We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice lunch buffet” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Raintree Hotel, Anna Salai

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Raintree Hotel, Anna Salai to your Saves list
The Raintree Hotel, Anna Salai
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   636, Anna Salai | Teynampet, Chennai (Madras) 600035, India   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Early Bird Offer-Save15%
Ranked #15 of 338 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Dearborn, Michigan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Nice lunch buffet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Hosted a group luncheon here. The locals picked the spot, so they all liked the venue too. Excellent quality, service, venue. Beautiful grounds, fountain. Picture taking opportunities. I did not lodge, so no advice commentary there.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
G_M-The_Raintree, General Manager at The Raintree Hotel, Anna Salai, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Dear Sir/Ma'am,

Vanakkam!!!

Thank you very much for sharing your review. I am glad to know that you enjoyed your lunch and we met your expectation, feedback like your will also keep the team motivated. We really appreciate this gesture and feedback. . We look forward to welcoming you again at The Raintree Hotel, Anna Salai.

Best Regards

Perkin Rocha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

578 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    306
    217
    36
    9
    10
See reviews for
77
72
54
336
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Never mind the posted price and hold on to your wallets should you pick this hotel! They will nickle and dime you for everything! Internet oscillates between fast and slow, this is, after you are forced to give your IP address to the IT guy! The only saving grace is the restaurant manager Ram, a very polite and helpful young man. Never again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
G_M-The_Raintree, General Manager at The Raintree Hotel, Anna Salai, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Dear Sir/Ma'am,

Vanakkam!!!

Thank you very much for sharing your review. feedback like your will also keep us to improve our service levels and guest expectation. I shall work with my IT team to ensure that we are able to give smooth and seamless connectivity.

I would also appreciate incase you could write back to me on gm.annasalai@raintreehotels.com to understand what went wrong with the rates. We look forward to welcoming you again at The Raintree Hotel, Anna Salai.

Best Regards

Perkin Rocha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

Room, Service, Food are excellent.
But I'll caution about their transportation service.
If you would like to charter hotel car, you should indicate strictly to driver where you want to go, what you want to do, etc. Or, Some of them takes you to souvenir shop where they want to go with too much talking. Don't wast your time.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
G_M-The_Raintree, General Manager at The Raintree Hotel, Anna Salai, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Dear Sir/Ma'am,

Vanakkam!!!

Thank you very much for sharing your review. I am glad to know that you enjoyed your stay and we met your expectation, feedback like your will also keep the team motivated. We really appreciate this gesture and feedback. We look forward to welcoming you again at The Raintree Hotel, Anna Salai.

Best Regards

Perkin Rocha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, CT
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We stayed two nights at this hotel. Our room was comfortably appointed, and spotlessly clean. We enjoyed excellent service and staff was very friendly. We enjoyed the large selection at the buffet breakfast and also enjoyed dinner here one night. It was Deepavali and we had a choice location to view the fireworks over Chennai. We were in a corner room on the top floor, so we had two huge windows to see the glorious display of crackers being set off all over the city. We also went up to the rooftop, where the swimming pool was beautifully illuminated, to get an even better view of the fireworks. Not too far from the shopping areas on T. Nagar. The only complaint is that there were a number of small mosquitos in the lobby area.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
G_M-The_Raintree, General Manager at The Raintree Hotel, Anna Salai, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Dear Sir/Ma'am,

Vanakkam!!!

Thank you very much for sharing your review. I am glad to know that you enjoyed your stay and we met your expectation, feedback like your will also keep the team motivated. We really appreciate this gesture and feedback.

We have taken appropriate measures to overcome this menace by increasing the frequency of our fumigation in and around the hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you again at The Raintree Hotel, Anna Salai.

