We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No hot water despite asking. Rooms need some TLC.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Spring Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Spring Hotel to your Saves list
The Spring Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No 11, Kodambakkam High Road | Nungambakkam, Chennai (Madras) 600034, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #78 of 338 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“No hot water despite asking. Rooms need some TLC.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

From what seemed to be a nice boutique hotel when booking, on arrival the lobby seemed to fit the bill. However, when we got to our room the bed was clean but the furniture was wearing pretty badly and the room deperately needed a coat of paint. Further, the hot water was not working and wasn't fixed even after we pointed it out to the staff. When we asked the front desk if there was a good restaurant nearby they could only direct us to the mediocre restaurant at the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muthusrinivasan, Manager at The Spring Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Vanakkam !

Thank you very much for sharing your review. I am glad to know that you enjoyed your stay at The Springs.

Our sincere apologies for the inconveniences caused to you during your stay, in regards to hot water & furniture. We have narrowed the causes of concerns.

We look forward to welcoming you again at The Spring and assure you of the best in service and hospitality.

Best Regards

Manikandan
Front Office manager
9551660088
fom@thespringhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    71
    57
    16
    12
See reviews for
19
30
31
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
bangalore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

We stayed at The Spring, chennai from the 25th June to 28th June, 2013 and I must share this pleasant experience with other travelers. At the beginning we were very hesitant about this hotel as non of our friends had heard about this hotel in the heart of Chennai. But thanks to the reviews in trip advisor we decided to go ahead and stay here. We were pleasantly surprised at this great discovery. Not only were the rooms clean and comfortable but the staff were extremely helpful and polite. To our surprise the food was also good and beyond our expectation. All this and more at the most competitive pricing . I would strongly recommend this hotel for visitors looking at good hotels at reasonable pricing in the heart of chennai.

Room Tip: Rooms on the II floor as I was told by a trip advisor traveler that first floor may be noisy due to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muthusrinivasan, Manager at The Spring Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear Guest

Greetings from the spring!

Thank you very much for sharing your review. I am glad to know that you enjoyed your stay and we met your expectation, your feedback will also keep the team motivated. We really appreciate this gesture and feedback.

We welcome your positive feedback towards food & overall service.

We look forward to welcoming you again at The Spring.

Best Regards

Manikandan
Front Office manager
9551660088
fom@thespringhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

I booked this hotel with lot of expectations and the expectation made me rate it bit low.
The staffs are very friendly and service is quick.
The management need to take a call on the old furniture smell in rooms.
The sleep quality is good.
I found furniture cushions torn in the room.
Never accept a room at the end of the building like 217. there is a service lift and work area next to it and dont dream to sleep after 6.00 am in these rooms.
Food was not that tasty.
Rooms are too small sply delux rooms.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muthusrinivasan, Manager at The Spring Hotel, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Dear Guest

Greetings from "The Spring"

First of all allow me to say Thank you very much for sharing your review.

I am glad to know that you have enjoyed your stay and we met to your expectation, your feedback will also keep the team motivated. And moreover we really appreciate this gesture.

Your review has been shared with the concern department and will meet your expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you again at The Spring very soon.

Best Regards

Manikandan
Front Office manager
9551660088
fom@thespringhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

got taken in by the reviews on TripAdvisor. I dont know why they have dingy lifghting amd the most awful smell right from the reception to lift to room. have checked in 2 hrs back and now cant wait to leave. most depressing environment in the hotel

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muthusrinivasan, Manager at The Spring Hotel, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Vanakkam !

Thank you very much for sharing your review. I am glad to know that you enjoyed your stay at The Springs.

Our sincere apologies for the inconveniences caused to you during your stay in regards to lights and awful smell. We have narrowed the causes of concerns.

We look forward to welcoming you again at The Spring and assure you of the best in service and hospitality.

Best Regards

Manikandan
Front Office manager
9551660088
fom@thespringhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

This is the second time visit of mine. When compared to last stay, this time outside sounds are clearly heard inside the room. Even if someone is opening the nearby room, it is clearly heard as if someone is opening our room. Next thing is that I have never seen any were that the wardrobe and safe inside the restroom....?? Rooms should have little bit bigger in size. Pls do something for the sounds heard from the corridor. Make sound proof doors

Room Tip: Ask for a bigger room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muthusrinivasan, Manager at The Spring Hotel, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear Guest

Greetings from The Spring!!!!

Thank you very much for sharing your review. I am glad to know that you enjoyed your stay and we met your expectation, your feedback will also keep the team motivated. We really appreciate this gesture and feedback.

Your review has been shared with the concern department and will meet your expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you again at The Spring.

Best Regards

Manikandan
Front Office manager
9551660088
fom@thespringhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Average hotel with all required facilities but rooms are having less space it look like a congested room.rest of the things are ok.
rooms are clean.
housekeeping staff is very less there even some time you feel they are ignoring you.
location is very good surrounded by good food chains (dominoz, pizza hut, papa zones, KFC etc )

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muthusrinivasan, Manager at The Spring Hotel, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear Guest

Greetings from the spring!

Thank you very much for sharing your review. I am glad to know that you enjoyed your stay and we met your expectation, your feedback will also keep the team motivated. We really appreciate this gesture and feedback.

Your review has been shared with concern department and will meet to match the best of services.

We look forward to welcoming you again at The Spring.

Best Regards

Manikandan
Front Office manager
9551660088
fom@thespringhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

This property is rumored to be owned by Rajnikanth, and so the filmi connection is more than apparent in their "Movies" concept restaurant. Food is great (including the complimentary breakfast, although they could do with a choice of juices in the morning?!), ambience is perfect. The staff is more than helpful (beginning from the booking itself, where they readily accepted their mistake in messing up the gender of the guest, and promptly re-issued a new booking invoice!!!) - a special shout-out for the discounted cab service they went out of their way to offer since the ever-unreliable call-taxi service in Chennai was characteristically un-obliging!!!.

The only glitch was the proximity of some rooms on the 1st floor to the kitchen/pantry facility, which created a racket well into the night. Also, they could do with a more comprehensive IMFL range at the disco.....

Room Tip: Avoid the first floor at all costs!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muthusrinivasan, Manager at The Spring Hotel, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear Guest

Greetings from the spring!

Thank you very much for choosing “The Spring” during your visit to Chennai and also for sparing time to share your experience on Trip Advisor.

We have conveyed your gracious comments to the entire team, for whom it has been a great source of inspiration.

Thank you once again, we look forward to welcoming you again at The Spring.

Best Regards

Manikandan
Front Office manager
9551660088
fom@thespringhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Spring Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Spring Hotel

Address: No 11, Kodambakkam High Road | Nungambakkam, Chennai (Madras) 600034, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai (Madras)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 338 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Spring Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Spring is cool, hip, playful and intimate, offering chic yet informal environments for travelers who want to get away from predictability and convention. Conveniently located in the heart of Chennai, The Spring Hotel is a tasteful sanctuary of unique elegance! This trendy boutique hotel is imbued with designer interiors thematically organized to radiate an inviting aura and specifically with keeping you, our guest, in mind - A perfect blend of aesthetics and culture. Be prepared to be pampered, enjoy the impeccable service and the first rate amenities, including the broadband Wi-Fi connectivity that a discerning traveler has come to expect. We look forward to welcoming you soon. Putting people first just makes good common sense. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Spring Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Spring Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.