We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel if you wanna to catch train.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bell Hotel - Chennai

Save Saved
You added Bell Hotel - Chennai to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bell Hotel - Chennai
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Old Door No 21, New Door No 47 | Poonamallee High Road, Periamet, Chennai (Madras) 600003, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 336 hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Mumbai
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best hotel if you wanna to catch train.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

This hotel is situated very near 200mt from chennai central railway station. The rooms and restaurant was good and clean. But there was lack of proper room service. In day time local trains runs frequently so when the train passes the building shakes like tremors of earthquake and there is noise of trains and also local traffic. But the service and quality of staying was worth for money. When you book this hotel ask for rooms near to reception and on 1st floor, so less disturbance

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bagya Lakshmi S, Accommodation Officer at Bell Hotel - Chennai, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Bell Hotel for your recent stay in Chennai. We are delighted to hear you had an enjoyable time at our hotel.

It was a pleasure to have you as our guest. We hope to see you again soon.


With Warm Regards,


Bagya Lakshmi Samraj
Accommodation Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    24
    29
    9
    1
    3
See reviews for
9
13
7
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

I recently stayed 2 nights at the Bell hotel in Chennai. I arrived quite late but the staff were helpful and they seem to have the front desk manned 24/7. Checking in was easy and a porter helped me to my room. I was a little surprized at the small size but it was nicely decorated and the shower/toilet room were a good size. Everything was neat and clean and the air con worked just fine and there was a safe in the room as well as a flat screen TV. Given what I had seen on the way from the airport to the hotel, I was pleasantly surprized though from the outside you might wonder if you've made a big mistake in booking it! Don't worry - the rooms are much nicer than the outside appearance lets on.

There was always someone at the front door to open the door for me regardless of whether I was carrying something or not. Staff were helpful and polite. Internet is not free but is very cheap and reliable, and you can buy it in 1/2 hour blocks.

The hotel is on a busy street which can be tricky to cross but down 1 block is an intersection. (Note: don't buy medicine at the pharmacy at that corner; I did and it turned out to be fake.)

The only thing really lacking at this hotel for me was a decent breakfast. I don't like Indian food but the breakfast at the attached restaurant, which was included in my room rate, was all Indian food except for the "western" option which was 2 small pieces of toasted bread with some jam. Service at the restaurant was horrible - it took at least 10 minutes for someone to come the first day (and it's a small place), and the second day I asked several times to different people for a glass of juice and after 20 minutes nothing came so I left.

If for some reason I was in Chennai again I would definitely stay at this hotel - it's good value for the money, is clean and safe, and an oasis from the pollution outside.

Room Tip: My room backed onto the railway tracks which put me off for a few minutes at first, but it's re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bagya Lakshmi S, Accommodation Officer at Bell Hotel - Chennai, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience you may have experienced in respect to unavailability of Western foods in Breakfast Session and delayed service of juice, which made you to wait for 20 minutes and leave after it.

At Bell Hotel, Chennai, we take pride in ensuring our customer’s satisfaction. Unfortunately, we did not meet your—or our own—expectations. Upon thorough review of the situation, we narrowed the cause to key staff changes.

As a testament to our strive for perfection, we have taken steps to ensure that this will never happen again by creating Unit wide training sessions, hiring staffs for back-up support, etc….

Because of this serious oversight, we are going to host you with us for one Night stay.

We deeply value your relationship with Bell Hotels and are committed to providing you with the highest level of service simply because our customers deserve the very best. If you have any further questions or comments regarding this matter, please feel free to discuss it with us.


Yours in service,

Bagya Lakshmi S
Accommodation Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This is my second stay here. It is a gem hidden in the chaos of Chennai, down the street from the railroad station. Rooms and baths are clean and modern. Comfortable bed. The staff are helpful and went out of their way to help me mail a package. This hotel was a miracle find after leaving a similarly priced hotel a few doors away-trust me, for the price you can't do better. Only drawback is that the area doesn't have much to offer- Hint: ask the staff what the fare should be for a car or tuk tuk and then tell the driver that is what you'll pay. Otherwise they will charge you double.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bagya Lakshmi S, Accommodation Officer at Bell Hotel - Chennai, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

We at Bell Hotel - Chennai thank you for your whole hearted, magnanimous appreciation of your experiences in our Hotel.

We shall strive hard to live up to your assessment in the years to come.

We look forward to your next visit to Chennai.

Please contact us for any future requirement.


