We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Effficient stay ..with "Vanakkam" overdose” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Raintree Hotel, Anna Salai

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Raintree Hotel, Anna Salai to your Saves list
The Raintree Hotel, Anna Salai
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   636, Anna Salai | Teynampet, Chennai (Madras) 600035, India   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Early Bird Offer-Save15%
Ranked #14 of 338 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Neemrana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Effficient stay ..with "Vanakkam" overdose”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Location : Bang on Anna Salai ...the iconic main arterial high-street of Madras !!!! Flip-side ....Chennai Metro construction has reduced the last-mile canter to a crawl .Impressive facade and lively staff welcome you with plethora of "Vanakkams"!!! The ground floor is always abuzz ...very cosmopolitan and oozing with activity.Rooms are efficiently designed with all basic comforts in place,although the cable channel signal input can be questionable at times.The breakfast spread is truly flattering affair and should not be missed for the pleasure of viewing some early morning indulgences of business travelers across continents .
Overall a very efficient business hotel with limited trappings of a Star Hotel !!!! One must try the Punjabi Open Restaurant adjacent to the roof-top swimming pool .... or the sea-food at the exquisitely South Indian across the lobby !!!! Great choice..if you are in Chennai on business and don't feel claustrophobic for the lack of open lawns .

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
G_M-The_Raintree, General Manager at The Raintree Hotel, Anna Salai, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear Sir,

Vanakkam!!!

Thank you very much for sharing your review. I am glad to know that you enjoyed your stay and dinning experience and we met your expectation, feedback like your will also keep the team motivated. We really appreciate this gesture and feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you again at The Raintree Hotel, Anna Salai.

Best Regards

Perkin Rocha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

574 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    303
    217
    36
    9
    9
See reviews for
75
70
54
336
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Two years ago I had reviewed Raintree and shared how delighted I was overall.
During the past year I have had multiple stays at Raintree and some of them lasting weeks on account of work. I recently visited again after 3 months and stayed there only for one night.
What amazed me was:
1. The bouncer (yes they have 2-3 of them) at the main door gave a big smile and said Welcome Back. I nodded back wondering how he recognized me after a gap.
2. At the front desk as I checked in, I asked the young man which room can I get. He smiled back and replied - Your usual one Sir. Now it was my turn to smile as they gave me my favourite corner room.
3. Once in the room, I asked the bell-boy if he could fetch me the firm pillow I normally have when staying there. He returned after 15 minutes with a pillow which was okay but not the ortho one I usually got. I mentioned this to him and said it was okay when he looked a bit sceptical if the one I asked existed at all. After 15 minutes he was back beaming from ear to ear, proudly holding "my" ortho pillow cased in a fresh cover. He apologised for not getting it right the first time. I could just say a big thank you to him - his name was Abhimanyu.

Raintree continues to excel in its service and delights its guests. Keep it up guys.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
G_M-The_Raintree, General Manager at The Raintree Hotel, Anna Salai, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear Sir,

Vanakkam!!!

Thank you very much for sharing your review. I am glad to know that you enjoyed your stay and we met your expectation, feedback like your will also keep the team motivated. We really appreciate this gesture and feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you again at The Raintree Hotel, Anna Salai.

Best Regards

Perkin Rocha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

The place looks great. I loved the food. Though I have not stayed in the rooms I have been there. The rooms are a little small but nice.The reception staff could be a little more nicer but the staff at the restaurants where good. The restaurants have great ambiance. The food is pretty good. Service was good too. The place is on Chennai's busiest road the mount road but you will not feel it once you are inside.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
G_M-The_Raintree, General Manager at The Raintree Hotel, Anna Salai, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear Sir/Ma'am,

Vanakkam!!!

Thank you very much for sharing your review. I am glad to know that you enjoyed your stay and dinning experience and we met your expectation, feedback like your will also keep the team motivated. We really appreciate this gesture and feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you again at The Raintree Hotel, Anna Salai.