Best Regards

Perkin Rocha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

We came here after cancelling a booking we had at the Connemara which had proved lacking on several fronts. Connemara is old Chennai trying to survive by resting on it's laurels - Raintree is new Chennai getting it right.
Style: It's a modern hotel and doesn't try to be anything but.
Staff were smiling and welcoming throughout with out 'over hospitalising' us along the way.
Our requests at check in and check out were met and trouble was went to in order to accomodate us.
Room are smart clean, bright and fresh. The room rate came with free wifi and airport transfer - the driver was smart, friendly and efficient - wished we'd known about him earlier.
Depending on where you want to be in Chennai - you ought to know this Raintree it is right at the south end of Anna Salai. When locating this hotel dont get confused with it's sister hotel in the St Mary's area. There are TWO Raintrees in this city.
The food here is excellent too - buffet offering downstairs in the 'Kitchen' is all fresh and high quality with service hitting just the right balance between attentiveness and standing back. We loved this relaxing spot which is a fine refugee from the insanity that is Anna Salai during the Metro construction works.
We also ate in the "Up North" restaurant on the roof which i'll review separteley but this and the top floor bar/pool really completes a great package.

Room Tip: Insist on high floor - some say lower floor rooms pick up traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
G_M-The_Raintree, General Manager at The Raintree Hotel, Anna Salai, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Dear Sir/Ma'am,

Vanakkam!!!

Thank you very much for sharing your review. I am glad to know that you enjoyed your stay and we met your expectation, feedback like your will also keep the team motivated. We really appreciate this gesture and feedback. .

We look forward to welcoming you again at The Raintree Hotel, Anna Salai.

Best Regards

Perkin Rocha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmedabad, India
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

The interiors / design of the hotel is fresh & unique. It gives a very pleasant feeling. Food quality was good. Service was excellent. However a lot of mosquitoes in the reception area / gournd level which is a concern. Even my room had a few (very small & minute) insects which caused a lot of irritation at night

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
G_M-The_Raintree, General Manager at The Raintree Hotel, Anna Salai, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Dear Sir,

Vanakkam!!!

Thank you very much for sharing your review. I am glad to know that you enjoyed your stay and we met your expectation, feedback like your will also keep the team motivated. We really appreciate this gesture and feedback. I shall work with my team on eradicating mosquitoes also given the fact that we encountered this issue because of heavy rains which we call in india as retreating monsoon. And assure you to have corrective measures going forward.

We look forward to welcoming you again at The Raintree Hotel, Anna Salai.

Best Regards

Perkin Rocha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramat Gan, Israel
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012 via mobile

I have spent one night during a buisness trip in Chennai.
Excellent hotel with reasonable price and good location.
Room are spacious and comfortable, staff are very nice and helpful, breakfast and dinner are wonderful and varied.
Only problem I had is that I was in a non-smoking room but the room really smelled like cigarettes.
Anyway, I strongly recommend this hotel

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
G_M-The_Raintree, General Manager at The Raintree Hotel, Anna Salai, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Dear Sir,

Vanakkam!!!

Thank you very much for sharing your review. I am glad to know that you enjoyed your stay and we met your expectation, feedback like your will also keep the team motivated. We really appreciate this gesture and feedback.

Your feedback on nonsmoking room has been well taken and we have updated your guest history to ensure we serve you better on your next visit.

We look forward to welcoming you again at The Raintree Hotel, Anna Salai.

Best Regards

Perkin Rocha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Raintree Hotel, Anna Salai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Raintree Hotel, Anna Salai

Address: 636, Anna Salai | Teynampet, Chennai (Madras) 600035, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai (Madras)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#10 Spa Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#10 Family Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#10 Business Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#12 Luxury Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Raintree Hotel, Anna Salai 4.5*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Raintree Hotel Anna Salai when open will provide business travelers and family vacationers a one of a kind experience in the bustling city center of Chennai. This eco-sensitive hotel at Anna Salai will host an array of contemporary luxury features. A convenient location next to exciting local attractions will couple with a variety of personalized services and vacation packages to make your stay a home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Raintree Hotel, Anna Salai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Raintree Hotel, Annasalai Hotel Chennai (Madras)

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Raintree Hotel, Anna Salai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.