
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
India
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

This is located in a quiet residential area and can easily be a home away from home. 
The reception is not manned at all times so we had to get in touch with the owner of the property to book who is very soft-spoken and kind. We had an uneventful stay there on the first night. 
On the second night, I had migraine with vomiting in the middle of the night. The staff were very helpful in getting me first aid. But since there was no cleaning staff available in the night, the room and bath could not be cleaned and I had to do some cleaning (in my state of sickness) and continue to stay in the same room. 
Accessibility is a major issue. So, senior citizens and physically challenged guests need to think twice before booking this. We told this to the owner who promised to make the rooms more accessible. Hope they have done that. 
They seem to have staff problems. 
The cook disappeared on the second day and the staff ordered food from an eatery nearby. 
One of the drains in the baths was clogged and in spite of telling them repeatedly, nothing happened.
The laundry service was very erratic and the laundry man also left suddenly.
It can be managed better and can really be an ideal place to stay (read home) for people like us, who travel often to Chennai and have no relatives here.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lavanya_iyer, Owner at Lifestyle Residences, responded to this review, January 20, 2015
Dear Sir / Ma'am,

Thank you for choosing Lifestyle Residences and staying with us during your visit to Chennai.

We have gone over your review of our property and would like to inform you that we have taken into very serious consideration all the concerns you have outlined.

We assure you that we have increased our staff, service and cleanliness in all our rooms to match our guests' requirements.

We also thank you for your positive reviews and look forward to having you stay with us again when you are in Chennai next.

Kind Regards
Ayala Leisure and Hospitality Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

The hotel is very nice from all aspects. Starting from booking procedure, room service, locality, food all are fine.Stuffs are very professional in nature. It is not very easy to find out a hotel in residential area like Adayar-Thiruvanmiyur-Besant Nagar area in Chennai so there this particular hotel(in Thiruvanmiyur) is a very good finding. Very near to Kalashetra dance academy, Bay of Bengal sea beach and close to bus stops too. Nearby area Beasant Nagar provides a lot of options of eating out too. Overall we loved our stay over there.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

We did not actually end up staying here, but just wanted to share our experience dealing with the customer representative. Due to a death in our extended family, my brother's family had to make an unplanned trip from US to Chennai and required a place to stay for 2-3 weeks at a very short notice. He enquired about room availability at Lifestyle residences, but could not confirm the booking prior to his arrival. Since he was still in transit the day before he was due to arrive, I called up to figure out more details and the customer rep. confirmed the booking for me without pressing for an advance. Unfortunately, at the time of booking I was not aware of their cancellation policy. Later in the day, we figured that someone else in the family had made another booking in a more convenient location. When I called up to cancel, the staff informed me about the 1-night cancellation charge, but after a little discussion decided not to insist on it since I was not informed about the policy up-front.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

I checked in to this hotel in January 2013. Although I needed a much longer stay the receptionists told that only one night is available, so I stayed for one night. It seemed suspicious to me, because I had checked the availability on the booking.com beforehand. So I checked again and the booking.com showed that there were rooms available till the 10th of February. I made a reservation, but the receptionists kept on assuring me there were no rooms. So they made me check out after one night, though I had given them my booking.com reservation number.

So it doesn`t matter what services this hotel has to offer if you just can`t check in. I wouldn`t recommend this hotel, especially if you have tight schedule.

Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

This is a Service apartment but there was no cutlery / crockery provided . The coffee maker did not work and so was the Television. The Suite room was spacious and the beds comfortable.
But this place does need to be toned up. The room service was slow, and the service at the restaurant was testing the guests' patience. Although the staff are courteous and want to help, they are woefully understaffed to handle several guests at the same time or period.
The breakfast was good- south Indian style but needs variety.
Although we had ordered our lunch hours before, we found the service at the restaurant tardy.
Special mention must be made of Mr Vijay who was trying to oblige and take care of the situation from going out of hand.
The quality of bath towels and hand towels was good. But the bathroom lacked a shelf to keep the toiletteries.
Those running this service apartment need to get their act soon.
The place and locale is good and very close to Kalakshetra.

Room Tip: Rooms near the reception are good to summon the staff if one needs anything.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lavanya_iyer, Manager at Lifestyle Residences, responded to this review, January 20, 2015
Dear Sir,

Thank you for choosing Lifestyle Residences and staying with us during your visit to Chennai.

We have increased our standards to match our guests' requirements and do hope you stay with us again on your next visit.

Look forward to seeing you soon!

Kind Regards
Ayala Leisure and Hospitality Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

Spent 9 days out of a 2 week holiday with my family at Lifestyle Residences in Chennai. The rooms were spacious, clean with comfortable beds & mattresses. The air-conditioning worked all the time (a must for Chennai for most part of the year) and there was generator backup available during power-cuts. The staff were very friendly, pro-active and understanding of the needs of a family with 2 young children. There were very flexible with our food requirements and the service also included a constant supply of bottled mineral water. Moreover, their assistance with domestic travel - flights & train - were invaluable. The GYM was adequately equipped and had TV/Cable connectivity as well.

Rooms had WiFi access which worked all the time, as well !!!

Overall it was a very comfortable 2 weeks stay and felt very "homely" !!!

Good value for money.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lifestyle Residences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lifestyle Residences

Address: 2 Kalakshetra Avenue, 2nd Street | Thiruvanmiyur, Chennai (Madras) 600041, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai (Madras)
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 334 Specialty Lodging in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lifestyle Residences comprise 16 elegantly furnished rooms and suites designed to cater to needs of the business or leisure traveler. Your comfort, privacy and security are just a few standards you can expect during your stay with us. Experience home-style food served at breakfast, lunch or dinner and maintain your fitness routine at our fully equipped gym. Proximity to the beach, shopping centres and business houses makes Lifestyle Residences an ideal place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Lifestyle Residences reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lifestyle Residences, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.