We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very clean, no frills place ” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bell Hotel - Chennai

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Bell Hotel - Chennai to your Saves list
Bell Hotel - Chennai
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Old Door No 21, New Door No 47 | Poonamallee High Road, Periamet, Chennai (Madras) Tamil Nadu, 600003, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #43 of 337 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Coimbatore
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Very clean, no frills place ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

Ideal for business travellers arriving by train or intending to take a flight from Chennai(take train to airport from park station). Hotel is cleanly maintainer, staff have an eye for detail and food at restaurant quite decent too.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bagya Lakshmi S, ACCOMMODATION OFFICER at Bell Hotel - Chennai, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear Guest,

We thank you whole heartedly for sharing a motivating review with us.

Hope to receive you soon at Bell Hotel - Chennai.

With Warm Regards,

Bagya Lakshmi Samraj
Accommodation Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    40
    12
    3
    3
See reviews for
14
16
8
39
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is at an excellent location with just a 10 minutes drive from both the stations. The food is outstanding and the service excellent. The room was comfortable and cosy. The staff was helpful and very polite.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bagya Lakshmi S, Accommodation Officer at Bell Hotel - Chennai, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to respond to our review request. Your responses will shape the future of our service, standards and our overall way of doing business.

We appreciate your time and effort in providing feedback to us.

Sincerely,

Bagya Lakshmi Samraj
Accommodation Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Well, what to say about this hotel, if i say something about it then it would be very very less, this hotel is very excellent place to stay when in chennai, with very helpful and friendly staff, well appointed room, will every appliances up to date, well maintained restaurant, with very very tasty food. And the main choice is that it is a Budget hotel, It is located walk able distance from Chennai Central railway station. Nearest Mall is Spencer & EA mall.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good and you will get good sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bagya Lakshmi S, Accommodation Officer at Bell Hotel - Chennai, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for writing a positive response towards our service. Your response has motivated us to run extra mile.

With Warm Regards,

Bagya Lakshmi Samraj
Accommodation Oficer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Dear All Business Travelers
This si an excellent hotel, central so you can travel anywhere in chennai, further the rooms maybe small but extremely comfortable. They provide excellent care in terms of hospitality and food. Prices are economical and would not hurt the pocket. All in all i would not change my hotel anymore.
NIRAJ MURARKA

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bagya Lakshmi S, Accommodation Officer at Bell Hotel - Chennai, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

We whole-heartedly thank you for writing a positive review which is motivating us to strive the performance.

With Warm Regards,


Bagya Lakshmi Samraj
Accommodation Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Not much more to say. It was clean but lacking in character. all doubles will be at the back of the hotel by the train lines and trains thunder past at all hours. Avoid the top floor as the building shakes with each passing train. Restaurant was quite good and we ate there more than once. Be prepared for the waiter to hover and re-fill your plate and glass after virtually every mouthful though!

Room Tip: Avoid the top floor as the building shakes with each passing train.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bagya Lakshmi S, Accommodation Officer at Bell Hotel - Chennai, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for sharing your stay experience with us.

We at Bell Chennai, narrowed down the cause for late refilling of the dishes as lack of manpower in that particular shift in both Restaurant and Main Kitchen. We promise you that we have taken alternate measures to handle this type of situation in future when it happens.

With Warm Regards,

Bagya Lakshmi Samraj
Accommodation Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Best hotel near Central Railway Station. Only problem with this hotel is they have only limited items in buffet. Apart from that the hotel is good to stay. Room tariffs are also affordable. This is one of the good hotels I have stayed in Chennai. The tariff also less when you compare with other hotels located near by.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bagya Lakshmi S, Accommodation Officer at Bell Hotel - Chennai, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Bell Hotel - Chennai!!!

We thank you for writing your views in our Web Page. In your next visit we will ensure to service you with dishes which will rejuvenate your taste buds.

With Regards,

Bagya Lakshmi Samraj
Accommodation Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

The Bell was our first stop in India.We had a lot of things to sot out about what to do and where to go.The staff at the Bell we extremely helpful and assisted with everything we needed.
The location,the food and the comfort were excellent.
Particular thanks should go to the dining room staff for their helpful suggestions and the front office who were helpful and obliging no matter what the time of day or night.
Great variety of transport at the door.Liked the idea of a small bar next door.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bagya Lakshmi S, Accommodation Officer at Bell Hotel - Chennai, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Bell Hotel -Chennai!!!

We thank you kindheartedly for writing a positive feedback. Our staffs are happy to know your thoughts regarding the service they have provided to you.

Yours in Service,

Bagya Lakshmi Samraj
Accommodation Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Bell Hotel - Chennai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bell Hotel - Chennai

Address: Old Door No 21, New Door No 47 | Poonamallee High Road, Periamet, Chennai (Madras) Tamil Nadu, 600003, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai (Madras)
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 337 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bell Hotel - Chennai 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BELL HOTEL - CHENNAI is a building which has heritage that goes back to 1930's. The restored theme reflects of the culture, heritage and the life of what the city was called then "Madras". The hotel has a 50 cover multi-cuisine restaurant "Bell Restaurant". With a total of 49 rooms, we have furnished all the rooms in contemporary style. The rooms are equipped with LCD Televisions with satellite connection and Wi-Fi for internet access, and other essential services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Bell Hotel - Chennai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bell Hotel - Chennai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.