Yours in Service,

Bagya Lakshmi S
Accommodation Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Do not be put off by the location or external fascade of the hotel. Inside it is modern, clean and has some very nice rooms with excellent facilities. The surrounding area does not have much to offer, but its proximity to Chennai's main rail terminals is ideal. The rail tracks running behind the hotel are not too much of a problem as the rooms are well sound insulated.
The hotel restaurant has a good menu and offers tasty meals. For westerners, the Indian buffet style breakfast is a bit limited. Toast and coffee are available and not much else.
Overall a very nice hotel albeit in a rather uninteresting location.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bagya Lakshmi S, Accommodation Officer at Bell Hotel - Chennai, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

We at Bell Hotel - Chennai thank you for sparing your valuable time to write a feedback to us.

At Bell Hotel, Chennai, we take pride in ensuring our customer’s satisfaction.

We have modified our Menu by including Western Cuisine, as it will make our guests to feel at home.

We look forward to your next visit to Chennai.

Please contact us for any future requirement.


Yours in Service,

Bagya Lakshmi S
Accommodation Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Hotel was very good. Only the taste of food was not good and with less variety. Like in breakfast no cut fruits was there and variety of food was also less. Should see at other hotels in Chennai what they give in breakfast.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bagya Lakshmi S, Accommodation Officer at Bell Hotel - Chennai, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

We at Bell Hotel - Chennai thank you for your feedbacks.

We deeply value your relationship with Bell Hotels and are committed to providing you with the highest level of service simply because our customers deserve the very best.

We have modified our Menu by including cut fruits, cereals, etc.

We look forward to your next visit to Chennai.

Please contact us for any future requirement.


Yours in Service,

Bagya Lakshmi S
Accommodation Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi / NCR
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Yes there was an undercurrent of sarcasm in my tone when I wrote this review tittle. This was my first visit to Chennai and as an enthusiastic traveller I was excited and got a booking done in this hotel, basis the pictures on the website and some of the internet reviews. Now let me tell you this, it is not a bad hotel, but being a demanding customer I have some criticism for them (I hope they take it positively)
- First things first, the rooms are stupid and small!!!
- For a single occupancy room, they would give you a 3 by 6 single bed (surprise, single occupancy means single bed!!!)
- While they have a restaurant in the same building, the reception says it is not a property of the hotel, or something like that (the name of the restaurant is also Bell!!!) and hence room service will be charged extra!!!

Some positives
- The breakfast was fine, I didnt like the response time of the service staff though
- Just across the street you can get some cheap veg and non-veg food. Trust me the food on the streets in South is good

This was about the hotel, next up is Bangalore and Hyderabad hotel reviews... Till then, Time Out!!!

Cheers
Sumit

Room Tip: - Ask them for a double bed if you need one - Try the food from Tandoori Village across the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bagya Lakshmi S, Accommodation Officer at Bell Hotel - Chennai, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

On behalf of Bell Hotel - Chennai, kindly accept our sincere apologies for not being able to satisfy with our service. We genuinely regret the inconvenience caused to you because of this.

We have accommodated you in a Executive Single Room based on the Accommodation voucher received from Online Booking Portal and the same provided by you to us at the time of check-in.

As a gesture of good will, during your upcoming stay with us, for Single Occupancy, we shall offer you a Deluxe Single Room on Rack Rate.

Many Guests ask us regarding Bar situated next door. Our staff replies that the Bar situated next door is not a part of our property. We guess that while answering a series of question, there is a chance of misunderstanding.

I am sure you would pardon the mistake on our part this time and would continue to patronize us.

We reassure you of our co-operation and look forward to a more positive association with you in the future as well.

Thanking You,
Yours Sincerely,


Bagya Lakshmi Samraj
Accommodation Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, India
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

I had my New Year-2013 celebrated at this hotel. The stay was really Awesome. Even though the hotel is located in the center of the city and close to a railway track, there was no disturbance inside the room and the place offered great comfort and privacy. The main attraction was the cleanliness in the room. The food in the restaurant was also really good. Special thanks to Mr Prashanth and Mr. Manikandan.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bagya Lakshmi S, Accommodation Officer at Bell Hotel - Chennai, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Hotel Bell - Chennai, for your recent stay in Chennai. We are delighted to hear you had an enjoyable time at our hotel.

It was a pleasure to have you as our guest. We hope to see you again soon.

Yours in Service,

Bagya Lakshmi S
Accommodation Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bell Hotel - Chennai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bell Hotel - Chennai

Address: Old Door No 21, New Door No 47 | Poonamallee High Road, Periamet, Chennai (Madras) 600003, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai (Madras)
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 336 hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bell Hotel - Chennai 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BELL HOTEL - CHENNAI is a building which has heritage that goes back to 1930's. The restored theme reflects of the culture, heritage and the life of what the city was called then "Madras". The hotel has a 50 cover multi-cuisine restaurant "Bell Restaurant". With a total of 49 rooms, we have furnished all the rooms in contemporary style. The rooms are equipped with LCD Televisions with satellite connection and Wi-Fi for internet access, and other essential services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, MakeMyTrip, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Bell Hotel - Chennai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bell Hotel - Chennai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.