We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EXCELLENT STAFF” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Chennai

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Chennai to your Saves list
Hilton Chennai
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   124/1, J.N.Salai, Guindy, Chennai (Madras) 600032, India   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early & Save
Ranked #13 of 343 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Maldives
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT STAFF”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

I had a pleasure of staying in HIlton Chennai recently .
I would say the hotel is Excellent, very modern, clean and very nice.For business travellers or anybody who is traveling for leisure they have all the amenities that you would expect in class hotel. The Staff of Hilton Chennai are SUPERB, helpful and and goes out of their way to assisit you all the time. The location is very convenient for business travellers as the hotel is very close to the airport and just 10-15 minutes ride from main Commercial or IT area.
Resevation front office team is EXCELLENT and helped me a lot . A very SPECIALTHANKS to Mr Vinod, the FOM and the TEAM. will be there soon.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manish_Garg_DOPS, Manager at Hilton Chennai, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear afeef,

My team and I extend our warm thanks for your generous review of Hilton Chennai. We are pleased that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us.

It is rewarding for the team to realise that their friendly and professional service contributed towards your positive experience with us. Thank you for your kind recommendation of the hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely,
Manish Garg
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

522 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    280
    162
    47
    19
    14
See reviews for
48
35
25
370
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Hilton Chennai is a great escape from the hustle and bustle of Madras (and construction works outside). It is modern, the rooms are spacious and clean, and the food is very good. I have no complaints about the hotel or the staff, who were all very nice. The only problem with this hotel, and it's a big problem, is that if you are staying on Friday or Saturday night you will be disturbed by the noise of its rooftop nightclub which plays extremely loud music until at least 4 am. We were on the 7th floor and could not sleep. Exactly why a hotel would want to prioritise its nightclub guests over its paying residential guests is beyond me. But this is India, where reason rarely prevails in the face of absurdity.

Room Tip: If you are there on a Friday or Saturday night demand a room which gets less noise from the nightclu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manish_Garg_DOPS, Manager at Hilton Chennai, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear mattylad1111,

Thank you for sharing your experience from your recent stay at Hilton Chennai, it was a pleasure having you with us.

Whilst we are pleased that you were happy with our guest room and service, we are sorry that you were inconvenienced by the noise from Q Bar. I can assure you that we are taking steps to address this issue and hope to carry out insulation instalments soon to effectively minimise the noise disturbance. The comfort and well-being of our guests continue to be among our top priorities.

We hope to have you with us again and look forward to continuing to extend our warm hospitality to you.

Yours sincerely,
Manish Garg
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
178 helpful votes 178 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

From the moment we arrived, the Hilton Chennai staff could not have done anything more to please us during our stay. We were upgraded as a Hilton Honours Gold member to an Executive room on the 9th floor with lounge access. We had booked this room only the day prior using our Hilton Rewards points, so this was great. The room was brilliant, probably the best Hilton we've stayed in, and we've stayed in a lot. Excellent Shower & a bath view overlooking the city centre landscape with very quiet rooms and a comfy bed.
The lounge had a good vibe to it and staff were brilliant, the food and quality of cocktails was second to none.
We had room service for a late dinner, whilst there was a small mix up with my order, the food was exceptional. We were up early for breakfast and once again the service levels were excellent, the food choice and quality were excellent.
The hotel concierge went out of his way to book us a local taxi to take us the the cricket stadium, as the hotel taxis for this distance were a bit of a rip off.
We could not rate this property highly enough and wish we had the opportunity to stay longer.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manish_Garg_DOPS, Manager at Hilton Chennai, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear SugarDutchie,

Thank you for your generous compliments of Hilton Chennai, my team and I are delighted that you enjoyed a lovely experience with us.

Your loyalty as a Hilton HHonors member is important to us and it is good to know that you were comfortable in our guest room and found our food quality to be outstanding. It is rewarding for the team to realise that their warm hospitality and efficient service contributed towards your positive stay experience.

We are grateful for your high rating of the hotel and it will be our pleasure to welcome you back the next time you visit Chennai.

Yours sincerely,
Manish Garg
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

I stay at hiltons all the time, and have stayed here previously without problem, however on this occasion they seem to have developed the rooftop bar into a nightclub which booms out loud music into the small hours.

I see this as a huge mistake for a chain that prides itself on serving business customers. The hotel overall has good facilities, the food and service are good and as usual in India the team work hard to ensure you are happy.

The rooms are well appointed, with good quality furnishings and their trademark comfortable beds and pillows, the main reason I tend to go back to Hilton time and time again.

