We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Rock @ Anna Nagar” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Rock

The Rock
42 Main Road | Velachery, Chennai (Madras) 600042, India
91 44 22593700
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,067 of 2,481 Restaurants in Chennai (Madras)
Cuisines: Asian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Chennai (Madras), India
2 reviews
“The Rock @ Anna Nagar”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

If you are looking for customer service, hospitality and a bit of light this place is not for you. If you are a family with children and older people, this place is not a good idea.

The food was alright but since customer service and hospitality are the basic expectations of the hospitality industry and we cannot possibly get it here - we went right back to our good o'l Seashell at Anna Nagar ( we are always welcomed with many smiles and come back satisfied with good food @ a decent rate).

Their customer service and treatment of customers is a bit shocking, so without going into too many details, I would advise people to think twice about visiting if they have expectations of good customer service and hospitality. If food is all you need, then its fine.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    7
    4
    1
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chennai, Tamil Nadu, India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“The Rock @velachery”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

We visited Rock two weeks back , Food is good but the hospitality is too bad.If you entered inside the rock,You can feel like eating food inside the forest. There is a beautiful fish tank inside the hotel that makes you free from all your mind tension and you can have your food with fun.Finally i can say the peoples who are looking for only the food taste can go to this hotel but pls don't expect the hospitality from them.Because of this hospitality problem , Business people can avoid this hotel.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai, Tamil Nadu, India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“This has become our team dinner adda.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

This place being near to our office has become our adda for dinner. We are visiting here atleast quarterly once. Both veg and non-veg food is decent and worth for cost.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Nice theme restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Wonderful. Cost effective. Nice theme restaurant. Not too crowded. Good to hang out with friends. Tasty food. Few items in menu is not pronounceable.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“rock@ adyar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

had been there a week ago.. mixed age group.. from my mom to my sister's son.It offered quality food and entertainment to all of us.The kids were impressed with the theme and decor of the place..food service was amazing..being a friday we tot it would take time to get food delivered...by it was very quick...Indian and thai food was good..they need to work upon sizzlers a little as I was very diappointed with it...The quantity of soups,noodles and rice was also pretty good for 4 of us to share...had memorable experience ..though the choice for vegetarians are less... but its worth for a change....

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Rock also viewed

Chennai (Madras), Tamil Nadu
Chennai (Madras), Tamil Nadu
 
Chennai (Madras), Tamil Nadu
Chennai (Madras), Tamil Nadu
 

Been to The Rock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Rock, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.