We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slow Service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Aloft Chennai, OMR - IT Expressway

Save Saved
You added Aloft Chennai, OMR - IT Expressway to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Aloft Chennai, OMR - IT Expressway
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   OMR-IT Expressway, 102, Rajiv Gandhi Salai | Sholinganallur, Chennai (Madras) 600 119, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #40 of 336 hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Bangalore, India
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Slow Service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2012

Service at the Bar of this hotel is slow. Though it was not crowded, we have to prompt waiters many times for menu and refills. The key stopped working and I ended up wasting time by the time alternate key was arranged.

However I must add that room is nice and breakfast spread had good and many choices.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AloftChennai, General Manager at Aloft Chennai, OMR - IT Expressway, responded to this review, January 22, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor.

We are delighted that you appreciated the hotel room and the breakfast menu choice..

On the other hand, we regret to know that we were not able to fully meet the basic expectations at the bar.We will take necessary action on improving the areas highlighted in your constructive feedback.

Despite the little misgivings you had mentioned, we hope you enjoyed your overall stay and we look forward to the welcoming and serving you again in the future.

KRISHNAKUMAR MENON
GENERAL MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    30
    89
    38
    9
    4
See reviews for
15
4
19
127
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

The hotel is located on the OMR expressway, not too far from the airport and many organizations like Cognizant, TCS, etc.
The rooms are uniquely designed and they provide you many upmarket amenities. The food quality and taste is good and they've a good menu to offer. Overall, nice experience and I would say, nice play to stay with a reasonable pricing.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2011

Expect a suave and colour entry into the hotel with energetic music playing and staff in colourful uniforms trying their level best to give you an ALOHA welcome.

However, that is where the experience ends and the disappointment begins to creep up on you. Service is far from satisfactory. The hotel policies are such that even if the staff want to help you, they express their inability to do so.

Restaurants and bars shut at 22:30 hrs... c'mon give me a break! We sat at the restaurant and waited 15 minutes for the steward to come and explain the pricing on the menu to us, and when he finally did, all he could do was tell us that THE ONLY thing we could order was from the 24 hour menu. DISAPPOINTED & DISTURBED.

Considering that it is supposed to be a business hotel, I would advise business travellers to stay away from this hotel. Perhaps it is better suited for holidaying families, but who on earth comes and stays at a hotel on the IT Corridor for holidays.

Please be prepared to shell out additional amounts for double occupancy of a double room in the form of an extra bed charge - in my 18+ years of travelling extensively around the world, this IS the FIRST time that I was forced to do so. The amount was inconsequential but the policy itself was so unacceptable that I have checked out and moved to another lesser known hotel down the road.

In short, if you need to stay in this part of Chennai, you would do yourself a lot of good by staying away from this hotel - there are plenty of other hotels on this road, who are perhaps not as well known as the SPG brand or the Aloft colours, but definitely go out of the way to make you feel a welcome guest.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AloftChennai, General Manager at Aloft Chennai, OMR - IT Expressway, responded to this review, December 23, 2011
Dear Mr.Anupam,

Apropos to our teletalk , I would again like to extend our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused during your recent stay with us and are grateful that you brought the issues to our attention.
Your feedback about the double occupancy charges, early closing time of liquor service and the delay in food ordering is noted.I have initiated talent re-training towards guest sensitivity.

The charges for the extra person occupying the room is applicable all over India and the Tamil Nadu Prohibition and Excise rule does not permit us to keep the bar open beyond 2300 hours.

We value your patronage and believe you will give us more opportunity to welcome and serve you again.

Krishnakumar Menon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2011

A nice place to live, but the service is slow. Need to remind the staff again and again if you have ordered for something or require something. The rooms are cozy. There are frequent power outages but its ok as the generators kick in quickly.
The only plus point i feel is that there are shops and local transport close by to avail of.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AloftChennai, General Manager at Aloft Chennai, OMR - IT Expressway, responded to this review, December 23, 2011
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your experience from your recent stay with us at Aloft OMR Chennai on Tripadvisor.
I have made note of your comments on slow service and have initiated steps to improve the service standards.
My apology if you left the hotel feeling disappointed.
I hope that the last arrival experience will not deter you from returning to stay with us.
Thank you once again for taking the time to post your review

Krishnakumar Menon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, India
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011

First time we have experienced the Aloft couple of months ago. Hotel themes are unique, and attractive to youngsters and my children. We have picked up this hotel due to its proximity to ECR road which leads to various tourist attractions like Muttukadu, Dakshinakshetra, Mahabalipuram. Overall we have enjoyed our stay in this hotel. Not many options outside the hotel either for shopping or dining. ECR road is about 3-4 kms away, has few decent options.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2011

Long Story- Booked 3 room in Nov and landed in chennai and went straight to the hotel and was astonished to see that the room have been cancelled thinking they were duplicate entries. Worse the hotel was full anyway fought thru it and finally managed 3 room at the cost of 3 other people who fate was unknown. Spent the night with very poor room service slow and ill equipped bar and Food. But the room are excellent and pretty nice.

Had breakfast then then checkout and took a car ( Another Fiasco ) to the work spot but was pleasantly pissed that they had not sent the baggage in the car. But the time it all became so much of a joke that all that we could do it laugh it off. LOTS TO IMPROVE management Needs to change.

Room Tip: make sure they have not cancelled you booking and avoid taking room towards the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madras
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2011

We had a farewell lunch for one of our senior colleague at Hotel Aloft, Chennai today (9th Dec).. A small team of around 12 of us went for lunch buffet. The quality of food was pathetic with most of the dishes bland. The buffet as such was cold and no heating elements were used to keep it warm.
The food was not re-filled and have to wait for a long time to take the food. There was no cups to fill soup or ice-cream. The overall service was also poor. Overall it was a very bad experience for all of us. Request the hotel management to take of these issues to improve customer experience..

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kkmenon, General Manager at Aloft Chennai, OMR - IT Expressway, responded to this review, December 11, 2011
Dear Guest,

We truly regret to know of your disappointment on food and service at our restaurant.
We have taken note of your comments and are concerned about the same.
We will find the reasons for the flaws in our food and service process and take corrective steps immediately
Despite this misgivings you had mentioned, we hope you will give us another opportunity to welcoming and serving you and your friends in the future.

Krishnakumar Menon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Aloft Chennai, OMR - IT Expressway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloft Chennai, OMR - IT Expressway

Address: OMR-IT Expressway, 102, Rajiv Gandhi Salai | Sholinganallur, Chennai (Madras) 600 119, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai (Madras)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Spa Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#31 Luxury Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#36 Business Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Aloft Chennai, OMR - IT Expressway 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For the traveler open to possibilities, Aloft Chennai OMR IT Expressway is a modern, fresh and fun destination. It is a hotel that celebrates the individual and gives you freedom to control and customize your travel adventure to fit your personal style. With a loft like design, it is a place where walls have been knocked down to create a space that is open in design and open to possibilities. A place where energy flows, personalities mingle, and opportunities abound. A place where anything can happen. Conveniently located in close proximity to the city's many IT/ITES companies, tech trade, airport and city sites, this bold new lodging will inspire you to discover more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Expedia, HotelsClick, Agoda, HotelTravel.com and Venere so you can book your Aloft Chennai, OMR - IT Expressway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aloft Chennai, Omr - It Expressway Hotel Chennai (Madras)

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aloft Chennai, OMR - IT Expressway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.