However, the comfortable beds and pillows simply cannot work their magic with 140 BPM bass reverberating through your hotel room until 2am. The decision is highly likely to be commercial but in my mind is incredibly short sighted.

I won't be returning, the itc will be my choice from now on. Hugely dissapointedmwith Hilton.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manish_Garg_DOPS, Manager at Hilton Chennai, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear honeymooncoupleuk,

Please accept our sincere apologies for your disappointing experience at Hilton Chennai.

Whilst I am pleased that you found our guest room comfortable and well-appointed, I am sorry that the music at Q Bar affected what could have been a pleasant stay for you. I wish to assure you that the comfort and well-being of our guests is at all times among our highest priorities and we are in the midst of planning insulation installments to effectively minimise the noise disturbance.

Although you have indicated otherwise, we hope that you will grant us another opportunity in the future to deliver a better stay experience to you. Thank you for staying with us and for your feedback.

Yours sincerely,
Manish Garg
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oude-onge
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Went there for a business trip and great hotel lets start top down :
Roof : Having a swimming pool bar food and relax area's. Besides this a great gym and everything was arranged well.
4th floor executive lounge : small snacks and drinks .. the glasses did not become empty as they where filled constantly ...
3th floor : 3 restaurants .. make up your choice I would say as all of them are perfect ...
1st floor : reception and taxi arrangement .. they bring you and pick you up at the requested times from and to the hotel ..
Did I miss something sure i have .. the personal just perfect, polite and always helpful under any circumstances ..so in one word : Excellent

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manish_Garg_DOPS, Manager at Hilton Chennai, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Sahin_Okay,

My team and I extend our warmest thanks for your wonderful review of Hilton Chennai!

We are most heartened to find that there wasn't just one highlight of your experience that made your stay excellent, it was everything from our roof-top "oasis" and Executive Lounge to all our restaurants and the good service delivered by the team.

It was truly our pleasure to deliver the great stay experience that we continually endeavour to achieve. Thank you very much for your generous compliments and we look forward to once again extending our warm hospitality to you on your next visit to Chennai.

Yours sincerely,
Manish Garg
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

The stay at this hotel on the 16\02\2013 was just superb. The rooms are beautifully appointed and the staff are just so attentive. The breakfasts are superb and the place just an oasis from the deafening city. Lovely would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manish_Garg_DOPS, Manager at Hilton Chennai, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear KPC80,

Thank you for your generous compliments of Hilton Chennai, my team and I are very pleased that you enjoyed a great experience with us.

We truly appreciate your encouraging feedback on our guest rooms, breakfast buffet and our service. It was our pleasure to be your oasis in Chennai and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Yours sincerely,
Manish Garg
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Hotel personell was very prompt in solving all my request, starting with transfer from the airport and ending with delay in leaving the hotel. I like very much the television screen in the bathroom and and food and atmosphere at the top roof bar

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manish_Garg_DOPS, Manager at Hilton Chennai, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Andreea75,

My team and I are very pleased that you were delighted with your recent experience at Hilton Chennai, from your arrival at the airport through to your departure from the hotel.

Thank you very much for your positive feedback on our professional service, the TV in the bathroom and your experience at Q Bar. We hope to extend once again our warm hospitality to you when you are next in Chennai.

Yours sincerely,
Manish Garg
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Chennai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Chennai

Address: 124/1, J.N.Salai, Guindy, Chennai (Madras) 600032, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai (Madras)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#10 Family Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#11 Luxury Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#12 Romantic Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Chennai 5*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Chennai hotel reflects the spirit of the city in a harmonious blend of tradition and contemporary style to create a memorable stay in Chennai. Strategically located near the main commercial, IT and business districts in Guindy, the hotel is within a 15 -minute drive from the domestic and international airports as well as the Chennai Trade Centre. It is within easy access of the HP, RBS, Verizon and L&T offices among others. Onsite amenities include WiFi, a fully equipped business center and meeting rooms to facilitate both small and large corporate gatherings. Experience global cuisine when you dine at any of Hilton Chennai's five bars and restaurants. Choose from authentic Indian flavors at Ayna, or global cuisine at Vasco's, the all-day-dining restaurant. Indulge at Vintage Bank, the hotel's trendy wine and cheese bar, and finally, visit Q Bar, the hotel's rooftop bar and grill for drinks under the stars. The hotel provides easy access to the major shopping districts and tourist attractions such as the Guindy National Park, Marina Beach, old town of Mylapore, San Thome Basilica and Government Museum. After a long day, relax by the hotel's outdoor infinity pool or work out at the 24-hour fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Hilton Chennai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Chennai Hotel Chennai (Madras)

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Chennai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.