We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Sunday brunch!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Kitchen

The Kitchen
636 Anna Salai, Teynampet | The Raintree Anna Salai, Chennai (Madras) 600035, India
91 44 28309999
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #80 of 4,449 Restaurants in Chennai (Madras)
Cuisines: Coffee Shop, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Satiate your appetite at The Kitchen, a 24-7 multi-cuisine restaurant located in the lobby level
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic Sunday brunch!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

For a Sunday brunch buffet in a top hotel, this was great value for money. There was a huge choice of starters, mains, desserts, cheeses etc and both international and South Indian cuisines. The restaurant is light and clean without feeling sterile. Service was attentive without being over bearing. Highly recommended

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaideep_Prasad, Manager at The Kitchen, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Vanakkam from The Raintree, Anna Salai!!

Thank you so much for sharing your review. We are delighted to know that you had a wonderful time at The Kithcen. Feedback like yours, will keep the team motivated & surly help us to achieve higher results. Your feedback has been shared with the team.

We really appreciate this gesture and feedback. We are looking forward to welcoming you again at The Raintree, Anna Salai.

Thank you

Jaideep
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    27
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, Scotland
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Thumbs Up”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Large, airy restaurant space with a modern decor. Clean whites with splashes of colour. The restaurant is located on the ground floor of the hotel on the right hand side.

I order the hot and sour soup, and a Mexican tortilla wrap dish. The Kitchen has a big menu and is resonably priced for a 5 star hotel. Mains in the 400-600 rupees range on average. I was brought a bowl of bread rolls while I waited on the soup.

The bowl of soup was huge! Served from the pot at the table and the pot was left on the table when the soup bowl was full - can't fault them on quantity. I wasn't impressed with the soup itself. It had a strong rich flavour - heavy on coriander - and was quite syrupy in texture. Weird soup, wouldn't order it again. My main was terrific however. Two crispy Mexican torilla wraps which were really tasty and a side of Mexican rice. It also came with sour cream and salsa in proper portions, not the little thimblefuls you sometimes get.

There was also a buffet on offer which I had a wander round and looked very nice.

Would definitely return.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaideep_Prasad, Manager at The Kitchen, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Vanakkam from The Raintree Hotel, Anna Salai!!

Thank you so much for sharing your review. Feedback like yours, will keep the team motivated & surly help us to achieve higher results. Your feedback has been shared with the team.

We really appreciate this gesture and feedback. We are looking forward to welcoming you again at The Raintree Hotel, Anna Salai.

Thank you

Jaideep

Food & Beverage Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kettering, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“great food as always”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

first class food over and over again , never a bad meal , plenty of choice.....Sehczuan Hakka Chicken noodles are superb.
Go try when in Chennai.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaideep_Prasad, Manager at The Kitchen, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Vanakkam from The Raintree Hotels, Anna Salai!!

Thank you so much for sharing your review. Feedback like yours, will keep the team motivated & surly help us to achieve higher results. Your feedback has been shared with the team.

We really appreciate this gesture and feedback. We are looking forward to welcoming you again at The Raintree Hotel, Anna Salai.

Thank you

Jaideep

Food & Beverage Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Exquisite Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Excellent variety, indian and continental dishes. Buffet is a little pricey, but the food is worth it!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaideep_Prasad, Manager at The Kitchen, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Vanakkam from The Raintree Hotels, Anna Salai!!

Thank you so much for sharing your review. Feedback like yours, will keep the team motivated & surly help us to achieve higher results. Your feedback has been shared with the team.

We really appreciate this gesture and feedback. We are looking forward to welcoming you again at The Raintree Hotel, Anna Salai.

Thank you

Jaideep

Food & Beverage Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“right place for authentic south indian food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

The ambeince was just right and the food is too good if you are fond of authentic south indian cuisine.Enjoyed it thoroghly and at a very good reasonable pricing.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
K Uday K, Manager at The Kitchen, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Dear Ms. Geeta,

Vanakkam from The Raintree Hotels, Anna Salai!!

Thank you so much for sharing your review. Feedback like yours, will keep the team motivated & surly help us to achieve higher results. Your feedback has been shared with the team.

We really appreciate this gesture and feedback. We are looking forward to welcoming you again at The Raintree Hotel, Anna Salai.

Thank you

Jaideep

Food & Beverage Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Kitchen also viewed

Chennai (Madras), Tamil Nadu
Chennai (Madras), Tamil Nadu
 
Chennai (Madras), Tamil Nadu
Chennai (Madras), Tamil Nadu
 

Been to The Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.