We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to be ! Vicky” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Samaya Inn a Lane

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Samaya Inn a Lane to your Saves list
Samaya Inn a Lane
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Old No. 5 & 6 III Street, | Wallace Garden, Nungambakkam, Chennai (Madras) 600006, India (Nungambakkam)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #63 of 341 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Chennai (Madras), India
1 review
“A great place to be ! Vicky”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

We have stayed three times now at this place and find it so convenient. For those seeking treatment at Apollo hospital or simply for shopping, this place is great ! Comfortable, well designed rooms, kitchen conveniences etc. It's got many restaurants around all within walking distance. There is a supermarket just immediately opposite and of course the famous "autowallahs" for quick transport, waiting around. The place is kept very clean - the bathroom is cleaned everyday !The staff are very helpful, going even out of their way to assist in any manner. In Chennai we don't need to look further - we get our absolute value for money !

Room Tip: Select upper rooms away from the road side - less noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    30
    1
    3
    3
See reviews for
21
13
6
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2011

I have stayed twice in samaya inn first was in wallace garden and 2nd time was in moores Rd both the stay were great experiences as the staffs were very helpful. me and my cousins we came to chennai for treatment in apollo hospital and as the hotel is very close to the hospital it make our job easier to get from the hospital to the hotel coz most of the treatments happened during the night and its walkable from the hotel to the hospital.

2nd time i came with my Father and my brother for the same reason and we stayed in same hotel but different address i.e moores rd a bit far from the apollo hospital but the location is great and very quite and the room that we got was pretty big enough for all of us with full furnished kitchen etc. samantha was very helpful in every ways and made our stayed feel like home. thank you

Am planing to come to chennai again in December and i'l definitely stay in this hotel.

Room Tip: choose room no 127 for more space (moores Rd)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2011

We stayed at their Wallace Garden Property. We were given a suite which had a bedroom and a sperate living area with a functional kitchen. The rooms were spacious. The best part of this property is it's location. It's located in a calm, peaceful area and is bang opposite to Nilgiri Supermarket. The property is also surrounded by a lot of good eating joints. It's rougly around 1.5 kms from US Consulate.

Only glitch is that the management needs to get the kitchen disinfected.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

I stayed here for a night on a business trip to Chennai. They have a new property in Greams Road but I chose the older location. The best thing about this place is the location - there are lots of restaurants and dining options in the lane and is centrally located. The rooms are ok - nothing spectacular. Breakfast options in the service apartment is limited and they serve just one option - either eggs or cornflakes (not both). Ok to stay for a night.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2011

I stayed here for two months from July-Sep.Great location opposite of a supermarket which makes getting the necessary items a breeze,lots of good restaurants and coffee shops close by within walking distance.Service was great,room was comfortable and fresh,good wifi connection.The owner Samatha is a very nice lady and makes you feel right at home.Would definitely stay there again and would recommend it to family and friends.If you are in Chennai you should definitely consider staying here,

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2011

We loved the service you have provided. The rooms were perfectly clean and the design of your room also was good. Room service and behavior of your staffs were also up to the mark. Will definitely refer your details to my friends too. next time we are sure we will choose your place only for stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2011

We really loved staying at Samaya. After a week in various hotels it was great to be in our own. Usually in a Bed&Breakfast concept breakfast is very poor but here it was over the average. The room was very nice with a fresh, fruity green tone. The area turned to be perfect with various restaurants and poshy shops around that gave a higher society feeling. Oh and the grocery shop just in front of the hotel... clean with lovely staff.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Samaya Inn a Lane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samaya Inn a Lane

Address: Old No. 5 & 6 III Street, | Wallace Garden, Nungambakkam, Chennai (Madras) 600006, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai (Madras) > Nungambakkam
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 341 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Samaya Inn a Lane 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Premium 8 room Bed & Breakfast located in the most fashionable neighborhood. Each room is air-conditioned and is equipped with LCD Tv,mini refrigerator, electronic safe. High speed WiFi is complimentary.We have 24hr back up generator in case of power failure.Centrally located in Wallace Garden, its closer to Hospitals, Popular Gymnasiums, and High end fashion stores like Espirt,UCB, Nautica, Evoluzione.Popular hangouts like Subway, Barista, Amadora and about 22 eating places with cuisines ranging from Indian,Italian, Chinese, Greek are all close by. We are also about 1.6 km from the US Consulate . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Samaya Inn a Lane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Samaya Inn a Lane, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.