We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel providing not just fine quality service but serving Chennai's best authentic cuisine!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Raintree Hotel - Anna Salai

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Raintree Hotel - Anna Salai to your Saves list
The Raintree Hotel - Anna Salai
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   636, Anna Salai | Teynampet, Chennai (Madras) 600035, India (Alwarpet South)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 343 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Subang Jaya, Malaysia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel providing not just fine quality service but serving Chennai's best authentic cuisine!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012

Stayed at the Raintree Anna Salai for 2 weeks between Dec 5 to 16, 2011 while on business trip. Room was really top notch, very cosy and excellent shower facilities. Hotel service was prompt and satisfactory. Above all, the food served at the Madras - located at ground floor was excellent! I have had my dinner at that restaurant almost on a daily basis and the service was superb, the food was delicious and the musical performance held nightly added to the overall ambience of the place. The top floor has an open air lounge, sky lounge one of its kind in Chennai. Will certainly return to this hotel in future. Undoubtedly Chennai's coolest and most chic hotel.

Room Tip: The rooms are pretty much sound proof, so it does not really matter whether you get a room facing th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
G_M-The_Raintree, General Manager at The Raintree Hotel - Anna Salai, responded to this review, January 2, 2012
Thank you very much for the very first Top notch review and the feedback in 2012. I am delighted to know that you enjoyed the stay as well as The Raintree Dining Experience, specially at MADRAS: serving Southern cuisines from Tamil Nadu, Kerala and Andhra. In your next visit do write in your review about THE KITCHEN: all day dining restaurant, UP NORTH: a rooftop restaurant for authentic Punjabi cuisine, , MADERA: a contemporary lounge bar and HIGH: sky lounge by the pool.

We look forward to Welcoming you again at The Raintree Hotel, Anna Salai.

The entire team joins me in wishing you the very best of 2012!!

Best Regards,

Manish Dayya
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

670 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    353
    256
    40
    10
    11
See reviews for
93
91
62
370
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hyderabad, India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2011

One Word - Excellent in all Depts - Service, Room Service, Restuarant, Front Office etc.,
Well trained and Desciplined staff. Let them keep it up 24x7x365 to receive more happy customers.

Love to visit again soon

Room Tip: Experience the T Floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
G_M-The_Raintree, General Manager at The Raintree Hotel - Anna Salai, responded to this review, December 29, 2011
Dear Simon,

Vanakkam!

Thank you very much for the Excellent review and the feedback. It is feedback like yours that really motivates us to continue and further enhance our services.

We look forward to Welcoming you again at The Raintree Hotel, Anna Salai.

The entire team joins me in wishing you the very best of 2012!!

Best Regards,

Manish Dayya
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Italy
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011

I was there during my business trip and i found this hotel very confortable.the position is very near to' airport and centre.the rooms Are cleaned and spacious and the service is very good wi fi available in the room.the breakfast is full of everithing that you desire.the restourants inside the hotel s Are verious and amazing the roof on the top of the building is special

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
G_M-The_Raintree, General Manager at The Raintree Hotel - Anna Salai, responded to this review, January 12, 2012
Dear Neri,

Vanakkam!

Thank you very much for the review. I am glad that your stay was comfortable and it was really a pleasure with a special mention of the skyline view of Chennai from the Rooftop and has the Fitness center, ORYZA: day spa and salon, UP NORTH: a rooftop restaurant for authentic Punjabi cuisine, and HIGH: sky lounge by the pool.

We thank you again for the review and look forward to Welcoming you back again at The Raintree Hotel, Anna Salai.

The entire team joins me in wishing you the very best of 2012!

Best Regards,

Manish Dayya
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2011

Very nice and modern hotel, well located, great service, staff went out of their way to make our stay great. The madras restaurant a must especially for south Indian dishes, their fish curry tasted just like it does in durban

Room Tip: Take a room above the second floor which is bit noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
G_M-The_Raintree, General Manager at The Raintree Hotel - Anna Salai, responded to this review, December 28, 2011
Thank you very much for the review and the feedback. It is feedback like yours that really motivates us to continue and further enhance our services.

We look forward to Welcoming you again at The Raintree Hotel, Anna Salai.

The entire team joins me in wishing you the very best of 2012!!

Best Regards,

Manish Dayya
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

More than fifty senior physicians who entered the Madras Medical College 50 years ago recently celebrated their reunion here. Over 3-4 days, the hotel provided meeting venues, rooms, and many of the meals to participants, who enjoyed a wide range of cuisines (North and South Indian restaurants, and a very well-run multi-cuisine restaurant run by a very attentive woman chef named Priya), the health spa, and other features. Rooms are attractive, comfortable, very well-designed, and carefully maintained, and service staff were both efficient and attentive.

Bottom line: terrific business-class facility, great value for money.
Downside: weak technical support for meeting rooms, even weaker support for security cards, which tended to strand guests by denying access to their floors. As Madras is an "IT city," this should be easy for management to fix.

