We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It getting worse” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Tuscana Pizzeria

Tuscana Pizzeria
19, 3rd Street, Wallace Garden | Nungambakkam, Next To Apollo Hospital, Chennai (Madras) 600034, India
044 45038008
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 4,449 Restaurants in Chennai (Madras)
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $9 - $13
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, Dessert, Pasta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: "A classic wood fired pizzeria created by Vipin Sachdev & Chef Willi brings the very best of authentic Italian food to the city. Tucked away in the upcoming area of Khader Nawaz Khan, we offer thin crust wood fired pizza with 4 different bases- Classic refined wheat, Whole wheat, Multigrain and Gluten free, presented in rustic wooden platter which adds originality to a flavorful experience. Our pizzeria is complemented by the addition of delectable risottos and inviting pastas, where we also offer a range of eggless, homemade and gluten free options. The trophy tiramisu is just one of our many devoured desserts, which complemented by an espresso is the perfect end to an authentic savored Italian experience. The Tuscana team extends a warm welcome to you and we hope you give us the honor of unleashing your taste buds while we delightfully serve you. "
Chennai, Tamil Nadu, India
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“It getting worse”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Nobody really cares in this restaurant anymore for your value. its a fine dining... but the waiters dont know to speak the language properly.

The last time i visited and asked for a dessert pizza i got a closed pizza with chocolate,. They were just trying to sell the pizza somehow. This was a week back. i am told to understand later that the boy does not understand english vdery well.

Yesterday the waiter who attended to us could not speak one word of english legibly.
When we asked for Ravioli, it wasnt available. didnt you have the dough? What was it.

We pay a premium for this fine dining and we get crap. Just not acceptable.

And you dont even have the decency to accept a feedback on your facebook page. My feedback was deleted in a few seconds.
Why do you ask for a feedback Mr. Tuscana? If there is no intentions to improve?

What a shame that a great place is following suit just like all other restaurants that started and closed. Complacency? Catch it before it ruins you.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VipinSachdev, Owner at Tuscana Pizzeria, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear Liz,
Thank you for your feedback & I assure you i have taken corrective action. Sorry for the poor experience that you to go through. Please accept my apologies.
The "Calzone al Cioccolato" is a Sweetened folded pizza filled with raspberry and chocolate, topped with eggless tiramisu mascarpone cream. In case you have been served this as a open pizza in the past, it would have been on your asking or a faulty serving. In any case we serve it closed & will serve it open on customers specific requests.
Your strong allegation reg the deletion of your feedback on our FB page is not true. We have never deleted any negative post nor will we ever delete. Please realize that posts by guests on FB pages are seen in the the right side of the page under "Recent Posts by Others on Tuscana Kryptos, See Al"l. Your post along with all other negative & positive feedback exists & your post has been responded by me personally.
I thank you once again for your feedback, thank you for your business of the past & thank you in advance for the business in the future. I believe you will be there for us always & we will be there for the guest incl you always.
Regards.
Vipin Sachdev.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    180
    96
    33
    11
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pondicherry, Pondicherry, India
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Pizzzzzzzassss”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Tuscana is one of the best place for thin crusted fire wood pizza. Cheesy garlic bread was fantastic. Pasta was not upto the mark. Good ambience a and lovely music... Only thing which I felt was that the tables were placed very close.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VipinSachdev, Manager at Tuscana Pizzeria, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear Shital,

Thank you for your feedback! We love our pizzas & especially the melt in the mouth garlic bread. We have recently introduced gluten-free pizzas as well as whole grain and whole wheat pizzas too.At Tuscana Pizzeria, we aim to serve Italian style food in a pizzeria/café style setting at a fair price. We love the hustle and bustle of our pizzeria that accompanies our casual setting, as we find that it provides a sense of togetherness and oneness between all the customers. We often find our customers striking up a conversation with other tables, which is something we love. However for customers who prefer a more “fine” experience, we recommend that they visit Tuscana on Chamiers. Tuscana on Chamiers has a more expansive menu as it contains main courses, as well. Nonetheless, we are sorry about the Pasta not being upto the high standards we have set for ourselves. We are taking corrective action on the same, thank you for bringing this to our attention. Hope you have heard about out Greek Restaurant Kryptos by Willi which serves a great Buffet spread for lunch from Monday to Friday do check it out whenever you can, we are sure you would enjoy it too. We will love to see you again.
Cheers
Joseph, Chef Arul & Neha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai, Tamil Nadu, India
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Good for Thin Crust Pizzas!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

