We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice stay and wonderful staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Raintree Hotel, Anna Salai

Save Saved
You added The Raintree Hotel, Anna Salai to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Raintree Hotel, Anna Salai
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   636, Anna Salai | Teynampet, Chennai (Madras) 600035, India   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Advance Purchase Rate
Ranked #10 of 336 hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
“Very nice stay and wonderful staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

I typically stayed at the Courtyard Marriott on Annasalai, therefore had become very used to excellent service. I stayed here when the Courtyard was very full and could not accomodate a room for one person traveling with us. I have to say I was extremely satisfied with the room cleanliness, decor, restaurants, gym and overall friendliness of the staff. A "must do" is to have dinner at the restaurant just to the left of the reception desk when the live music is going on. Not only is the food awesome, but the ambiance is perfect. The rooftop restaurant and pool was very nice as well. We went there when the restaurant was not yet open, yet had the best dinner! Definately worth a stay....

Room Tip: Get a high floor, so you can have a view of the lights and sights farther away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
G_M-The_Raintree, General Manager at The Raintree Hotel, Anna Salai, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear Sir/Ma'am,

Greetings from The Raintree Hotel, Annasalai!!!

Thank you very much for sharing your review. I am glad to know that you enjoyed your stay and dinning experience and we have met your expectation, feedback like your will also keep the team motivated. We really appreciate this gesture and feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you again at The Raintree Hotel, Anna Salai.

Best Regards

Piyush Tyagi.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

504 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    266
    190
    32
    8
    8
See reviews for
62
62
46
307
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calcutta, West Bengal, India
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

My family and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the rain tree and would recommend to anyone thinking of staying here. The staff were absolutely amazing and made the entire experience wonderful. They were genuine, friendly and always trying to help to make our stay better.
The rooms were very good and clean and beautiful .We ordered room service or ate at the in site restaurant many times and were very pleased with the food. The breakfast buffet likewise was wonderful. They had a gym area with lots of equipment and staff and we put it to good use. The staff here deserve many thanks for their help.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
G_M-The_Raintree, General Manager at The Raintree Hotel, Anna Salai, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Dear Sir/Ma'am,

Greetings from The Raintree Hotel, Annasalai!!!

Thank you very much for sharing your review. I am glad to know that you enjoyed your stay and dinning experience and we have met your expectation, feedback like your will also keep the team motivated. We really appreciate this gesture and feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you again at The Raintree Hotel, Anna Salai.

Best Regards

Piyush Tyagi.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Have stayed in various 5 star hotels in chennai before, i have to say this is the best of the lot in the city. a very modern and trendy hotel and is perfect for a business traveler.
Stayed there for 3 nights and have to say that the stay was Excellent. rooms were spacious and comfortable and with all modern amenities.
This hotel also has good restaurants and bars, my favourite was the coffee shop, whenever i visited there the staff greeted me with a smile and with my name which is missing in other hotels in chennai.Food is outstanding and hats off to all the chefs working in that hotel.
All in all m waiting for my next visit to the hotel...............

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
G_M-The_Raintree, General Manager at The Raintree Hotel, Anna Salai, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear Sir/Ma'am,

Greetings from The Raintree Hotel, Annasalai!!!

Thank you very much for sharing your review. I am glad to know that you enjoyed your stay and dinning experience and we have met your expectation, feedback like your will also keep the team motivated. We really appreciate this gesture and feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you again at The Raintree Hotel, Anna Salai.

Best Regards

Piyush Tyagi.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

The Raintree Hotel, Chennai is a great experience. Ambiance, look and feel, decor, comfort was superb !!! One Must stay during the Chennai Visit. Food and specially morning Breakfast was Gr8. Keep the good standard up.......

Room Tip: Rooms on 6th Floor....
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
G_M-The_Raintree, General Manager at The Raintree Hotel, Anna Salai, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear Sir,

Greetings from The Raintree Hotel, Annasalai!!!

Thank you very much for sharing your review. I am glad to know that you enjoyed your stay and we have met your expectation, feedback like your will also keep the team motivated. We really appreciate this gesture and feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you again at The Raintree Hotel, Anna Salai.

Best Regards

Piyush Tyagi.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Having tried some of the finest 5 star Hotels in Chennai before, I wanted to give Raintree Anna Salai a try and I regret my decision. I stayed there with my son for 4 nights in the last week of April 2013 in a twin-bed deluxe room. The first impression: It was a masquerade in the name of a 5 star Hotel. In fact, nothing about this Hotel seemed 5 Star to me, except the RATES!

Positives:
1. Good location & a good facade
2. Effortless check-in
3. Nice sound-proofing (even on the 4th floor, you do not hear much noise, though the Hotel is bang on the main road with heavy traffic by day)
4. Good Laundry (Though they don’t leave behind a copy of the checklist – You have no way of claiming any lost clothing in case they do)
5. Internet speed is good
6. Table service in ‘The Kitchen’ is quick