Room Tip: This is a recently built facility with many green features. Rooms at the internal corners (X19, etc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
G_M-The_Raintree, General Manager at The Raintree Hotel - Anna Salai, responded to this review, December 23, 2011
Dear Doctor,

Vanakkam!

Thank you very much for the great review specially mentioning us as the "Best business class hotel in South Asia"; it means a lot to us and i am glad that your stay and the event was a grand success and was a pleasure to play the host to this alumni. It is feedback like yours that really motivates us to continue and further enhance our services.

We look forward to Welcoming you and the entire group back again at The Raintree Hotel, Anna Salai.

The entire team joins me in wishing you Merry Christmas and the very best of 2012!

Best Regards,

Manish Dayya
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinkpower
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2011

I love this hotel. It remains one of my all time favourites. Hence my 2nd review!

Best bits:
Service - top class - thank you to those who cleaned our rooms ( especially the lady who flew down with my vitamins), the staff at the Kitchen ( see below), front reception (good to see you again Navneeth) and those who helped us with our bags. You made our stay so special
Room - love the comfortable king beds, power shower, Biotique toiletries and the cleanliness!
The Kitchen - fantastic buffets, fabulous service (thanks Ranjith, Pintu and the rest- you're doing a great job). Everything here tastes super - from the pizza to the tacos to the Indian dishes.
Keep up with the great work and hope to see you next year!

Small tip - do pay attention to the requests when we book online - we had some minor issues with not getting the room selected - but this was rectified quickly.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
G_M-The_Raintree, General Manager at The Raintree Hotel - Anna Salai, responded to this review, December 23, 2011
Thank you very much for the review and i am glad that you loved your stay and the hotel services in your repeated stay this time again in December 2011. Have also taken a note of your feedback to pay attention to the requests and assure to take all measures to improvise on the areas of concern highlighted helping us to serve better. It is feedback like yours that really motivates us to continue and further enhance our services.

We look forward to Welcoming you again at The Raintree Hotel, Anna Salai.

The entire team here joins me in wishing you Merry Christmas and the very best of 2012!

Best Regards,

Manish Dayya
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai, Tamil Nadu, India
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011

the rooms are nice and huge with perfect ambiance, the madras resturant serves you amazing food the sandwich are excellent and the authentic south food is worth a try, the poolside bar with a open garden that is about 150 feet in sky,w will make u crazy

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
G_M-The_Raintree, General Manager at The Raintree Hotel - Anna Salai, responded to this review, December 23, 2011
Thank you very much for the review. Your feedback definitely motivates us and the entire team here. I am also delighted to know that you enjoyed the stay as well as The Raintree Dining Experience at all our dining options; THE KITCHEN: all day dining restaurant, UP NORTH: a rooftop restaurant for authentic Punjabi cuisine, MADRAS: serves Southern cuisines from Tamil Nadu, Kerala and Andhra, MADERA: a contemporary lounge bar and HIGH: sky lounge by the pool.

Look forward to Welcoming you back again at The Raintree Hotel, Anna Salai.

The entire team joins me in wishing you Merry Christmas and the very best of 2012!

Best Regards,

Manish Dayya
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Raintree Hotel - Anna Salai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Raintree Hotel - Anna Salai

Address: 636, Anna Salai | Teynampet, Chennai (Madras) 600035, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai (Madras) > Alwarpet South
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#9 Romantic Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#10 Luxury Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#10 Business Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#11 Family Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Raintree Hotel - Anna Salai 4.5*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Raintree Anna Salai Hotel is located a 20-minute drive from Chennai International Airport. It provides well-appointed rooms and 5-star facilities like a Swimming Pool, a spa and a sauna. Complimentary Wi-Fi is available for 24 hours. Rooms are tastefully decorated with wooden flooring and large windows. They come with a flat-screen cable TV, coffee/tea maker and ironing facilities. Select rooms have a bathtub in the bathroom. Guests can pamper themselves with massages and body treatments at the spa or take a dip in the large outdoor pool. There is also a well-equipped fitness center for guests’ convenience at The Raintree Anna Salai. The Raintree Hotel offers a memorable dining experience at its rooftop restaurant –UP North with stunning views of Chennai’s skyline accompany the delicious meals. Both a local and international menu is available. Located in Chennai, The Raintree Hotel Anna Salai is a 10-minute drive from Chennai Central Train Station. Nearby tourist attractions include Marina Beach, the Santhome Cathedral Basilica and Kapalashewar Temple. The hotel is about 3 km from the United States Consulate in Chennai. T - Nagar is a great choice for travelers interested in Shopping for clothes, Shopping and Culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your The Raintree Hotel - Anna Salai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Raintree Hotel, Annasalai Hotel Chennai (Madras)

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Raintree Hotel - Anna Salai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.