Best Regards

Perkin Rocha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Clean and modern rooms and terrific buffet food downstairs. The price I got was really reasonable with breakfast included. Some of the staff members downstairs in the lobby were a bit stuck up and gave me some incorrect information on things in Chennai (hence a lost star). Also, it sounded like only first 2 floors were non-smoking, the upper 6 or so levels had smoking rooms. How backwards is that! Would otherwise highly recommend this hotel!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
G_M-The_Raintree, General Manager at The Raintree Hotel, Anna Salai, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear Sir/Ma'am,

Vanakkam!!!

Thank you very much for sharing your review. I am glad to know that you enjoyed your stay and we met your expectation, feedback like your will also keep the team motivated.

On city information I shall look personally myself and ensure that the staff is well updated with city information and ensure it does not happen to any guest going forward.

We really appreciate this gesture and feedback. We look forward to welcoming you again at The Raintree Hotel, Anna Salai.

Best Regards

Perkin Rocha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Nice Location, was pleasantly surpirsed with the hotel. Staff is nice, food was good ate at the North Indian resteraunt on the terrace.The Sky Bar is also nice, though they need to provide the complete list of Beers mentioned on the Menu. Took the Club rooms which was good.Shall repeat the hotel in the future

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
G_M-The_Raintree, General Manager at The Raintree Hotel, Anna Salai, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear Sir/Ma'am,

Vanakkam!!!

Thank you very much for sharing your review. I am glad to know that you enjoyed your stay and we met your expectation, feedback like your will also keep the team motivated. We really appreciate this gesture and feedback. We look forward to welcoming you again at The Raintree Hotel, Anna Salai.

Best Regards

Perkin Rocha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Top Contributor
297 reviews 297 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

I have stayed for a night at this relatively new property of Raintree. This property is much better than their earlier boutique property in Chennai.
Room: spacious, well appointed, neat, clean, very good toiletries, fantastic sound sleep is assured

Room Tip: Buffet spread both for the dinner and breakfast, is excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
G_M-The_Raintree, General Manager at The Raintree Hotel, Anna Salai, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Sir/Ma'am,

Vanakkam!!!

Thank you very much for sharing your review. I am glad to know that you enjoyed your stay and we met your expectation, feedback like your will also keep the team motivated. We really appreciate this gesture and feedback. We look forward to welcoming you again at The Raintree Hotel, Anna Salai.

Best Regards

Perkin Rocha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

As soon as I landed the staff were very helpful & friendly in giving me an early check in.. The rooms were very classy & cozy.. Very well maintained.. The food at the restuarant was superb.. I have stayed in many hotels, Raintree Anna Salai is amongst the best.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
G_M-The_Raintree, General Manager at The Raintree Hotel, Anna Salai, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Sir/Ma'am,

Vanakkam!!!

Thank you very much for sharing your review. I am glad to know that you enjoyed your stay and dinning experience and we met your expectation, feedback like your will also keep the team motivated. We really appreciate this gesture and feedback. We look forward to welcoming you again at The Raintree Hotel, Anna Salai.

Best Regards

Perkin Rocha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Raintree Hotel, Anna Salai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Raintree Hotel, Anna Salai

Address: 636, Anna Salai | Teynampet, Chennai (Madras) 600035, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai (Madras)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#9 Spa Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#10 Family Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#10 Business Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#12 Luxury Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Raintree Hotel, Anna Salai 4.5*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Raintree Hotel Anna Salai when open will provide business travelers and family vacationers a one of a kind experience in the bustling city center of Chennai. This eco-sensitive hotel at Anna Salai will host an array of contemporary luxury features. A convenient location next to exciting local attractions will couple with a variety of personalized services and vacation packages to make your stay a home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Raintree Hotel, Anna Salai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Raintree Hotel, Annasalai Hotel Chennai (Madras)

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Raintree Hotel, Anna Salai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.