We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent facilities and luxurious stay while in Chennai” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Raintree Hotel, Anna Salai

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Raintree Hotel, Anna Salai to your Saves list
The Raintree Hotel, Anna Salai
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   636, Anna Salai | Teynampet, Chennai (Madras) 600035, India   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Weekend Specials-Save 40%
Ranked #14 of 337 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Bangalore, India
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Excellent facilities and luxurious stay while in Chennai”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

This is a very centrally located hotel which is very affordable especially if you look for deals on the travel web sites. It is worth every penny paid due to the treatment that you get, the ambience of the rooms, options of the restaurant and the icing on the cake being the gym and the spa.

Very close to main shopping places in Chennai and the quality of food. The toiletries are from Biotique and the linen placed in the room is always clean. Ergonomic work chairs which I have not found in many hotels across India.

Value for money and pamper yourself at the raintree

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
G_M-The_Raintree, General Manager at The Raintree Hotel, Anna Salai, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Raintree, Anna Salai!!

We really appreciate and thank you for taking the time and sharing your positive review about the Hotel and our services on Trip Advisor. We are glad that your stay was comfortable and we could meet your expectations. Your feedback will definitely motivate our team towards achieving higher and exceeding levels of expectations.

The entire team looks forward to welcome you back at The Raintree, Anna Salai.

Best Regards

Hemant Mehta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

544 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    284
    207
    36
    8
    9
See reviews for
73
65
50
321
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon, Portugal
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Very valuable hotel not too far from the city main sights: modern and clean rooms, excellent bathroom, lot of facilities and 2 restaurants inside.
May seem a little too posh or costy or "cool", but definitely one of the best staying I've experienced in South India.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
G_M-The_Raintree, General Manager at The Raintree Hotel, Anna Salai, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Raintree, Anna Salai

We really appreciate and thank you for taking the time and sharing positive review about the Hotel and our services. I have shared your review with my entire team and am confident that your feedback will further motivate them towards achieving higher and exceeding levels of expectations.
The entire team looks forward to welcoming you again at The Raintree Hotel, Anna Salai.

Best Regards

Hemant Mehta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, India
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

I often stay here when I visit Chennai for Biz trip and perfect hotel for this purpose.
My company accommodate me The Park or here and I prefer here even they have bath tab in the room, and KAMA amenity.

1:Small hotel, but perfectly maintained , clean, starched Sheets, amenities are Biotique Bio
2:Complementary Fruites plate upon check in
3:Varius Buffet ( they have more than 6 kind of pastries, more than 4 kind of juice, Beef, pork sausage, cheese etc
( Only negative point is they never change menu at least this past one year)
4:Location is opposite Apolo Hospital Anna salai,20 mins by car from Airport without traffic Jam .
5:Staff are ok, I can see their effort of friendliness or service, well groomed.
6:No bath tab in Standard room
7:CNN, NHK, Arirang is available.
8:Not to far from TKK Road , where most restaurants locate. ( In Soul, Benjarong, Teppan, Go Go Ramen etc ) approx. 15 mins by car without traffic.
9:No Humidity or smell in the room ( Which most of hotels in chennai has, as it's sea side )

in addition, they have gym, pool, Spa( Not really recommended though) Gift shop and Roof top restaurant. For Busy Business tripper , necessaries are all in the facility and convenient.

I am very happy guest, will come back .
Hope you to keep the quality of guest service.

Room Tip: So far I stayed 2~5th floor and no complain. just 5th room had lots power cut when I stayed and I am...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
G_M-The_Raintree, General Manager at The Raintree Hotel, Anna Salai, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Raintree, Anna Salai,

We really appreciate and thank you for taking the time and sharing your review on trip advisor. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and our services. Your feedback is indeed motivating and will definitely encourage the team to further enhance our services.
The entire team looks forward to welcoming you again at The Raintree, Anna Salai

Best Regards

Hemant Mehta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palakkad, India, Asia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014 via mobile

I had a very good time with my family. Rooms are maintained well.Staffs were very co-operative.Food is really fabulous. should try murg dum biryaani and cheese cake. ...Overall ambience is very good...eagerly waiting for another stay in raintree. ...