Negatives:
1. The rooms are small and look very ordinary (more like a 3 star deluxe property).
2. The décor in the Hotel and the room is too simple and lacks any sense of luxury that the Hotel is trying to portray
3. No in-room gadgetry or comforts that other 5 star Hotels provide as a ‘basic’
4. The twin beds had wheels on one end and legs on the other, something that one finds only in a Hospital! The Hospital beds have at least locks on the wheels, while these do not! Result: your bed keeps moving away every time you either recline on the head board or when you turn in your sleep! I could never sleep well on any of the 4 nights in those squeaky, mobile beds!
5. The shower alternator came off at the very first shower I tried to take (for a fairly new Hotel!)
6. The bathroom amenities are very minimal. Some 4 star Hotels provide better.
7. Poor housekeeping: Firstly, they never turn up in time when you call or order something in-room. Secondly, they always ask you when they can come back to clear the food tray: you tell them when and they make sure to never turn up!! This happened every time! Result: The leftover food stays overnight in the room and the room smells!
8. Elevators can only be accessed by the Hotel guests using their room key card, which fails many times and you have to go to the Reception time and again to have it updated! Saw many guests fretting.
9. Buffet breakfast spread at ‘The Kitchen’ does not offer much variety and the taste of the food leaves much to be desired. Bacon is always burnt stiff, no one checks to turn the food in the chafing dishes and they end up getting burnt or becoming hard and crunchy!
10. A few waiters need to learn manners in handling guests: I had once ordered a bottle of beer over lunch and when the guy learnt that I am staying in the Hotel, he simply tried to take away the bottle as it was not a part of the free buffet! He could have asked if I would like to pay for it and I would damn well said ‘YESSS’!
11. The rooftop pool location is excellent but the pool is too small (for kids only?) and not a soul to supervise during the day time.

Lastly, I would any day prefer to spend the same money and get a much better deal in many ways in other Hotels like the Hyatt, rather than stay again in the Raintree which calls itself an ‘Eco-sensitive business Hotel’. Would do better if they could be pocket-sensitive too, if they cannot live up to be a 5 star Hotel, as they claim!

Room Tip: "Choose Higher floors facing the Main Road, for a good view"
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
G_M-The_Raintree, General Manager at The Raintree Hotel, Anna Salai, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear Sir/Ma'am,

Greetings from The Raintree Hotel, Annasalai!!!

Thank you very much for sharing your review. I have noted your detailed feedback . Please feel free to write to me or call me at +91.9962222678 or e-mail at eam.annasalai@raintreehotels.com.

We look forward to welcoming you again at The Raintree Hotel, Anna Salai.

Best Regards

Piyush Tyagi.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Stayed here during official trip. Found it as a practical hotel with all comforts, expected from a star hotel. The location is an added advantage, but with the arterial road (anna salai) dug up for the new Metro Train in Chennai, there is lot of rerouting.
The hotel is great for business stay, but for a leisure trip, something else. Had dined in the Punjabi Restaurant "Up North" that served good food. Those manning the reception area could be guys with more experience as they seemed quite fresh from college and were almost rude, quite unexpected from a hotel of this category.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the arterial road of Chennai "Anna Salai" offers a panaromic view in the nigh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
G_M-The_Raintree, General Manager at The Raintree Hotel, Anna Salai, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Sir/Ma'am,

Greetings from The Raintree Hotel, Annasalai!!!

Thank you very much for sharing your review. I am glad to know that you enjoyed your stay and dinning experience and we have met your expectation, feedback like your will also keep the team motivated. We really appreciate this gesture and feedback. Do share more details if possible for your Front of the House Experience as it shall help me to take necessary steps for further Improvement. My e-mail is eam.annasalai@raintreehotels.com.

We look forward to welcoming you again at The Raintree Hotel, Anna Salai.

Best Regards

Piyush Tyagi.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

My husband and I were extremely impressed with the professionalism, service and overall experience at the Raintree Hotel, Anna Salai. The staff there made us feel very welcome and were very helpful and accommodating. The spa at the top level of the hotel provided the best massage I have ever had and the therapist was incredible. The rooms, pool, rooftop bar and restaurants were all well kept and run. We were lucky enough to attend a function in one of the function rooms on the first level (see photos) - and wow! The food was perfectly crafted and artfully designed, tasted beautiful and thoroughly impressed us. In fact, all food from the restaurants in the hotel (headed up by chef Mark Crocker) was fantastic, offering a range of cuisines including Indian, 'oriental', and traditional continental. Karaoke night was a lot of fun too! Overall, a very pleasing, relaxing and enjoyable stay. Would recommend to anyone and would definitely return!

Rebecca,
Melbourne, Australia

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
G_M-The_Raintree, General Manager at The Raintree Hotel, Anna Salai, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Sir/Ma'am,

Greetings from The Raintree Hotel Annasalai!!!

Thank you very much for sharing your review. I am glad to know that you enjoyed your stay and dinning experience and we have met your expectation, feedback like your will also keep the team motivated. We really appreciate this gesture and feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you again at The Raintree Hotel, Anna Salai.

Best Regards

Perkin Rocha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Raintree Hotel, Anna Salai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Raintree Hotel, Anna Salai

Address: 636, Anna Salai | Teynampet, Chennai (Madras) 600035, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai (Madras)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#7 Spa Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#7 Family Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#8 Business Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#9 Luxury Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Raintree Hotel, Anna Salai 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Raintree Hotel Anna Salai when open will provide business travelers and family vacationers a one of a kind experience in the bustling city center of Chennai. This eco-sensitive hotel at Anna Salai will host an array of contemporary luxury features. A convenient location next to exciting local attractions will couple with a variety of personalized services and vacation packages to make your stay a home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your The Raintree Hotel, Anna Salai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Raintree Hotel, Annasalai Hotel Chennai (Madras)

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Raintree Hotel, Anna Salai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.