We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fully thought through” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Raintree Hotel, Anna Salai

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Raintree Hotel, Anna Salai to your Saves list
The Raintree Hotel, Anna Salai
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   636, Anna Salai | Teynampet, Chennai (Madras) 600035, India   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Early Bird Offer-Save15%
Ranked #14 of 338 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fully thought through”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

Great rooms, nice facility, great time.....loved it. Great food. 4 complimentary laundry is an awesome idea. Lobby is well thought through.

Location at timed gets busy, but it is fine.

I think it is reeL value for money, certainly more.

Up north restaurant us really. Ice experience. Once should never forget the terrace restaurant.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
G_M-The_Raintree, General Manager at The Raintree Hotel, Anna Salai, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings!!

Thank you very much for the review and appreciating our services. Also thank you very much for recommending The Raintree Hotels and our Up-North restaurant. It is feedback like yours that really motivates our team and encourages to further enhance our services.

The entire team looks forward to welcome you again at The Raintree Hotels, Anna Salai.

Best Regards,
Hemant Mehta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

577 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    306
    217
    36
    9
    9
See reviews for
76
72
54
336
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

Lovely hotel with very helpful staff. The breakfast was awesome and plentiful. Excellent food at the hotel restaurants. It has a nice rooftop swimming pool and open air restaurant from where one can have a great view of the city.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
G_M-The_Raintree, General Manager at The Raintree Hotel, Anna Salai, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Raintree, Anna Salai.

Thank you very much for the great review. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and we managed to meet your expectations. It is feedback like yours that really motivates the entire team to continue and further enhance our services.

We look forward to Welcoming you again whenever you plan to visit Chennai next at The Raintree Hotel, Anna Salai.

Best Regards,

Hemant Mehta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

We stayed in this hotel on 17th, 26th till 28th Nov during our South India pilgrimage tour. We felt very comfortable and warm as the staffs attended to all our needs in a friendly manner and fast. We booked 2 rooms and requested king size bed and we were given rooms at different level during our 2nd check in. Thus, we requested nearby rooms at the same level with king size bed and it has been arranged without any hassle.
Varieties of foods served for breakfast. The only comment I have is on the wifi connection which I think the hotel should provide 24 hours free access. The Hotel has given wifi paid package to me and it only lasted for few hours.

Room Tip: Do ask for rooms on the left wing since it has better view compared to right wing
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
G_M-The_Raintree, General Manager at The Raintree Hotel, Anna Salai, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Raintree Hotel, Annasalai!!!

Thank you very much for sharing your review. I am glad that you thoroughly enjoyed your recent stay at our Hotel. I have shared your feedback with my team and especially with Kamal and am sure they are happy and highly motivated.

We look forward to welcoming you again at The Raintree Hotel, Anna Salai and please feel free to contact me at gm@raintreehotels.com for any further assistance.

Best Regards

Hemant Mehta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

We stayed here in Nov for 5 nts. We were 3 ladies with 2 kids who stayed at the executive suite.
We enjoyed our stay here, cause our main aim to come to chennai was to shop.
T nagar is just a stone throw away, and can be reached by auto by 10mins.
The reception were very professional, and a special Thanks to Kamal who always arranged the fast track taxis for us. He was very courteous and mindful of our needs.
All in all we enjoyed our stay at the RainTree.

Stayed November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
G_M-The_Raintree, General Manager at The Raintree Hotel, Anna Salai, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings!!

Thank you very much for the review and appreciating our services. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and we could meet your expectations. We have also made a note of your comments on WI-FI and will definately see if we can improvise on our services.

Once again thank you for the review and looking forward to welcome you again at The Raintree Hotels, Anna Salai.

Best Regards,
Hemant Mehta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
somewhere
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

I am staying in the hotel again tomorrow. I was impressed by the cleanliness and politeness of the front line officers when I checked-in late at night. The room was spacious for a deluxe and well equipped with the basic necessities that a business traveller/tourist would expect. Breakfast served was mostly continental. Being a Summit hotel, a CNN or Channel News Asia channel will make a difference to the overall experience of the room.

However, service at late night which i experienced require patient. We were given a room which had a strong cigarette stench. We requested for a non smoking floor immediately and were upgraded to a suite. It was a pleasant surprise but we needed to wait for about 45minutes before moving into our new room. The front line officer who was responsible for the change of room was very polite over the phone and in person. He could have suggested that we rest at the suite lounge while waiting for the room to be ready. Instead we were made to wait in our room which caused great discomfort to my respiratory system. Nevertheless he tried his best to comfort us that the room would be ready in no time.

We would still recommend this hotel to others as it is accessible to many places in the city.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
G_M-The_Raintree, General Manager at The Raintree Hotel, Anna Salai, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings!!