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
G_M-The_Raintree, General Manager at The Raintree Hotel, Anna Salai, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Raintree, Anna Salai!!

We really appreciate and thank you for taking the time and sharing your experience on trip advisor. We are glad that your enjoyed our services and we could meet your expectations. I have shared your note of appreciation with our Chefs and shall ensure that their efforts are duly recognized.

The entire team looks forward to welcome you back at The Raintree Anna Salai.

Best Regards

Hemant Mehta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014 via mobile

Stayed in the Raintree Hotel for 4 nights during a business trip.

As a business traveler, all my expectations were met.
The hotel has multiple restaurants, meeting most peoples preference on food, ranging from traditional South Indian food, through classical European till simple and quick bar snack.

The rooms are nice and clean. The size is good for one or two travellers. If there are more sharing a room, it will be tight.

The hotel offered free wifi. Speed was ok, but nothing more. Sufficient to check email, but not enough for online entertainment. (Forget Netflix, then you would need more days).

In short, when traveling for business, I would come back. All is covered.
If traveling on vacation with family, I would look around for an other hotel

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
G_M-The_Raintree, General Manager at The Raintree Hotel, Anna Salai, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Raintree Anna salai!!

We really appreciate and thank you for taking the time and sharing your review on trip advisor. We are glad that your enjoyed our services and we could meet your expectations.

The entire team looks forward to welcome you back at The Raintree Anna Salai

Best Regards

Hemant Mehta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mumbai
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

Stayed here for only one night. I was on a business trip. Could not experience the facilities.

We arrived late night after our meetings. The checkin process was very smooth and fast. The bar is next to the reception. Even for the short time we were at the reception, the person singing in the bar was horrible.

The breakfast had a good spread. But, I had to return the omlette two times since I had requested a well done. Everytime the chef was preparing one which had the egg uncooked on the inside.

I checked in late and left early morning. So could not experience the facilities available.

The room was clean and spacious. The bed was comfortable. The chair in the room was very comfortable.

Will stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
G_M-The_Raintree, General Manager at The Raintree Hotel, Anna Salai, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings!!!

Thank you very much for sharing your review. We have made a note of your feedback with regards to uncooked eggs served for breakfast and shall definitely improvise on our shortfalls. We have also noted your feedback about the poor quality of singer at the bar, however would like to keep you appraised that we had karaoke night in the bar at the time of your check-in and few of our guest wear trying there singing skills.

I hope you will have more time during your next visit to experience our hospitality.Once again thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you again at The Raintree, Anna Salai.

Best Regards

Hemant Mehta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

This was the first stay at a 5 star hotel in my life and I thoroughly enjoyed it.Had gone to the hotel with great expectations and everything was met perfectly.Definitely an A+++ hotel as everything was right apart from the traffic.Will definitely visit again for their class and ambience.Thank you for helping us have a memorable stay.

Stayed May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
G_M-The_Raintree, General Manager at The Raintree Hotel, Anna Salai, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Raintree, Anna Salai!!

We really appreciate and thank you for taking the time and sharing your positive review about the Hotel and our services on Trip Advisor. We are glad that your stay was memorable and we could meet your expectations. Your feedback will definitely motivate our team towards achieving higher and exceeding levels of expectations.

The entire team looks forward to welcome you back at The Raintree, Anna Salai.

Best Regards

Hemant Mehta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Raintree Hotel, Anna Salai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Raintree Hotel, Anna Salai

Address: 636, Anna Salai | Teynampet, Chennai (Madras) 600035, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai (Madras)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#9 Spa Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#10 Family Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#10 Business Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#11 Luxury Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Raintree Hotel, Anna Salai 4.5*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Raintree Hotel Anna Salai when open will provide business travelers and family vacationers a one of a kind experience in the bustling city center of Chennai. This eco-sensitive hotel at Anna Salai will host an array of contemporary luxury features. A convenient location next to exciting local attractions will couple with a variety of personalized services and vacation packages to make your stay a home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotel.de, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Raintree Hotel, Anna Salai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Raintree Hotel, Annasalai Hotel Chennai (Madras)

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Raintree Hotel, Anna Salai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.