If you really want to try out delicious thin crust authentic italian pizzas - Tuscana is the place to be. The Garlic bread with cheese is something that you should not miss as well. We tried Zuppa (Soup) and they tasted different from the regular ones, the paneer masala pizza will give you a little Indian edge (if you wanna be loyal to your Indian taste buds). Pastas and Raviollis are okay but Pizza are better :)

A must try family dine out if you are a italian food lover and are visiting Chennai for a Food Retreat :)

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VipinSachdev, Owner at Tuscana Pizzeria, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear Sorav,
Thank you for this feedback! We love our pizzas as well. We have recently introduced gluten-free pizzas as well as whole grain and whole wheat pizzas. I urge you try the Formaggio Aastha (Paneer Masala) pizza with the one of these healthy bases on your next visit. We hope to see you soon!
Cheers.
Vipin Sachdev.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Used to be much better!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Tuscana used to be one of the finest places to eat at in Chennai and was known for good service and a quality dining ambience along with great Italian food. However, I visited this place recently and was utterly disappointed with the way it has become. The ambience is no longer "fine" - the tables have been moved too close and at the food on your neighbour's table is at arm's length. The food quality has dipped considerably - we were served pizza with half the toppings missing, the pasta was overcooked and appeared very different from what it seemed like on the menu. The service was a let down as well - when we complained about the food, we were told that it was a busy night and they were short staffed; thereby justifying the shortcomings. Overall, it was a disappointment since it is a restaurant that has priced itself by gourmet standards but the service and food did not match the pricing!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VipinSachdev, Owner at Tuscana Pizzeria, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear Medha,
At Tuscana Pizzeria, we aim to serve Italian style food in a pizzeria/café style setting at a fair price. We love the hustle and bustle of our pizzeria that accompanies our casual setting, as we find that it provides a sense of togetherness and oneness between all the customers. I often find our customers striking up a conversation with other tables, which is something I love. However for customers who prefer a more “fine” experience, we recommend that they visit Tuscana on Chamiers. Tuscana on Chamiers has a more expansive menu as it contains main courses, as well. Nevertheless, we are extremely sorry for your bad experience. We thank you for bringing this to the attention of our staff at the restaurant, but we are very sorry that they seemed to have justified their behavior. We always encourage feedback, as it will help us improve and uphold the high standards that we set for ourselves. We have taken this up with our team and have worked on it so that on your next visit you will leave after a great experience. We hope to see you soon!
Regards.
Vipin Sachdev.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“needs improvement”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

The positives - good service, good pizzas, good soups and desserts
The negatives - poor pasta, especially the vegetarian selection, ordered two and each was a disappointment
Ambiance - the tables are too close

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VipinSachdev, Owner at Tuscana Pizzeria, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear Arthur,
I am extremely sorry for the pasta's that you did not enjoy. I am sure this is a rare incident & assure you that you will enjoy the experience on your next visit. At Tuscana Pizzeria, we serve Italian style food in a casual pizzeria style setting. We were greatly influenced by the pizzeria’s we visited in Milan and especially Parma. We noticed a pattern as the tables at the places we visited were very close together. In fact, we asked them about this and they spoke about how the traditional Italian way is to make things very family oriented and that these tables placed closer together encourage togetherness, oneness between all the customers. We love this informality that it provides, as you can just strike up a conversation with a fellow diner. Nevertheless, we recommend that customers who prefer a “finer dining style” visit Tuscana on Chamiers. We love our pizzas and deserts as well. We hope you managed to try our Tiramisu, if not, we urge you to do so on your next experience. We hope to see you soon!
Regards.
Vipin Sachdev.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tuscana Pizzeria also viewed

Chennai (Madras), Tamil Nadu
Chennai (Madras), Tamil Nadu
 
Chennai (Madras), Tamil Nadu
Chennai (Madras), Tamil Nadu
 

Been to Tuscana Pizzeria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tuscana Pizzeria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.