Thank you very much for the review and for appreciating services of our front line staff, at the same time my sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused due to the cigrette smoke smell in the room alloted to you and also for the time taken to allot you the fresh room.
We have made a note of your prefrence and updated your profile and would like to assure you that appropriate measures are taken to ensure that such incidents do not get repeated with any of our valued guests.
I thank you for bringing this to our notice and do apologize for the inconvenience caused and assure the best of services ahead. The entire team looks forward to welcome you back at The Raintree, Anna Salai, as we would like you to experience the true hospitality that we are known for.

Best Regards

Hemant Mehta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013 via mobile

I stay here for business and it is a haven in the madness of Chennai. From the airport pick up to check in everything is well done. The rooms are clean, the beds and pillows extremely comfortable. The security is very good. The hotel facilities are great with the gym and pool being just as good as any international hotel. The food at The Kitchen is very very good with lots of different cuisines. The service is very personable, although some times a bit slow in the club lounge. Our office always books the business packages which are very reasonable.

This place is a real treat and I would highly recommend it to everyone.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
G_M-The_Raintree, General Manager at The Raintree Hotel, Anna Salai, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings!!

Thank you very much for the review and appreciating our services. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and we managed to meet your expectations. Also thank you very much for recommending The Raintree Hotels to all our guests. It is feedback like yours that really motivates the entire team to continue and further enhance our services.

The entire team looks forward to welcome you again at The Raintree Hotels, Anna Salai.

Best Regards,
Hemant Mehta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kettering, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

You may find this review a little strange based on the FIVE STAR rating , as a very frequent visitor to this hotel i feel I should just highlight some of the problems that are happening , don't get me wrong the staff here are some of the best in Chennai from the guys at the hotel entry , through check in , and then on to the bars & restaurants , a special mention for Nasir & team in the Kitchen , Hari & Karthik in Maderia and also Kapoor , Jeish & Hari at the High Bar.
Now to the problems.....understaffing......this is very noticeable especially in the Kitchen restaurant in the evening , during one evening 60/70 people were attempting to eat and only THREE staff , even the hotel managers were helping clearing tables , people were waiting 45 mins after ordering and then getting incorrect orders.
Room cleaning / service.....again not to the usual standard.....toiletries not replaced all the time.
Television channels.....this has been a ongoing problem , us western chaps do like our UK football on a Saturday evening , but still no channels.....and now to top it all......no BBC WORLD NEWS.
Even went to the local 4 Star GRT Grand last Sunday and ALL the above channels were available.
Myself personally and also along with other company members stay here over 100+ nights a year so come on Raintree management get these problems sorted , this is not the Raintree of old and these problems need addressing.
This was a great hotel and still has fantastic staff , but is showing signs of a few continuing problems.
I will always be happy to stay here and happy to sacrifice the TV situation but if the hotel starts losing major staff members due to additional pressure being applied by the hotel then us frequent visitors will look elsewhere.

Room Tip: Book direct and ask for a inclusive deal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
G_M-The_Raintree, General Manager at The Raintree Hotel, Anna Salai, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings!!

Thank you very much for the review and appreciating services of my team. I have shared your feedback with Nasir, Hari, Karthik, Kapoor, Jiesh, and our front office team and they are highly delighted.
On a second note please allow me this opportunity to apologize for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay. The Raintree Hotels, Anna Salai is committed to providing our guests with the highest quality services and facilities. We sincerely regret we fell short of our goal in this instance as you experienced slow service at The Kitchen restaurant, Room service and housekeeping wear not up to your expectations and non availability of television channels of your choice (sports and BBC). I have shared your comments with my senior management team and would like to assure you that all appropriate measures are taken to ensure that we meet yours and all our guests’ expectations.
Your willingness to share your experience is genuinely appreciated. The entire team looks forward to welcome you back at The Raintree, Anna Salai, as we would like you to experience the true hospitality that we are known for.

Best Regards

Hemant Mehta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Raintree Hotel, Anna Salai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Raintree Hotel, Anna Salai

Address: 636, Anna Salai | Teynampet, Chennai (Madras) 600035, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai (Madras)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#9 Spa Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#10 Business Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#12 Family Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#12 Luxury Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Raintree Hotel, Anna Salai 4.5*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Raintree Hotel Anna Salai when open will provide business travelers and family vacationers a one of a kind experience in the bustling city center of Chennai. This eco-sensitive hotel at Anna Salai will host an array of contemporary luxury features. A convenient location next to exciting local attractions will couple with a variety of personalized services and vacation packages to make your stay a home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Raintree Hotel, Anna Salai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Raintree Hotel, Annasalai Hotel Chennai (Madras)

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Raintree Hotel, Anna Salai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.